Some of the resources linked to this page require the free Adobe Reader. Read more about
this database list
-
A
-
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
- Cross searching of the following business databases: ABI/INFORM Global and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. Many articles full-text. Dates vary.
- ABI/INFORM Dateline (ProQuest)

- ABI/INFORM Dateline searches 175 fulltext local and regional business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services from 1985-
- ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest)

- Indexing, abstracts to articles from more than 2,800 leading management publications, full text for over 1,800 titles, information on 60,000 companies, plus business dissertations, 1971-
- ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (ProQuest)

- Indexes 750 full-text business periodicals and newsletters, 1971-
- Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)

- Abstracts to 3,000 journals (over 1,500 peer-reviewed journals), with full text to more than 2,000 of the journals. Dates may vary, most from 1985-
-
ACM Digital Library
- Provides citations to all ACM publications and full text for over 40 journals as well as conference proceedings and newsletters. The ACM Guide to Computing Literature contains over 750,000 citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations from over 3,000 publishers. Coverage varies. Full text of every article ever published by ACM.
- AgeLine

- AgeLine abstracts the literature of gerontology as well as aging-related research. Abstracts over 600 journals, books and chapters, research reports, dissertations, gray literature, and educational videos from many publishers and organizations, including AARP, from 1978 to the present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977.
- AGRICOLA

- Catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library. Organized into two bibliographic data sets: The NAL Online Public Access Catalog containing citations to books, audiovisuals, serials, and other materials; and the Article Citation Database including citations, many with abstracts, to journal articles, book chapters, reports, and reprints, selected primarily from the materials found in the NAL Catalog.
- Alternative Press Index (OCLC)

- Indexes 300 periodicals, 1991-
- Alternative Press Index Archive (OCLC)

- Indexes over 700 sources, 1969-1990.
-
America's Historical Newspapers
- Digital archive of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922 and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
- America: History & Life (EBSCO)

- Indexes 1,700 journals as well as dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. 1964-
-
American Broadsides and Ephemera
- has searchable, facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications

- Complete contents of almost 40 journals published by the American Chemical Society, dates vary.
-
American Memory Project
- Historical collections for the National Digital Library at Library of Congress. The images are arranged in subject collections covering many areas of American history and life.
- American Periodicals Series Online (ProQuest)

- Collection contains digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 American magazines and journals originating 1741 - 1900.
-
Annual Reviews
- Indexes about 29 annual reviews, some titles with full text, in the biomedical, physical, and social sciences. Some as far back as 1932-, full text 1996-
-
Année Philologique
- Indexes 1500 periodicals, books and conferences in classical studies, including classical and medieval history, some abstracts, 1949-
- Anthropological Index

- indexes 750 anthropology journals, 1957-
- Anthropology Plus

- Indexes over 5,500 journals. Combines Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature. Coverage: late 19th century to the present.
- AnthroSource

- Full-text archive of all American Anthropological Association (AAA) journals.
- Art Full Text (Wilson)

- Covering 400 art publications: indexing 1984-, abstracts 1994-, select full text 1997-
- Art Index (Wilson)

- Indexes about 400 journals, 1984-
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (OCLC)

- Indexes bibliographies in more than 1,300 arts and humanities journals and selected articles from more than 5,800 social science and science jourals, 1980-
-
ARTstor
- A digital archive containing nearly 500,000 world art and architecture images. Requires Sun Java 1.3 and Flash Player 6.
- ATLAReligion (OCLC)

- Indexes 1430 journals, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from American Theological Library Association (ATLA)'s print indexes on religion and theology, 1949-
-
B
- Bibliography of the History of Art

- Indexes and abstracts journal articles, art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. Encompasses the fine arts as well as decorative and applied arts. 1973-
- Biography Index (Wilson)

- Biography Index covers biographical information from more than 2,700 English-language periodicals for all subject areas covered by H.W. Wilson indexes and abstracts. It indexes articles and books, autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction, drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews.
-
Biological Abstracts (ISI)
- Indexes over 4,000 journals in life sciences covering botany, microbiology, pharmacology, biochemistry, evolutionary ecology, neurology and toxicology. 1969-. Access limited to 10 users at a time.
- Black Studies Center

- Combines resources for research and teaching in Black studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender Archive, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, and Black Literature Index. Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and dissertations and masters theses.
- Black Studies Center. Black Literature Index

- Indexes the Black Literature microfiche collection which covers 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
- Black Studies Center. International Index to Black Periodicals

- Indexes scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean, and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.
- Black Studies Center. Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience Essays

- Full text essays
- Book Review Digest Plus (Wilson)

- Indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction from over 8,000 periodicals covered by other Wilson databases and also has over 100,000 full text reviews. 1983-
- Books in Print

- Indexes in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios, and videos from North American publishers and U.S. distributors and wholesalers.
- Britannica Online

- Searchable contents of the Encyclopedia Britannica
- Business Full Text (Wilson)

- Indexes over 600 business journals: indexing 1982-, abstracts 1984-; select full text 1995-
-
C
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)

- Indexes U.S. government publications, 1976-
-
Census of the United States
- Contains census statistics, as well as social, demographic and economic information and offers link to American Factfinder.
- Chicago Defender Historical

- Full text access to The Chicago Defender 1905-1975 in Proquest Historical Newspapers.
- Chicano Database

- Over 59,000 items on Mexican-American and Chicano topics. 1960-
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)

- Indexes over 3,000 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from 1,600 journals; provides full-text access to many journals and other sources, 1937-
- Classical Music Library

- Database of classical music sound recordings with more than 50,000 tracks along with program notes, reference texts (composer biographies, history), and images. Music includes vocal and instrumental works from the Middle Ages to the present. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
- Cochrane Library (Wiley)

- Several evidence based medical databases, with protocols, controlled trials, and full-text reviews. Access limited to 1 user at a time.
-
College Source Online
- Includes over 37,000 college catalogs representing 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools.
- Communication & Mass Media (EBSCO)

- Abstracts over 600 journals in communication studies, speech, mass media, journalism, linguistics, and communicative disorders. Full text for more than 240 journals. Dates vary, 1915-
- Compendex (Engineering Village)

- Abstracts 5000 engineering journals, books and conference proceedings, 1969-
- Computer Database (Gale)

- Indexes 659 computer journals with full text articles from 354 journals, 1980-
- CountryWatch

- News, statistics and trends for 192 countries.
- CQ Researcher

- Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science and technology.
- CQ Weekly

- Reports on the U. S. Congress completely and accurately every week.
- CSA Illumina

- Includes: ERIC, Philosopher's Index, Physical Education Index, PILOTS Database, Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts.
-
D
- DIALOG

- Database for cited reference searching in: Arts & Humanities Search, Science Citation Index (SciSearch), and Social Sciences Citation Index (Social SciSearch). Limited access for CSUN faculty and students.
- Digital National Security Archive (ProQuest)

- Collection of primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Database includes more than 60,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.
- Disclosure (LexisNexis)

- Business and financial information from annual and periodic reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) for over 10,000 publicly-owned companies.
- Dissertation Abstracts (OCLC)

- Indexes dissertations from 1861-, abstracts from 1980-, and thesis abstracts from 1988-
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)

- Collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, covering more than 1 million dissertations and theses. Coverage: 1637-present.
-
E
- EBSCOhost Research Databases

- Includes: Academic Search Elite, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Communication & Mass Media Index, GeoRef, GreenFILE, Index to Jewish Periodicals, International Political Science Abstracts, PsycCRITIQUES, PsycINFO, PsycEXTRA, Film & Television Literature Index.
- EconLit (OCLC)

- Citations for articles and dissertations in more than 620 journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics. 1969-
- Education Full Text (Wilson)

- Articles from over 550 education journals; indexing 1983-, abstracts 1994-, select full text 1996-
- eHRAF World Cultures

- Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) on the cultures of the world, past and present, indexed by culture and subject.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)

- Provides access to digital images of 150,000 complete books published during the 18th Century, relevant to the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
- EIU ViewsWire (ProQuest)

- Provides analysis on key economic, political and market developments around the world and briefings on their implications for business for 195 countries.
- Emerald Fulltext (Emerald)

- Full text access to over 180 journals in management, applied science and technology, engineering, health sciences, and library and information science. 1989-
-
Empire Online
- Provides over 60,000 images of original manuscripts and printed material taken from libraries and archives worldwide, 1492-1962. Access generously provided by Dr. Jeffrey Auerbach.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica

- Updated edition features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion. Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
-
Encyclopaedia of Islam
- Contains over 13,000 articles on topics in Middle Eastern and Islamic studies.
- EndNote Web

- Service to manage citations and produce a works cited or references list. Import citations from a variety of sources and choose a variety of citation styles for a works cited/references list, including APA and MLA.
-
Energy Citations (DOE)
- Energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, 1948-
- Engineering Village (Ei)

- Combined Compendex and Inspec database allows for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines. Coverage is from 1969 to present. Updated weekly.
- ERIC (CSA)

- Abstracts 775 education journals, ED reports, 1966-
- ERIC (EBSCO)

- Full text to more than 2,200 digests, and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
- ERIC (U.S. Department of Education)

- Free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, 1966-
- Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History (ProQuest)

- Full-text collection of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Over 270 titles, 1960-
- Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale)

- Indexes over 3,500 general interest and scholarly journals, including titles in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, with full text articles in over 2,000 journals. 1980-
-
F
- Factiva

- Dow-Jones and Reuters full text business services.
- Film & Television Literature Index (EBSCO)

- Indexes over 350 U.S. and international film and television periodicals, including popular magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications. In addition, selected content is chosen from thousands of additional publications that contain relevant content. Dates of coverage vary.
-
G
- Gale Databases

- Includes: General OneFile, Expanded Academic ASAP, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, MLA International Bibliography, General Reference Center Gold, Health Reference Center Academic, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Business and Company ASAP.
- Gale PowerSearch

- Cross-searching of multiple Gale databases: General OneFile, Expanded Academic ASAP, General Reference Center Gold, Health Reference Center Academic, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Business and Company ASAP, and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library

- Over 100 encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
-
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
- Scholarly articles on the musical heritage, traditions, themes, genres, practices and performance of music from every continent.
- GenderWatch

- Publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, 1970-
- General Business File ASAP (Gale)

- Indexes over 3400 business sources with full text to 2723 journals. 1980-
- General OneFile (Gale)

- Indexes over 9,700 journals; full text to over 5,000 journals, 1980-
- General Reference Center Gold (Gale)

- Indexes 4489 sources, newspapers, reference books and journals with full text articles in 3523 sources, 1980-
- General Science Full Text (Wilson)

- Indexes, abstracts and full text from over 250 periodicals. Indexing 1984-, abstracts 1984-, select full text 1994-
- GEOBASE (OCLC)

- Abstracts to over 2000 geography, geology, and ecology sources, 1980-
-
Geographical Bibliography (Online GEOBIB)
- Indexes physical and human geography resources, the Current geographical publications from the American Geographical Society, 1985 to 2005. Tables of contents pdfs, 2006-
- GeoRef (EBSCO)

- Abstracts more than 3,000 publications in geology and earth sciences. North America coverage from 1785-, international coverage from 1933-
-
Google Book Search
- Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to buy or borrow them. In Google Book Search, the user may view pages from the book, find out "more about this book," examine content-related advertisements, and use links to the publisher's website and booksellers.
- Google Scholar

- Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources. Freely available; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set CSUN as the source for no-fee access to many full text articles.
- GPO Access

- Provides access to official Federal Government information. Offers a collection of full-text databases and the text of federal bills, Congressional Record, the Federal Register, and other legal sources.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO)

- Indexes scholarly, government and general interest titles covering information on all aspects of human impact on the environment. Multidisciplinary database connecting the environment with disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Contains more than 384,000 records, with selected full text for more than 4,700 records.
-
H
- HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index

- Indexes more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Many of the citations are linked to full text. 1970-
- Health Reference Center (Gale)

- Indexes over 900 health and allied health journals with full text articles in 686 journals, 1980-
-
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
- Digital archive of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
- Historical Abstracts

- Covers scholarly literature in history. All world history (1450 to present) is covered EXCEPT that of the United States and Canada. These are covered by America: History & Life. 1955-
-
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
- Provides full text access to U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, national strategy documents, and theses and reports from universities, organizations and local and state agencies. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training.
- Hoover's Company Records (ProQuest)

- Company information for more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives.
- Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective (Wilson)

- Articles from a range of journals in the humanities and social sciences Coverage includes content from H.W. Wilson’s International Index. 1907-1984. Access limited to 1 user at a time.
-
Humanities E-Book (ACLS)
- A collection of over 1,500 full-text titles in the humanities.
- Humanities Full Text (Wilson)

- Abstracts and full text from 400 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature; indexing 1984-, abstracts 1984-, select full text 1994-
-
I
- IEEE XPlore

- Provides full-text access to IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) for journals, magazines, conference proceedings and standards plus All Societies Periodicals Package, 1988-. Includes backfile of Proceedings of the IEEE, 1913-, and journals and conference proceedings of IEEE societies, 1912-
- Index to Jewish Periodicals (EBSCO)

- Indexes English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. 1988-
- INSPEC (Engineering Village)

- Abstracts 5,000 journals and conference proceedings in physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology, 1969-
- International Index to Music Periodicals

- Covers nearly all aspects of the world of music; draws its current content from more than 370 international music periodicals from over 20 countries with over 60 full text titles (full text, 1996-), 1874-
- International Political Science Abstracts (EBSCO)

- Includes current indexing and abstracts from over 1,000 journals published from 1951-
-
J
- JSTOR

- Comprehensive archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences and social sciences.
-
L
- LexisNexis Academic

- Full-text database containing news, legal, business, and medical information. Dates vary.
- Library Literature & Information Science (Wilson)

- Indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per year. 1984-
- Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective (Wilson)

- Includes full-text from the Wilson Library Bulletin, indexing from Library Work, plus citations to book reviews, books, book chapters and library school theses. 1905-1983. Access limited to 1 user at a time.
- Library Literature and Information Science Full Text (Wilson)

- English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per year; indexing 1984-, abstracts 1984-, select full text 1994-
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)

- Indexes more than 600 periodicals in library and information science, plus books, research reports and proceedings. 1960s-
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

- Abstracts over 1,500 serials in language studies and linguistics. 1973-
-
Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
- Provides full-text access to the literary criticism collections: Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
- Literature Resource Center

- Provides one search access to Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400–1800, Shakespearean Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, Children's Literature Review. Supported by a generous donation from The SAGE Society.
- Literature Resource Center Periodical Index

- Part of the Literature Resource Center containing periodical articles including biographical, biobibliographical, critical, and contextual information on authors and their works.
- LitFinder

- Includes over 125,000 full-text poems and 850,000 additional poem citations; thousands of full-text stories, essays, plays, and speeches; author biographies; a glossary; and illustrations. Updated quarterly.
- Los Angeles Times Historical

- Full-page images and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-1986).
-
M
-
Making of America
- Library of primary sources in American social history from the Antebellum period through Reconstruction. Contains over 8500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
- Marquis Who's Who on the Web

- Biographies of over 1.4 million people of note, in the United States and around the world, taken from 21 Marquis Who’s Who print publications such as Who's Who in America, Who's Who in the World, and Who's Who in American Politics. 1985-present. Access limited to 1 user at a time.
- MathSciNet

- Reviews and citations to research literature in mathematics and related areas compiled from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, 1940-
-
MEDLINE (ISI)
- Indexes, abstracts more than 4,600 medical journals, 1950-
- Mergent Online

- Provides access to U.S. and international company data; and U.S. and international company annual reports.
- MLA International Bibliography

- Indexes 4,000 journals and series in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, 1926-
-
N
- National Academies

- Free access to numerous publications of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)

- Abstracts, indexes, full-text publications, and user resources in the area of criminal justice and related subjects. 1970's-
-
National Trade Data Bank (NTDB)
- Trade-related information from federal government agencies.
-
NetLibrary
- Provides access to thousands of electronic books that have been converted into electronic format from copyrighted, printed books.
- New York Times Historical

- Full text access to the New York Times from 1851-2003; updates every year
-
NewsBank Special Reports
- Includes content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New information is added daily to featured and current reports.
- NIOSHTIC-2

- Database of occupational safety and health publications supported by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). Dates vary; 1930-
- NLM Gateway

- Web-based system for searching simultaneously in multiple information resources of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- NTIS - National Technical Information Service

- Indexes new publications and technical reports from hundreds of government agencies and other organizations, 1990-
- NTIS/DARTS

- Over 240,000 full-text scientific and technical reports, mostly dating from 1964-2000, selected from the NTIS database for the NTIS/DARTS program.
- Nutrition Abstracts & Reviews (CABI)

- Abstracts over 1000 academic journals, books, reports and conferences, 1991-
-
O
- OAIster

- Indexes and links to freely available academically-oriented digital resources in all subject areas. institutions.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

- Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. Updated daily.
- Oviatt Library Catalog

- CSUN University Library Catalog indexes books, periodicals, media and other materials held by the Oviatt Library.
-
Oxford Art Online
- Gateway to online art resources: Grove Art Online, comprising the full text of The Dictionary of Art (1996); The Oxford Companion to Western Art; The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
- Oxford English Dictionary

- Includes definitions for most of the words in the English language, information on their origins and quotations showing their range of meanings from the time they entered the language to the present.
-
Oxford Music Online
- Gateway to online music resources: Grove Music Online, comprising the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed.; The Oxford Companion to Music; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
- OxResearch (ProQuest)

- Indexes full text articles by location, topic or date on major events from, 1984-
-
P
- Philosopher's Index (CSA)

- Indexing and abstracts from books and over 550 philosophy journals, 1940-
- Physical Education Index

- Indexes 293 journals, reports, conferences and more, 1970-; abstracts 2001-
- PILOTS Database (CSA)

- Citations on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress from 1871 to the present.
- Population Index

- Indexes about 400 journals plus more, 1986 to present.
- Project Muse

- Includes over 300 full text scholarly journals in humanities, arts, and social sciences from 60 scholarly publishers. Dates vary, 1990 to present.
- PROLA

- American Physical Society journals including Physical Review A,B,C,D, and E, as well as Physical Review Letters, 1893-
- ProQuest Databases

- Includes: ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, Dissertations and Theses (Humanities and Social Sciences), EIU ViewsWire, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Hoover's Company Records, OxResearch, Proquest Newspapers, Snapshots North America, APS Online, Chicago Defender (Historical; includes Daily Defender), Los Angeles Times (Historical), New York Times (Historical).
- ProQuest Newspapers

- Full text access to over 600 US and international newspapers, hundreds of other news wires and news sources. Dates vary.
- PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)

- Full text access to peer-reviewed articles from more than 50 journals in psychology, including journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), covering general, specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. 1894-
- PsycCRITIQUES (EBSCO)

- Full text reviews of current books and popular films in psychology. Replaces the print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books. More than 39,000 reviews included. 1956-
- PsycINFO (EBSCO)

- Indexes over 2,000 journals plus books and book chapters, 1987-present.
-
PubList
- Free Internet directory of over 150,000 print and electronic publications including magazines, journals, newsletters, and monographs. Registration required.
- PubMed

- Offers Medline (currently indexing over 5,000 journals), several molecular biology and chemical databases. Some full text journals and books, 1950-
-
R
- RAND California

- California economic and public policy issues, including over 80 statistical databases with data at various geographic levels, some covering the entire nation.
- Readers' Guide Full Text (Wilson)

- Full text of articles from some 215 journals (1994-), abstracts (1984-) and indexing of over 400 periodicals (1983-).
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (Wilson)

- Indexes 375 most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, 1890-1982.
-
RIA Checkpoint
- Federal tax resources including Federal Tax Handbook, United States Tax Reporter, IRS rulings, legislation, Federal tax cases, Federal Taxes Weekly Alert Newsletter, and 6 tax journals (WG&L)
-
S
-
Safari Tech Books Online
- Contains over 1,400 full-text computer manuals, directories, and reference works. Access restricted to a limited number of CSU simultaneous users.
-
SAGE eReference
- Collection of over 80 online encyclopedias and handbooks primarily in the social sciences.
-
SAGE Journals Online
- Full text to over 460 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
-
Science.gov
- Gateway to over 50 million pages of selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)

- Index with abstracts to over 1,700 scientific journals published by Elsevier; with full-text access to over 1,400 journals.
- SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)

- Client/server desktop research tool that provides access to the Chemical Abstracts databases, including Chemical Abstracts and the CAS Registry.
-
SCIRUS
- Comprehensive science search engine to web resources indexing over 150 million quality web sites. In addition Scirus indexes articles from Medline, ScienceDirect, BioMedCentral and Scitation; technical reports from NASA; patents for the USPTO and eprints from several eprint archives.
- SciSearch (DIALOG)

- Cited reference science database indexing more than 6,000 journals, 1974-
- Scitation

- Full-text for 27 physics journals. Includes access to the SPIN database (Searchable Physics Information Notices), which indexes and abstracts physics journals. Dates vary; 1893-
- Snapshots North America (ProQuest)

- Full text international market research reports, 2001-
- Social Sciences Full Text (Wilson)

- Articles from 300 journals in the social sciences; indexing 1983-, abstracts 1984-, select full text 1994-
- Social SciSearch (DIALOG)

- Cited reference database for social sciences, 1972-
- Social Services Abstracts (CSA)

- Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serial publications, 1980-
- Sociological Abstracts (CSA)

- Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications, plus book chapters, 1952-
-
SpringerLink
- Full-text access to over 1,300 academic journals, 1997-
- Stat-USA

- Online service providing the most recent economic, business, and international trade information produced by the US Government. Includes the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB).
-
T
-
ThomasNet
- Comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America.
- Times Digital Archive (Gale)

- Complete digital edition of The Times (London, England), 1785-1985.
-
Traditional Music and Spoken Word Catalog (Library of Congress)
- Searchable database of bibliographic information on approximately 34,000 ethnographic sound recordings. Most were recorded between 1933 and 1950.
- Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS)

- Contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles.
-
U
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set

- Reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes for the period 1817-1980.
-
USA Trade Online
- Specific U.S. import and export information on more than 18,000 commodities by commodity, partner country, and customs port district.
-
USA.gov
- U.S. government's official web portal. Formerly called FirstGov.gov.
-
W
- Wiley Interscience

- Full-text access to over 300 journals published by Wiley. Coverage varies.
- Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega

- Cross searching of Art Full Text, Business Full Text, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Readers' Guide Retrospective, Readers' Guide Full Text, and Social Sciences Full Text; plus Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text.
- WilsonWeb Databases

- Includes: Art Full Text, Art Index, Biography Index, Book Review Digest Plus, Business Full Text, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, Humanities Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective, OmniFile Full Text Mega, Readers' Guide Retrospective, Readers' Guide Full Text, and Social Sciences Full Text.
- WorldCat

- OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Contains over 62 million records for all types of materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries.
-
Worldscope (LexisNexis)
- International database containing financial profiles.
-
Z
-
Zoological Record (ISI)
- Indexes more than 5,000 international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books and reports, representing research in all major areas of animal research. 1978-
About this database list: Most of the
databases listed here require our patrons to connect using a CSUN IP address,
either on campus or through the Library
proxy server. Free public access databases
are highlighted here and in our guest resources
page.