Subject words: indians dictionaries or indian dictionaries /
indians encyclopedias or indian encyclopedias
- Native Americans and the law [electronic resource] : a dictionary / Gary A. Sokolow.
- West's encyclopedia of American Law 2nd ed. 2005
- Location: Gale Virtual Reference Collection
- American Indian law deskbook / Conference of Western Attorneys General ; chair, editing committee, Joseph P. Mazurek, chief editors, Julie Wrend, Clay Smith. Niwot, Colo. : University Press of Colorado, c1998.
- Location: Reference Room KF8205 .A76 1998
- Documents of American Indian diplomacy : treaties, agreements, and conventions, 1775-1979 / [compiled by] Vine Deloria, Jr., and Raymond J. DeMallie ; with a foreword by Daniel K. Inouye. Norman : University of Oklahoma Press, c1999. 2 v.
- Location: Reference Room E98.E2 E52 1999 also available electronically from Netlibrary
- The encyclopedia of Native American legal tradition / edited by Bruce Elliott Johansen ; foreword by Charles Riley Cloud. Westport, Conn : Greenwood Press, c1998.
- Location: Reference Room KF8204 .E53 1998
- Encyclopedia of North American Indians / Frederick E. Hoxie, editor. Boston : Houghton Mifflin Company, c1996-
- Location: Reference Room E76.2 .E53 1996;
- The Gale encyclopedia of Native American tribes / edited by Sharon Malinowski ... [et al.]. Detroit : Gale, c1998
- Location Reference Room E77 .G15 1998 v.1-4
- Guide to American Indian documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899 : a project of the Institute for the Development of Indian Law / Steven L. Johnson. New York : Clearwater Pub. Co., 1977
- Location: Reference Room KF8201.A1 J63
- Handbook of North American Indians / William C. Sturtevant, general editor. Washington : Smithsonian Institution : for sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1978-
- Location: 2nd Floor and Reference Room E77 .H25
What are Reference Books?
Reference books include encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, guides and style manuals. They can help you find quick factual information and are a good place to get background information.
Types of Resources
Primary sources are original materials on which other research is based. It includes documents such as poems, diaries, court records, interviews, surveys, fieldwork, and some newspaper articles. It also includes research results generated by experiments, which are published as journal articles in some fields of study.
They are also sets of data, such as census statistics, which have been tabulated, but not interpreted.
Secondary sources describe or analyze the primary sources.
Examples of secondary sources include: books, handbooks, textbooks, and articles that interpret or review research works. Encyclopedias maybe secondary as well as tertiary.
Examples of tertiary sources includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, indexes and abstracts which serve to locate secondary and primary sources. An index will provide a citation which fully identifies the work: author, title of article, title of journal or book, publisher and date of publication, For a journal it will include the volume, issue and pagination. An abstract is a summary of the work being cited. Many indexes and abstract are available now online.