Reference sources like encyclopedias and guides can be a valuable resource when gathering information about a topic. Check out some of these reference sources. Note - some of them are print sources and located in the Oviatt Library Reference Room or on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Some are online sources that you can connect to directly from the online catalog.
- Encyclopedia of immigration and migration in the American West [electronic resource]
- Encyclopedia of North American immigration
- Encyclopedia of American immigration
- Immigration in America today: an encyclopedia
- Growing up in America : an atlas of youth in the USA
- Encyclopedia of women in the American West
- Women's issues / edited by Robin Brown.
- Women's issues / consulting editor, Margaret McFadden.
- Racial and ethnic relations in America / S. Dale McLemore.
- Racial and ethnic relations in America / editorial board, Carl L. Bankston III ... [et al.].
- The color of words : an encyclopaedic dictionary of ethnic bias in the United States
- Ethnic relations : a cross-cultural encyclopedia
- American immigrant cultures : builders of a nation
- Encyclopedia of race, ethnicity, and society [electronic resource]
- Completely queer : the Gay and Lesbian encyclopedia
- Asian American history and culture: an encyclopedia
- The Greenwood guide to American popular culture
- Atlas of American diversity
- Encyclopedia of racism in the United States
- Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America
- Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America [electronic resource]
- Facts about American immigration
- The atlas of American migration
- Encyclopedia of recreation and leisure in America
- New face of Asian Pacific America: numbers, diversity, and change in the 21st century.
- Asian American chronology
- Dictionary of Asian American history
- The Asian American encyclopedia
- The Asian American almanac.
- Handbook of Asian American psychology
- Asian American biography
We the people
Frequently Used Electronic Reference Books
- Britannica Online
- Credo Reference
- Gale Virtual Reference Center -- over 100 encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
- Government Reference Sources
- Oxford Art Online (includes Grove Art)
- Oxford Music Online (includes Grove Music)
Literature Resource Center -- provides one-search access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, the Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
Supported by a donation from The SAGE Society.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy -- a dynamic encyclopedia in which each author has electronic access to update entries.
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law
- Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East & North Africa
- Encyclopedia Of American Religions
- Sage eReference –- access to over 80 online encyclopedias and handbooks primarily in the social sciences.