Subject words: indians biography or indian biography
A to Z of Native American Women. Liz Sonneborn. New York : Facts on File, c1998.
Location: REFRM E98.W8 S65 1998
Encyclopedia of Native Amerian Biography : six hundred life stories of important people from Powhatan to Wilma Mankiller. Bruce E. Johansen and Donald A. Grinde, Jr. New York : H. Holt, c1997.
Location: REFRM E89 .J69 1997
Shapers of the great debate on Native Americans--land, spirit, and power : a biographical dictionary. Bruce E. Johansen. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000
Location: REFRM E98.L3 J65 2000
Subject words: indians dictionaries or indian dictionaries
Indian terms of the Americas. Lotsee Patterson, Mary Ellen Snodgrass. Englewood, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1994.
Location: REFRM E54.5 .P47 1994
Word dance : the language of native American culture. Carl Waldman. New York : Facts on File, 1994.
Location: REFRM E76.2 .W36 1994
Subject words: indians directories or indian directories
Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian. Barry T. Klein. Directory of organizations, people and bibliographic references.
Location: REFRM E76.2 .R4 2000
Native American connections [computer file] : year book/directory. Available on Academic Search Elite, 1996-
Subject words: indians encyclopedias or indian encyclopedias
American Indians: Answers to Today's Questions by Jack Utter. 2nd edition, revised and enlarged. Norman, OK : University of Oklahoma Press, c2001.
Location: REFRM E93 .U48 2001
The Continuum encyclopedia of native art : worldview, symbolism, and culture in Africa, Oceania, and native North America / Hope B. Werness ; line drawings by Joanne H. Benedict, Tiffany Ramsay-Lozano, and Hope B. Werness ; maps by Scott Thomas. New York : Continuum, c2000
Location: REFRM E98.A7 W49 2000
The Encyclopedia of Native American economic history / edited by Bruce E. Johansen. Westport, Conn : Greenwood Press, c1999.
Location: REFRM E98.E2 E52 1999
Encyclopedia of Native American religions : an introduction / Arlene Hirschfelder, Paulette Molin ; foreword by Walter R. Echo-Hawk. New York : Facts on File, c2000.
Location: REFRM E98.R3 H73 2000
Encyclopedia of Native American shamanism : sacred ceremonies of North America / William S. Lyon. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1998.
Location: REFRM E98.M4 L98 1998
Encyclopedia of North American Indians / Frederick E. Hoxie, editor. Boston : Houghton Mifflin Company, c1996-
Location: REFRM E76.2 .E53 1996; Also available through Netlibrary
The Gale encyclopedia of Native American tribes / edited by Sharon Malinowski ... [et al.]. Detroit : Gale, c1998
Location REFRM E77 .G15 1998 v.1-4
Handbook of North American Indians / William C. Sturtevant, general editor. Washington : Smithsonian Institution : for sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1978-
Location: 2nd Floor and REFRM E77 .H25
Check the Library Catalog
Subject phrase: Indians of North America -- California OR Indians of North America -- Southwest, New
Links to other library catalogs
Periodicals/Journals: Indexes & Articles
Subject words: north american indians periodicals
Abstracts in Anthropology
Location: REFRM Table 4 GN 1 A15 1980- ; v. 1-7, 4th Floor. Focus on American publications.
A wide variety of information including: articles from Newspapers, journals, law reviews, case law and more
Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals
Anthropological Index (Late 1960's-)
Index to anthropological articles/ RAI. European focus
Location: Online and print Anthropological Index REF 4th Floor Z 5111 .R67)
Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index combined
Full-text database of selected newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States. Alternative to mainstream media so gives a different perspective
Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and refereed journals
Human Relations Area Files
Data and publications on a variety of cultures world-wide.
Location: Microfiche 4th Floor; Partially available on line through eHRAF.
Archival collection of scholarly articles from various academic displines, including Anthropology, History, Political Science, and Sociology, the most recent articles are at least 2-5 years old.
Facts & Figures
Statistical Record of Native North Americans. Marlita A. Reddy, editor. Detroit : Gale, c1995.
Location: REFRM E98.P76 S73 1995
RAND California provides easy access to statistics about California; some databases cover the entire United States. (CSUN subscription; not available to all users) Suggestion: Statistics Summary, ... by race (U.S. State and County Population Statistics By Race and/or Age)
Location: Internet (subscription)
Counting California (California Digital Library) includes data (or downloadable files) on California at the state, region, county, and city level from a variety of government sources. Population and Demographics: American Indian or Topic, Subtopic ( Educational Attainment: Race By Educational Attainment)
American Indian Studies: Web Resources (Woodley)
Site temporarily unavailable due to the Cobell Litigation
Code Talk is a federal inter-agency Native American website that provides information for Native American communities. Code Talk is hosted by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Native American Programs
AAA Style Guide http://www.aaanet.org/pubs/style_guide.htm
For more information, contact Mary S. Woodley at 677-6302 firstname.lastname@example.org