Welcome Cohort 4!
Sample Topics from Cohort 3 for Annotated Bibliography Assisgnment
- Preventing AT Abandonment, Usability of a Recumbent Bike as AT Device, Factors in/Reasons for AT Abandonment, AAC Device abandonment,, Cognitive prostheses, AT for Learning Disabilities, AT for an Aging Population, Usability and Outcome Measures of AT in SpEd, Outcome Assessment, Barriers to use of AT for Blind/VI Users, Reasons for Low Hearing Aid Uptake in Adults, AT for nonverbal adults, Web accessibility, iPad for AAC, AAC use/avoidance related to gender/ethnicity, Team assessment, Telemedicine for wheeled mobility assessment, Smartphones as AT devices, Strategies for AT implementation, Usability of AT in the classroom, Person-Centered approach to motivate AT use in the HS/College student, AT in Chemistry Labs, Family Centered Approach
Goals of Library Session March 12, 2014 Cohort 4
- Learn how to identify if Oviatt Library offers access to a particular article, or book
- Learn how to retrieve article, book
- Learn how to cite the article APA style
- Learn how to order items using Interlibrary Loan --You MUST identify yourself in the ILL loans notes field as: Distance Ed ATHS Cohort4
- Learn about the OneSearch interface --- There are many tutorials at http://library.csun.edu/tutorials
- Learn about the Oviatt library catalog
- Learn about the Find Text menu
- Find out how you looked up the two citations (cited in APA style) starting at http://library.csun.edu and any questions you may have
Assignment: Please try to find and retrieve the full-text resources for each of the following articles, starting at http://library.csun.edu. NOTE: You will NOT need to actually read theses articles for next week. The following citations are using APA format and each citation needs to be double spaced with the second and third lines indented. The presentation below is NOT accurate for spacing and indentation.
Johnston, S. S., & Evans, J. (2005). Considering response efficiency as a strategy to prevent assistive technologyabandonment. Journal of Special Education Technology, 20(3), 45-50. Retrieved from Education Research Complete (Ebsco).
Wilson, D. J., Mitchell, J. M., Kemp, B. J., Adkins, R. H., & Mann, W. (2009). Effects of assistive technology on functional decline in people aging with a disability. Assistive Technology : The Official Journal of RESNA, 21(4),208-217. doi: 10.1080/10400430903246068
Take notes on how you found these articles and especially note any problems that you encountered.
Finding Articles in Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers
Pick a database recommended for your subject from Find Articles by Subject and then search using keywords.
To locate the full text of an article:
- If full-text is available in the database, click on the link to full text (HTML or PDF).
- If full-text isn't available in the database, click the button to see if we have access to the article in another database or in print in the library
- If no Find Text button is available or you didn't find the article through our databases, search for the magazine or journal title using the Journals tab in the library catalog.
- If the full text isn't available through the Library, you can request an Interlibrary Loan for the article(s) that you need. However, you must allow about two weeks for this!
Can't Find the Book You Need Here?
Check for Full Text Using Find Text
If the article isn't available full text in the database you are searching, click the button to see if we have access to the full text through another database or in print. A new page opens that will have one or more of the following links:
- Full text available via [database name]: Click to access the full-text online. If the link takes you to a publication-level page, you can navigate to the article by first choosing the correct year, then the correct month or volume number, then the issue, and then selecting the article from the displayed table of contents.
- We have this. Check availability in CSU Northridge Catalog: We have the article in print. Click to view the catalog record for the journal or magazine. You'll need to note the call number and then go to the fourth floor to get the article.
- Request document via Interlibrary Loan: We do not have the article online or in print. You can request the article via interlibrary loan (takes approximately ten working days).
For more information, see About Find Text.
Creating an Annotated Bibliography
What is an annotated bibliography?
An annotated bibliography is a list of sources such as books, articles, and documents. Each source in the bibliography is represented by a citation that includes the author (if given), title, and publication details of the source. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to help the reader evaluate whether the work cited is relevant to a specific research topic or line of inquiry.
Annotations versus abstracts
Abstracts are brief statements that present the main points of the original work. They normally do not include an evaluation of the work itself.
Annotations could be descriptive or evaluative, or a combination of both. A descriptive annotation summarizes the scope and content of a work whereas an evaluative annotation provides critical comment.
What an annotation usually includes?
Generally, annotations should be no more than 150 words (or 4-6 sentences long). They should be concise and well-written. Depending on your assignment, annotations may include some or all of the following information:
- Main focus or purpose of the work,
- Intended audience for the work,
- Usefulness or relevance to your research topic (or why it did not meet your expectations)
- Special features of the work that were unique or helpful
- Background and credibility of the author
- Conclusions or observations reached by the author
- Conclusions or observations reached by you
Which citation style to use
There are many style manuals with specific instructions on how to format your annotated bibliography. The style you use may depend on your subject discipline or the preference of your instructor. Whatever the format, be consistent with the same style throughout the bibliography.
Consult our sample style sheets for various Style Guides for examples of how to format citations in MLA, APA, or other style formats.