The following quick-start guide has been created for CSUN students and researchers.
Jump to: Restrictions & Requirements
| Searching | Results
Description
Scope
ProQuest searches multiple databases for articles originally published in
magazines, newspapers, and journals. Databases can be searched simultaneously
or individually. The historical newspaper database cannot be searched in combination
with non-historical databases. [Use
Proquest Databases]
ProQuest Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global
searches 2000 premier worldwide business periodicals, many of them full
text, for information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources,
finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also, information on 60,000+ companies.
Offers over 3000 business dissertations. There is a 2 year embargo on dissertations.
See Business Searching Tips section below.
- ABI/INFORM
Dateline searches 175 fulltext business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers,
wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications for titles
for news and analysis, information on local markets, and more.
- ABI/INFORM Trade
& Industry searches 750 fulltext business periodicals and newsletters
with a trade or industry focus.
- ProQuest Newspapers
provides full text of 500+ major U.S. and international newspapers, including
the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, the Times (London), and the Daily
News . The dates vary by publication.
- Dissertations and Theses: Collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, covering more than 1 million dissertations and theses. 1637-present.
- Ethnic
NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History full-text access to over 270 publications, dates vary (1960-)
- GenderWatch
searches 131 publications, dates vary
- Hoover's
Company Records has company information for 40,000 public and non-public
companies and 225,000 key executives
- OxResearch
has full text analytical articles indexed by location, topic or date on
major events from 1984-
- Snapshots
North America has fulltext international market research reports
- Historical
Los Angeles Times 1881-1985. Note: Select
Publication Search to browse by date.
- Historical New
York Times September 18, 1851-2001 Select View titles:
Historical Newspapers The New York Times to view by date.
- American Periodicals
Online (APS Online)searches over 1,100 full text periodicals, 1740 -
1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional
journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant
periodicals.
List of publications in APS Online
- (Historical)
Chicago Defender (1910-1975) : offers full page and article images
with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes
digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available
issue. Includes Daily Defender.
Restrictions and Software Requirements
CSUN users (students, faculty, and staff) only
Searching
To Select the Collection (Database) you want to search:
By default your search may include multiple databases. However, you may want
to begin your search by selecting specific collections in order to focus your
search to specific types of articles. If you wish to search the Historical
Los Angeles Times, you must select the specific database from the pull down
menu. When searching multiple databases, be aware if using the limit to "Scholarly
articles" you will be excluding the non scholarly Ethnic NewsWatch and Newspapers.
It is best to NOT use limits when searching multiple databases. Once a search
is performed, the retrieval list offers links which can be toggled: All
Sources, Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Trade Publications, Newspapers.
Search Methods
ProQuest provides 4 search methods:
Basic Search
- Use the Date Range drop-down to specify a range of publication dates you
want to include in your search. Once you've set your preferences, click
on Search.
- Use the Limit results to: To specify whether you want to search full text
articles only.
- Use the Limit results to specify whether you want to include Scholarly
journals, including peer-reviewed in your search.

Advance Search
If the results of your Basic Search do not contain the articles you need,
try the Advanced Search.
- In the first Search for box, type a word or phrase that you want to include
in your search.
- From the drop down list choose the field you want to search if your term
is likely to appear in a specific field, such as Author, Publication title,
Classification code or Product name.
- Use the Date range lists to specify publication date.
- Limit to full-text or peer-reviewed articles as needed.

Business Searching Tips -Using Classification Codes
in ABI/INFORM
- Classification Codes: Let you search ABI/INFORM by
broad topic, industry or market, geographical area, or article type and
can be combined together or with keywords to precisely target a search.
Click the Search Guide icon to see the complete list of classification codes.
For example: cc(9140) and Microsoft

The above search finds articles on Microsoft with statistical data (classification
code 9140). Helpful codes include: 9100 company specific/case studies, 9120
Product Specific Treatment, 9130 Experimental/Theoretical, 9140 Statistical
data
- Company Name Searching in ABI/INFORM: For best results,
enter the exact, legal company name, including any punctuation. For example:
Search coca-cola co. not coca cola Not sure of the exact company name? Click
the Browse Lists icon, then Companies to find your company or ask a librarian
for help.
- Boolean searching - Combine words and phrases by entering
them in separate Search for boxes and selecting the appropriate Boolean
Operator (AND,OR etc) from the pull down menu . Truncate or use wildcards
as needed.
| Boolean Operator |
Constructing Searches |
| AND |
Both the search words before and after AND must appear in the same
paragraph (within 250 words of each other). |
| AND NOT |
The search words before AND NOT must appear in the article, but
the words after must not. |
| OR |
Either the search words before or after OR can appear in the article. |
| W/# |
Search words must appear within # of words to match. |
| * |
Used as a right-handed truncator. |
| ? |
Used to replace any single character, either inside the word or
the right end of the word. |
| " |
Used to enclose phrases longer than 2 words to find the exact phrase. |
Results
Results list
Shows the number of articles that matched your search and the brief citations.
Click the title of the article to view the full record.
Article Display: Records are displayed with full citation
and then, when available: subject and other indexing terms, abstract, and
the full text of the article. Graphics will appear in minimized forms. Use
the article format: pull down to see options. The "page image" option uses
Adobe Acrobatİ (.pdf).
Marking Articles
From the results list, click the box to the left of the article citation
to create a list for later emailing, printing, or saving. Click the review
marked articles. Note: printing or exporting (save to disc) from your marked
list will include the citations only (no full text).
Output Options - Email, Printing, Saving Files
Note: You can only print/email/save full-text articles one
at a time.
- Click Email-- Allowing you to specify if you want plain
text or a formatted attachment, your email address, a subject header, and
any comments you'd like to include in the body of your email. After you've
filled out the form, click Send email. A message appears confirming that
your email has been sent.
- Click Print-- If you'd like to print plain text format
copy only. To print the image or .pdf version, change the article format(if
available) and click the printer icon in the Adobe toolbar
- Click Export-- To save the document as a text. Click
Save As on the browser's File menu, and save as text file.
- Additional Help: Click Help on top of the page.