Go to Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
The following quick-start guide has been created
for CSUN students and researchers. For more information on using Opposing Viewpoints,
consult Thompson Gale Search Tips Online Help (PDF; requires Adobe Reader).
Jump to: Access & Requirements | Searching | Results
Description
Opposing Viewpoints Resources Center (OVRC) covers social issues like censorship, immigration, stem cell, terrorism, and many more.
Contents
- OVRC contains pro and con viewpoint articles.
- Full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers
- Statistical tables, charts and graphs
- Pod casts, including weekly presidential addresses and NPR programs
Access and Software Requirements
- CSUN users only
- Only two CSUN users at a time may access this database
- Unlimited CSUN users may also access pro and con viewpoint articles, web sites, and other reference sources by using Thomson Gale Powersearch
Searching
Basic Search
- Use the content level if you need material at a specific reading level; basic level is for readers up to grade eight, intermediate level is for readers from seventh grade to undergraduates, and advanced level are for professional or academic readers.
- If you need to limit by the type of matieral needed, i.e., academic journals, use the content type check boxes.
- The topic list provides ideas for papers and will limit your search by subject area.

Advanced Search
If the results of your Basic Search do not contain the articles you need, try the Advanced Search.
- In the first Search for box, type a word or phrase that you want to include in your search.
- From the drop down list choose the field you want to search if your term is likely to appear in a specific field, such as Subject, Publication title, or Place Name.
- Limit to full-text or peer-reviewed articles as needed.

Results
Results list
Shows the number of articles that matched your search and brief citations. Click the title to see the full-text.
- Use the tabs to view results by content type, for example, Academic Journals.
- The Subject Terms on the results page identify narrower or broader terms from your search.
- To view the full record click on the title of the article.
- Select Full-text to read the article, many articles also have a PDF full-text option.
- The brief citation also includes a link, How to Cite, that formats the article in MLA format.

Marking Articles
From the results list, click the box to the left of the article citation to create a list that can be emailed, printed, or saved. Once you are ready to print, select the Marked Items folder at the top of the page.
Output Options - Email, Printing, Downloading articles.
Note: You can only download an article one at a time by clicking on the title.
- Click Email-- Allowing you to specify if you want plain text or a formatted attachment, your email address, a subject header, and any comments you'd like to include in the body of your email. After you've filled out the form, click Send email. A message appears confirming that your email has been sent.
- Click Print-- If you'd like to print plain text format copy only. To print the image or .pdf version, go back to the citation and select PDF(if available) and click the printer icon in the Adobe toolbar
- Click Download-- To save the document as a text. Only one document can be saved at a time and you must click on the title of the document to open the record. Click Download on the top of the webpage and choose either plain text or html.