Subject words:women and encyclopedias
Countries and Their Cultures. Melvin Ember and Carol R. Ember, Eds. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2001. 2549 pp. 4 vols.
Location: Gale virtual Reference Library
This website provides links to other sites containing biographical information on women throughout history. Sites are arranged by name and the woman's field of activity. Additional links to related sites are organized alphabetically. The quantity/quality of the information varies by site.
Greenwood encyclopedia of women's issues worldwide / editor-in-chief, Lynn Walter ; volume editors, Aili Mari Tripp ... [et al.]
Location: Reference Room HQ1154 .G74 2003 6 vol.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge 4 vol.
Location: Reference Room HQ 1115 .R69 2000
Women in the Third World: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues . Stronquist, Nelly P., editor. New York: Greenwood, 1998
Location: REFRM HQ 1870.9 W6548 1998
Documents the situation of women in political, legal, demographic, social and economic contexts. Includes Geographical entries comprise the last section of the encyclopedia and the content is enriched with bibliographies, charts and graphs.
Women's Issues: Ready Reference 3 vol.
Location: Reference Room HQ 1115 .W6425 1997
The University Library's online catalog Subject phrase: Women, Feminism
search as keywords: gender roles, gender identity
Check the shelves around the call number HQ 1870 for general works on Women and Feminism
World Cat, Melvyl and more!
Indexes and Abstracts
Abstracts in Anthropology
Location: REFRM Table 4 GN 1 A15 1980- ; v. 1-7, 4th Floor. Focus on American publications.
Anthropological Index (Late 1960's-)
Index to anthropological articles/ RAI. European focus
Location: Online and print Anthropological Index REF 4th Floor Z 5111 .R67)
Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index combined
Social Science Index online, 1983-
Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications, plus book chapters, 1963-
A wide variety of information including: articles from Newspapers, journals, law reviews, case law and more (mostly not scholarly)
Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals
"Complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003 ... Current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications."
CQ Researcher ***
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
Full-text database of selected newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States. Alternative to mainstream media so gives a different perspective (not scholarly publications)
Publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
eHRAF World Cultures (Human Relations Area Files) ***
Data and publications on a variety of cultures world-wide.
Location: Microfiche 4th Floor; Partially available on line through eHRAF
Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and refereed journals
JStor (Archival) ***
A reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature.
Facts & Figures
provides easy access to statistics about California; some databases cover the entire United States. (CSUN subscription; not available to all users) Suggestion: Statistics Summary, ... by race (U.S. State and County Population Statistics By Race and/or Age)
(California Digital Library) includes data (or downloadable files) on California at the state, region, county, and city level from a variety of government sources. Population and Demographics: American Indian or Topic, Subtopic (Educational Attainment: Race By Educational Attainment)
Statistical Information on Women
Schmittroth, Linda, editor. Statistical Record of Women Worldwide.
Location: REFRM HQ 1150 .S73 1991
Data collected from journals ,government publications, reports and studies from
associations, companies, institutions, research centers,organizations and other materials that provide statistical information.
Taeuber, Cynthia, editor. Statistical Handbook on Women in America .
Location: REFRM HQ 1420 .T34 1996
Data collected by such government sources as the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this statistical handbook presents a portrait of women-birth, education, family life, health, economic and social circumstances and death. The work is arranged alphabetically by title within five section. There are more than 260 tables and 80 charts included.
The World's Women: Trends and Statistics 2000
Location REFRM HQ 1154 .W95 2000
Produced by the United Nations, this third edition presents new and updated statistics on population, the family, health, education and communication, work, politics and human rights
AAA Style Guide