Frequently used links: Library Catalog | Databases A-Z | Renew Books | Ask a Librarian | Library Request Forms |    Help   

The following quick-start guide has been created for CSUN students and researchers.

Description

Scope

ERIC is a database of education-related resources, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Its content covers traditional K-12 subject areas, as well early childhood and higher education, special education, counseling, assessment and evaluation, information technology, administration and policy, etc.

ERIC contains over one million records describing journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) published from 1966 to the present. ERIC document types include reports, bibliographies, curriculum guides, test reviews, book reviews, etc. Each item is indexed, abstracted (summarized), and assigned subject heading from the ERIC Thesaurus

Restrictions and Software Requirements

CSUN users (students, faculty, and staff) can access ERIC through one of the following vendors, which provide enhanced features and content:

For users not affiliated with CSUN, free public access is available through the following:

Searching

Although ERIC does not provide the full text of journal articles (accession numbers start with EJ), those journals that the CSUN Library owns (either online or in print) can be accessed by clicking the Find Text button that appears with the ERIC item record. To access the full text of ERIC documents (accession numbers start with ED) through CSA or FirstSearch, click the blue Full-text link. The Library also owns most ERIC Document reports and digests on microfilm, which are located on the fourth floor east wing.

The ERIC Document Reproduction Service

The ERIC Document Reproduction Service, which previously sold ERIC documents, has been discontinued. As of January 2005, those ERIC Documents published from 1993 to 2003 are available online at no charge from ERIC. More content will be added during 2005, including additional years of ERIC Documents as well as some journal articles.

CSUN Home Page Library Home