Description
These resources are part of the Archive of Americana. Select the resource you want once you reach the Archive of Americana main page:
- American State Papers (1789-1838) contains the full text and full images of a collection of materials on the United States from 1789-1838. Many of the 6,354 publications are legislative reports from the U.S. Congress, but also included are Treaties, Presidential messages sent to Congress, and many Executive branch reports from the Department of State, the War Department and other agencies. These materials were selected and edited under the authority of Congress and published in the second and third quarters of the 19th century.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980) contains full text and full image Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives for the period 1817-1980. Presidential messages and documents sent to Congress, treaties, and many reports from Executive branch departments that were sent to Congress and assigned a document number are also included. This collection of primary source material, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes, is Browsable by Subjects, Publication Category, Standing-Committee Author, and Congress as well as searchable. Searches can be limited by searching within results and/or searching within a specific publication.
Illustrations that accompanied the original reports are included and reproduced in their original colors. More than 50,000 maps, some of which are in color, accompanied reports in the U. S. Congressional Serial Set; each can be viewed while reading the original report. Since some maps lack titles and many are not listed in the introductory matter of the Reports and Documents which they accompany, and since all the subjects depicted on a map may not have merited indexing in the index coverage of the whole Report or Document, there is an additional search module to focus searches on maps themselves - the geographic areas they depict, the subjects they represent, their titles, and the names associated with the maps either as cartographers, explorers, or in some other capacity. To search just these maps, choose Serial Set Maps, 1817-1980 from the Archive of Americana menu.
Special Features
Content will be added on an ongoing basis until the project is completed. To read more about the updating frequency you can go to the Readex site.
Related Resources
Print version: the catalog record for the United States congressional serial set describing the Library's print and microfiche holdings.
Online version: GPO Access's U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1995 - present) - http://www.gpoaccess.gov/serialset/index.html