Frequently used links: Library Catalog | Databases A-Z | Renew Books | Ask a Librarian | Library Request Forms |    Help   

The following quick-start guide has been created for CSUN students and researchers. For more information on using CSA, consult CSA Illumina Help .

Description

Scope

CSA databases provides access to seven databases. Some full text access and information about print resources is provided through Find Text.

Databases

Restrictions and Software Requirements

CSUN users (students, faculty, and staff) only

Searching

Databases can be searched individually, or in combination. Advanced Search, the default search mode, allows you to combine several search terms using all fields or specific targeted fields. The thesaurus feature under Search Tools allows you to search by indexed terms.

Advanced Search

The Advanced Search screen allows you to search multiple terms in all fields or selected fields. You can use the drop-down menus next to each row of boxes to change the field searched ("Anywhere" is the default). You can apply Boolean operators to connect terms entered in different rows using the drop-down menus between them.
csa search

  1. Wildcard: 1 character, is ?, Truncation: unlimited characters, is *
  2. Boolean Operators are connectors such as: AND, OR, NOT (See Boolean Searching and Truncation)
  3. Proximity Operators are: NEAR, BEFORE, AFTER, WITHIN, e.g. (women) WITHIN 5 (VIOLENCE)

Searching by "Keyword" will find words and phrases in titles, descriptors and abstracts. This breadth and depth of search will sometimes be useful, but it will often produce too many references, so it is worthwhile to search using the thesaurus feature.

Thesaurus-Based Searching

The Thesaurus allows you to search using specific subject descriptors indexed in each database. The descriptors used in each database are different. If you are searching two or more databases simultaneously, you may need to do several searches, selecting a different thesaurus each time. (TIP: Use the Search History feature to combine these searches later).

The Thesaurus feature is under the Search Tools tab. To find descriptors, enter search words in the "Browse Thesaurus for" text box and click Go.

CSA Thesaurus

If you select the Hierarchy display, you will get a list showing the descriptor and other descriptors related to it. Use the checkboxes to select all the descriptors you wish to search, then click the Search button on the left. Selecting AND will find fewer results; selecting OR will find more results.

CSA Thesaurus results

Results

Search Results Screen

By default the results screen displays the first 10 references retrieved, in brief format. You can isolate the different types of resources by selecting one of the tabs:

Links to the descriptors used in in each result are listed to the right of each reference.

CSA Results Screen

View Record

Provides full reference and abstract, where available. You can view the entire results list in "Full Format" by selecting that option from the drop-down menu at the bottom of the page.

Save, Print, or Email Results

Click the Save Print or Email link to email or print results, or save them as a file, in long or short format. You can mark specific results to save, email or print by selecting the checkboxes and clicking Update Marked List.

Find Text find text

Clicking the find text link in each result indicates whether Oviatt Library has electronic access to the item, or owns a print version of it, and provides a link to ILL services if necessary.

Special Features: Search History

The results of each search are stored as a set in the Search History. Click Search History to view a list of searches performed during the current search session. You can combine two or more searches by typing their numbers in the "Combine Searches" text box. Using OR to combine them will find more results; using AND will find fewer (e.g. #1 and #2). You might need to go through the process of reviewing, combining and searching again several times to create the precise combination you need.

CSUN Home Page Library Home