AAS 201

Professor Masequesmay

Library Databases

The Oviatt Library has many databases that contain articles and information on the many aspects of Asian American Studies. If the full article is not available for the article you want to see, click the blue and red Find Text button to link to the article. For this class, try these databases:

PsycInfo - Contains citations and abstracts for 1,300 journals covering the topics of psychology, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and more.

General OneFile - Contains articles and citations on many topics with full articles available from 5547 journals. Use the KEYWORD SEARCH on the left side of the screen. For peer-reviewed articles be sure to mark the box for "peer-reviewed publications."

JSTOR - Comprehensive archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences and social sciences.

Academic Search Elite from EBSCO - Provides access to full articles from over 1850 journals. For peer-reviewed articles, check the box for "scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals."

Ethnic Newswatch - For articles from alternative news sources.

Evaluating Web Sites (should you believe everything you read online?)

A credible website should have the following qualities: (for a more detailed version go to: http://library.csun.edu/Guides/ResearchStrategies/EvaluatingLibraryResources):

  • Authoritative- the information comes from a qualified source
  • Unbiased- the information is balanced and shows both sides in a non-persuasive manner
  • Current- the information is up-to-date for your particular topic
  • Accurate- the information reported is verifiable and opinions are distinct from fact

Plagiarism and citation styles

Remember to cite not only direct quotes, but also other people's ideas. If you paraphrase something, changing a few words to make it sound less like a direct quote, you still have to cite it. If you are uncertain, it is better to cite a source than to be accused of plagiarism for not citing something you should have.

There are several major citation styles, with different disciplines preferring one style. It is good to be familiar with all of the styles. Fortunately they are similar.

Citation style samples

MLA & APA: Examples of the Modern Languages Association (MLA) style and American Pschyological Association (APA) style are available at http://library.csun.edu/Guides/ResearchStrategies/CitationStyleGuides.

You can use the documents on the above page to learn how to do your own citations, and how to decipher from looking at one whether you're looking at a citation for a book, article or a website.

Library Online Catalog

You may not need it for this assignment, but don't forget that you might want to use books for your research. The Library has lots of them, as well as videos and archival materials. Use the KEYWORD search if you aren't sure of the official subject headings for your topic. Learn how to use the online catalog here: http://library.csun.edu/ResearchAssistance/Tutorials.