The following quick-start guide has been created for CSUN students and researchers.
Search cited
references using ISI citation databases on DIALOG (form)
Jump to: Restrictions &
Requirements | Search Tips | Results
| Related Resources
Description
Scope
DIALOG is a database service which has access to citation databases. Limited
access to DIALOG is available for registered CSUN students and faculty.
The citation databases that are available are:
- Arts & Humanities Search
- Science Citation Index (SciSearch)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Social SciSearch)
Coverage
There is some overlap between the three citation indexes. See Dialog
ISI Coverage for information
Restrictions and Software Requirements
Searching
Search instructions
- ? is the Truncation symbol
- Author: Be aware that other databases vary on how first name is presented
Full first name or just initial(s), e.g. Pauling, Linus or Pauling, L but
in the citation databases, only initial(s) are always used to identify first
and middle names, for example Pauling L. Always end the search with the
truncation symbol ? e.g. pauling l? or kennedy jfk? or
bush gw?
- The optional subject search will search not only the subject terms but
will also search words in the title.
Results
A list of titles that cite the author will be listed 10 per screen
Single citation: Click on the title for which you wish to
see more information. In this version only the title of the article citing
the author, date of publication of that article and subjects appear. The date
may be missing from older SciSearch records.
To find the full citation for the records retrieved you will need to search
one of our general databases:
Related Print Resource
- Arts and humanities Citation Index
- Reference Room Z5937 .A795 Not currently received. 1977-1993. 1977-1984
in ASRS
- Science Citation Index
- Floor3 Folio/Oversize Ref Z7401 .S365 Not currently received. 1962-1993.
1986-1993 in Ref Room
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Reference Room Z7161 .S65 Not currently received. 1966/70-1999.
Related Online Resource
The full version of the Arts & Humanities Search is available through
FirstSearch2