Accounting 351COMM/Augustine: Recommended databases

Recommended databases

RIA Checkpoint: Includes information such as tax codes, regulations and cases for financial and tax research.

Sample search: Choose the publications you want to search in and then keyword search: Ex: contingency and bad debt

Here's a short video on this database:

 

ABI/INFORM Complete: Contains journal articles about business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.

Sample search: accounting AND (bad debt) AND (current expense) AND collectible

Sample search: "accounting for contingencies" AND fraud

 

ScienceDirect: Under the "Business, Management and Accounting" tab on the left, choose access books and journals on accounting. Here's a short video on how to use this database:

How to find accounting articles in ScienceDirect

 

LexisNexis Academic: Select "Subject Areas" on the left and then Accounting to access articles.

Sample search: Choose all publications and do this search: mortgage loans and modification* and tax*

NOTE: The asterisk used this way will find both the singular and plural of these search terms.

Business Source Premier:  Type in "accounting" in the first box and change dropbox to SUBJECT. Enter additional search terms in the other boxes.

Sample search: mortgage loans and modification* and tax*

Google Scholar: Search for scholarly journal articles and books. Follow the directions in our database list to set up Scholar to also search the library's full-text articles.