The basic working tool of regulatory law is the Barclays Official California Code of Regulations (CCR):
- Final regulations are arranged topically and grouped by subject.
- The administrative rules and regulations of California administrative agencies are grouped into 28 different titles.
- Title 6 was reserved for the governor, but has never been used.
- Title 24, the Building Code, is published separately as the California Building Standards Code (KFC 35 1990 .A2 Title 24; http://www.bsc.ca.gov/pubs/codeson.aspx).
Usually research into federal regulations will begin with the Code of Federal Regulations. There are three methods that may be used to locate federal regulations:
- searching the full text online using Lexis, Westlaw, or the Web
- using a looseleaf service
- using printed indexes to the CFR and the Federal Register
The National Archives and Records Administration web site includes a detailed Federal Register Tutorial.
Administrative Law - Federal Register
The Federal Register provides a uniform system for publishing presidential documents, regulatory documents with general applicability and legal effect, proposed and final regulations, notices, and documents required by statute to be published. Proposed and final regulations appear first in the Federal Register. In order for any administrative regulation to be legally effective, it must be published in the Federal Register.
The library collection: http://suncat.csun.edu/record=b1928558
Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations is an annual codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register. The CFR is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to federal regulation. Each title is revised once a year and contains the regulations in force at the time of publication. The schedule for publication is:
- Titles 01-16 January 1
- Titles 17-27 April 1
- Titles 28-41 July 1
- Titles 42-50 October 1
Title 3 of the CFR contains presidential proclamations, executive orders, and other presidential documents which are required to be published in the Federal Register.
Access to the CFR's from the Oviatt Library:
- Web (Free)
- Official Text, from the Government Printing Office
- Privious Years: 1996 (selected titles); 1997 - present (all titles)
- Most sections are available in both text and PDF format
- Web (Free)
- Editorial compilation from the National Archives and Records Administration with the full, updated text of the CFR
- LexisNexis Academic
- Select Sources
- Select browse sources
- Select Legislation Statutes & Codes
- Look at alphabetical list for CFR