The following quick-start guide has been created for CSUN students and researchers.
Jump to: Restrictions & Requirements
| Searching | Results
Description of Databases
- Business and
Company ASAP
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides access to digital images of 150,000 complete books published
during the 18th Century, relevant to the fields of history, literature,
religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
- Gale Virtual
Reference Library has over 100 encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized
reference sources.
- General OneFile
includes:
- Expanded
Academic ASAP: indexes over 3500 general interest and scholarly
journals, including titles in the humanities, social sciences, and science
and technology, with full text articles in over 2000 journals. 1980-
- Computer Database: indexes 659 computer journals with full text articles
from 354 journals, 1980-
- General Business File ASAP: indexes over 3400 business sources with
full text to 2723 journals, 1980-
- InfoTrac Religion and Philosophy
- Custom Military Database
- General Reference
Center Gold indexes 4489 sources, newspapers, reference books and journals
with full text articles in 3523 sources, 1980-
- Health Reference
Center Academic indexes over 900 journals with full text articles in
686 journals, 1980-
- Literature Criticism Online provides full-text access to the literary criticism collections Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
- Literature Resource
Center provides one search access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary
Literary Criticism Select, the Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Merriam-Webster's
Encyclopedia of Literature plus full text articles from 263 journals. For
more information, see About Literature Resource Center.
- MLA International Bibliography indexes books, articles and dissertations published on modern
languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Includes the MLA
Thesaurus and the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which lists detailed
information on over 5,500 journals, including over 4,400 indexed in the
Bibliography. 1926-
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine,
academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents,
statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. Updated daily.
- The Times Digital Archive
contains complete digital edition of The Times (London), 1785-1985.
Uses keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full
facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page.
Includes all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos, divided
into categories to facilitate searching.
Restrictions and Software Requirements
- CSUN users (students, faculty, and staff)
- Cookies accepted, JavaScript enabled, and minimum 800x600 screen resolution
Searching
Search using Gale Powersearch for maximum retrieval of sources.
Advanced Search
In Advanced Search you can search by Keyword, Abstract, Document Title,
Author, Publication Title, Publisher Name, ISSN, ISBN, Subject, Person Name,
Company Name, Place Name or Brand Name. The default search is Keyword; use
the pull-down menu to select other search fields. Narrow or expand your search
using the menu of boolean terms on the left to combine search terms.
You can also further limit your search to full-text only, items
containing images, peer-reviewed journals, and restrict the search
according to publication date, publication title, or indexed subject.
Search Tips
Subject Guide Search
Enter words in the search box to find subjects, people, products, locations
and organizations that contain those words. In the resulting subject list,
click Related Subjects or Subdivisions to
find related terms. Clicking on the subject heading
itself will retrieve records that contain it.
Results
The results list is divided into tabs according to media type: Magazines, Academic
Journals, Books, News, and Multimedia.
- Click the title of a result to view full text if available.
- Click the Find Text link for access to other external
full-text resources, Oviatt Library holdings information, and Interlibrary
loan.
- Check the box next to items in search results list to create a Mark List
that you can retrieve for email or printing later.
- Click the linked terms in the yellow Search box to the left
to narrow your search by document type, publication title, or subject terms.
- Check the full-text, peer-reviewed, and with images boxes to filter results by full-text
availability, peer-review status, and image availability.
- The Previous Searches link at the top will let you return
to and modify previous searches made during your current session.
- Click the Bookmark link to generate a URL that you can
paste into another document and save so that you can return to your search
after terminating your session.