The countries of the world, esp. those of Africa and Asia, which are aligned with neither the Communist nor the non-Communist bloc; hence, the underdeveloped or poorer countries of the world, usu. those of Africa, Asia, and Latin America. Cf. Second World s.v. SECOND a. 7a. Also attrib. or as adj., and in extended use. Coined 1956.
Keywords: developing countries and dictionaries
Glossary of the Third World George Thomas Kurian.
Location: REF GN307. K87 1989
Keywords: [country] and encyclopedias or Subject: Ethnology -- Encyclopedias
Countries and their culture
Location: REFRM GN307 .C86 2001 4v.
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology.Editors, David Levinson, Melvin Ember. New York : Henry Holt and Co., 1996.
Location: REFRM GN307 .E52 1996 4 v.
Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life.
Location: REFRM GN 333 W67 1996 v.2
Encyclopedia of World Cultures. David Levinson, editor in chief. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1991-
Location: REFRM GN307 .E53 1991 v. 7-8
Ethnic Groups Worldwide
Location: REF GN325 L46 1998
Outline of Cultural Materials
Location: REF GN33 Y34 1961.
Location: Internet: http://ets.umdl.umich.edu/cgi/e/ehraf/ehraf-idx?c=ehrafe&browse=owc
Women in the Third World: an encyclopedia of contemporary issues
Location: REF HQ1870.9 .W6548 1998
Women in the Third World: a reference handbook
REF HQ1870.9 .K58 1997
Links to other library catalogs
World Cat, Melvyl and more!
Library of Congress Subject Headings (Select) (finding books):
[Topic] -- Developing Countries
Developing countries is the way that Library of Congress subject headings express "Third world contries."
Here, with appropriate local subdivision, are entered works on the discipline of ethnology, and works on the origin, distribution, and characteristics of the elements of the population of a particular region or country. Theoretical works on the concept of groups of people who are bound together by common ties of ancestry and culture are entered under Ethnic groups. Works on the subjective sense of belonging to an individual ethnic group are entered under Ethnicity. General works on racial, religious, ethnic, or other minority groups are entered under Minorities. UF Cultural anthropology
NT Ethnic groups -- [Place]
Check the CIA Factbook, Countrywatch or the sources listed above to find the variant names for the ethnic groups
See also the terms below:
Subject Keyword Search:
Women -- [Subtopic]--Developing countries [Specific country]
[Globalization]--Developing countries [Specific country]
[Topic]--Developing countries -- Statistics.
Periodicals/Journals: Indexes & Abstracts
Abstracts in Anthropology
Location: REFRM Table 4 GN 1 A15 1980- ; v. 1-7, 4th Floor. Focus on American publications.
Anthropological Index (Late 1960's-)
Index to anthropological articles/ RAI. European focus
Location: Online and print Anthropological Index REF 4th Floor Z 5111 .R67)
Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index combined
Periodicals/Journals: Full Text
A wide variety of information including: articles from Newspapers, journals, law reviews, case law and more
Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals
Full text to 11 current journals published by the American Anthropological Association and electronic backfile to all AAA publications.
Full-text database of selected newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States. Alternative to mainstream media so gives a different perspective
Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and refereed journals
Human Relations Area Files
Data and publications on a variety of cultures world-wide.
Location: Microfiche 4th Floor; Partially available on line through eHRAF.
Archival collection of scholarly articles from various academic displines, including Anthropology, History, Political Science, and Sociology, the most recent articles are at least 2-5 years old.
Facts & Figures
Keywords: developing countries and statistics
CIA World Fact Book articles about countries of the world, regional and topical maps.
Country Studies/ Library of Congress and U.S. Dept. of the Army
CountryWatch.Com News, statistics and trends for 191 countries
Location: Internet http://www.countrywatch.com/cwsignin.asp
Latin America and the Caribbean : selected economic and social data.
Location: REFRM HC121 .L38
Statistical abstract of Latin America.
Location: REFRM HA935 .S8
Statistical abstract of the world.
Location: Floor 2 (REF) HA154 .S83 1994
Third world atlas / Alan Thomas with Ben Crow ... [et al.].
Location: Reference Room G1046.G1 C7 1994
For more information, contact Mary S. Woodley at 677-6302 firstname.lastname@example.org