Frequently used links: Library Catalog | Databases A-Z | Renew Books | Ask a Librarian | Library Request Forms |    Help   

Go to LexisNexis

The following quick-start guide has been created for CSUN students and researchers. More information on searching LexisNexis can be found by clicking one of the links under "How do I" in the right hand column.

Jump to: Access | Searching | Topic Tabs | Results

Description

LexisNexis Academic is an online database that provides the full text of hundreds of news sources including newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. It also offers legal information such as court decisions, laws, and legal news. Plus, it has business and industry information such as company information, SEC Filing and accounting literature.

Access

CSUN users (students, faculty, and staff) only

Searching

Overview

  1. Search tab allows you to enter words or phrases related to your subject within the Enter Search Terms box. Sources tab allows for greater control over your search. You may focus the search on an individual or group of publication type, news & business topics, an industry, or an area of law.
  2. Your search can be narrowed by subject and information source by clicking a specific tab related to your topic: News, Legal, Business, People.
  3. The Easy Search tab allows you to search for items similar to searching items on the Internet. The Power Search is the advanced search feature that allows you to use logical connectors (AND, OR, AND NOT, etc.) and search for broad source categories or a specific single publication.
  4. Each category has pre-selected resources relating to a particular field. To view what each category contains, click the "i" button or select a link from the right column to search other resources.
  5. Choose a date range to limit or focus your search.
LexisNexis Overview

Topic Tabs

The topic tabs allow you to search specific sources and types of information, as follows:

General
News, Major World Publications, News Wire, Transcripts, Company Information, Legal Resources
News
General News, U.S. News, World News, News Wires, News Transcripts, Arts & Sports News, Non-English Language News, Business News, Legal News, University News, Medical
Legal
Legal News, Law Reviews & Journals, Shepard's Citations, Federal & State Cases, Federal & State Codes, Federal Regulations, Tax Law, Canadian Legislative Materials, Canadian Statutes & Regulations, EU Law (CELEX), Commonwealth & Foreign Case Law & Treaties, and Patents.
Business
Business News, Industry & Market News, Accounting Literature, Company Financial (Disclosure), Company Profiles (Hoover's, S & P, etc.) Compare Companies, SEC Filings & Reports (EDGAR), Directories, Analysis Publications, Country Profiles, Business Conditions
People
Biographical Information, Regional/International coverage, State Profiles, Who's Who, Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory Listings

Boolean Connectors and Truncation Symbols

Connectors To Search for Articles Example
AND where both terms are anywhere in the article accounting and ethics
OR where either term (or both) is anywhere in the article lawyer or attorney
AND NOT where first term is present but second term is not bankruptcy and not worldcom
W/p where first term is within the same paragraph as second term valley w/p secession
W/s where first term is within the same sentence as second term enron w/s scandal
W/n where first term is within "n" number of words of second term, in any order george w/2 bush retrieves george bush or george w. bush or bush, george
PRE/n where first term precedes the second term by "n" number of words in that exact order cable pre/2 television
! where truncation symbol replaces ending (one or more letters, unlimited) legislat! retrieves: legislate, legislation, legislative, legislator
* where wildcard symbol replaces one letter (or none) wom*n retrieves women or woman bank*** retrieves bank or banks or banker or banking, but not bankruptcy

NOTE: Plurals and possessives with simple endings are searched automatically. Also, type in a plural and LexisNexis automatically retrieves the singular form of the word. For example: "city" will find city, city's, cities, and cities'; "box" will find box, box's, and boxes; "child" will find child and child's, but not children. To search irregular plurals, use "or" (e.g. "knife or knives").

Search Example:

  1. Select a topic tab such as: General, News, Legal, Business, or People. In the example shown, the News tab has been selected .
  2. The "News" tab provides two options are for searching: Natural Language (quick search) and Terms and Connectors (advanced search). For this example, Terms and Connectors has been selected .
  3. Enter keywords or phrases in the text boxes provided.
  4. The pull-down menus specify where to search for the terms you entered, e.g. in the Headline, Lead Paragraphs, Index, etc. Boolean connectors can also be selected such as; AND, OR, AND NOT, etc .
  5. Narrowing the search to a particular area within the document or selecting a source, i.e. publication, and selecting a specific date or range of dates, can provide additional parameters to one’s search strategy.

LexisNexis search example

Results

Sample Results List:

  1. To access full text, click the title of the article.
  2. The "View" drop-down menu provides the option to view the retrieved articles in a different format. Selecting Full Document or Full Indexing within the View drop down menu will expand the results that were retrieved in the initial search. This option shows portions of each record, allowing for quicker browsing. Also, KWIC (Keywords in Context), displays excerpts from the full-text article and highlights search terms.
  3. By default, all items are arranged by publication date. Clicking the "Sort" drop-down menu gives you the option to change the order from date to relevance.
  4. To mark individual records for printing, emailing, or saving in either the Document List or Expanded List formats only, check the Tag for Delivery box, then click the Print or Email button.
    NOTE: You can only print/email/save articles in Full format one at a time.
  5. Clicking a link under "All Results" will narrow your results to particular resource or resource type.
  6. The "Result Groups" drop-down menu allows to view results grouped by Publication Name, Subject, Industry, Company, Geography, Language, and People.
  7. Type a word or phrase in the "Narrow Search" text box to limit your results further.
  8. You can print, email, save, or export bibliographic references in RefWorks format by clicking one of the icons on the top right of the results table.

Results LexisNexis

CSUN Home Page Library Home