Frequently used links: Library Catalog | Databases A-Z | Renew Books | Ask a Librarian | Library Request Forms |    Help   

The following quick-start guide has been created for CSUN students and researchers. For more information on using LLBA, consult CSA Online Help.

Description

Scope

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) provides current selective access to the world's literature on linguistics and language behavior as a service to all researchers and practitioners in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. LLBA provides abstract listings of periodicals, reports, books and conference proceedings in the fields of language learning, speech disorders, and special education in communication, among other topics. Articles abstracted in LLBA are drawn from approximately 1,200 regularly scanned domestic and international journals.

Restrictions and Software Requirements

Searching

Search Options

"Quick Search" is not as complete as using "Advanced Search" -which is a better starting point for achieving good results. "Search Tools" offers THESAURUS a useful tool for identifying, selecting and searching with the Descriptors (Subject Headings or Thesaurus terms) assigned to each article.

Search

The Advanced Search screen has empty boxes labeled by default "anywhere" You can use the "drop down" menus on each box to change which fields are searched and you can change the default "AND" which links them.

Consider this approach whenever possible to search one concept or idea at a time and then to combine the individual sets into a more focussed final set. If you follow this procedure, each search you do, whether made using "Advanced Search, "Search Tools" or "Quick Search", creates a of references and is stored as a set in the "Search tools: History".

A "keyword" search will search for words and phrases in titles, descriptors and abstracts. This breadth and depth of search will sometimes be useful, but it will often produce too many references so it is worthwhile to make use of the specific thesaurus for each database.

Advanced Search

LLBA search screen

Search Tips

  1. Use quotes to search for a phrase (e.g. "cognitive development ").
  2. You can use Boolean searching:
    language and skills
    cognitive or mental; X not Y
  3. Other search qualifiers:
    • Wildcard: 1 character, is ?, Truncation: unlimited characters, is *
    • Boolean Operators are connectors such as: AND, OR, NOT
    • Proximity Operators are: NEAR, BEFORE, AFTER, WITHIN, e.g. (women) WITHIN 5 (VIOLENCE)
  4. LLBA has a thesaurus which is under the Search Tools Tab.
  5. You can specify how you want results ranked.

Using the Thesaurus

If you want to use subject headings/thesaurus terms click on Search Tools. You can now type in a word and see what thesaurus terms are available and with what meaning they are used. This will often be an important way of improving your search strategy. The most thorough way of exploring the thesaurus is to view it through the "rotated index" rather than "thesaurus" or "alphabetical list". When viewing a thesaurus term you can select it and any of its narrower or related terms. The "Hierarchy" option automatically selects all narrower terms for your search - eg exploding "Second Language Learning will search for that term and also Early Second Language Learning, English as a Second Language Learning, French as a Second Language Learning, Second Dialect Learning etc.


LLBA Thesaurus Search Screen

Review Search History

This button will give you a list of your searches so far, from which you can select and combine either with OR to broaden a search or with AND to focus it. When you have made your selection click on "Search again". You might need to go through the process of reviewing, combining and searching again several times to create the precise combination you need

Results

Search Results

Every search will display the first 25 of the retrieved references in brief format and on the left hand side of the screen a small window containing the search statement which you have just used. You can make adjustments and alterations to the search in that window and use the "search again button". As well as results from the database(s) you have chosen you might also get references from CSA's "Web Resources Related to the Social Sciences/Humanities"

Save, Print, Email

Records can be emailed, saved as a file or printed - with or without abstracts etc.

View Record

Gives you full references. You can also set the system to display full records using a drop down menu.

find text

When available should retrieve the article.

Check your library

Will display a link which you can follow to link into our CSUN online catalog.

Related Print Resource

Back issues (1985-2002) available Floor 3 (Ref) Z7003.C2

Related Online Resources

CSUN Home Page Library Home