The following quick-start guide has been created
for CSUN students and researchers. For more information on using WilsonWeb,
consult WilsonWeb Online Help.
Jump to: Restrictions & Requirements
| Searching | Results
Description
Scope
WilsonWeb provides access to eleven (11) databases with additional features
of
lookup in our online catalog, and possible links to full text articles.
Databases
- Art Full Text, Art Index -- indexing 1984, abstracts 1994-, select
full text 1997-
- Biography
Index -- indexes 2700 journals, 18 books for biographical
material, 1984-
- Book Review
Digest Plus -- indexes reviews of current fiction
and non-fiction
from over 8,000 periodicals covered by other Wilson databases and also
has over
100,000 full text reviews. 1983-
- Business Full
Text -- over 600 business journals; indexing
1982-, abstracts 1984-; select full text 1995-
- Education
Full Text -- articles from 550 education journals; indexing
1983-, abstracts 1994-, select full text 1996-
- General Science
Full Text -- indexing 1984-,
abstracts 1984-, select full text 1994-
- Humanities Full
Text -- articles from 400 humanities journals; indexing 1984-, abstracts 1984-, select full text 1994-
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective -- articles from a range of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage also includes content from H.W. Wilson’s International Index. 1907-1984. Access limited to 1 user at a time
- Library Literature & Information Science Index Full Text -- English and
foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings,
pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per
year; indexing 1984-, abstracts 1984-, select full text 1994-
- Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective -- includes full-text from 69 years of the Wilson Library Bulletin, indexing from Library Work (1905-1911), plus citations to book reviews, books, book chapters and library school theses. 1905-1983. Access limited to 1 user at a time
- Readers' Guide Full
Text -- Readers’ Guide to
Periodical Literature; indexing 1983-, abstracts 1984-, select full
text 1994-
- Readers' Guide Retrospective -- most popular general-interest periodicals
published in the United States, 1890-1982.
- Social Sciences
Full Text -- articles from 300 journals in the social sciences;
indexing 1983-, abstracts 1984-, select full text 1994-
- OmniFile Full Text Mega: cross-searching of all
databases listed above, plus Applied Science & Technology
Full Text, Biological & Agricultural
Index Plus, and Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text
Restrictions and Software Requirements
CSUN
users (students, faculty, and staff) only. A few databases restrict access to 1 CSUN user at a time (see above).
Searching
-
Select the database(s) you wish to search. You can search one
database or
several simultaneously.
- Type in your search terms. Use the truncation symbol * to include
unlimited additional characters.
- Optional: Limit to "Full Text Articles"
- Click the Start button.
Results
The
link in individual results will give you links to the library's electronic
resources and catalog, and a link to ILL services if necessary.