A Checklist of Selected Library Sources
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
- Anthropological Resources. 4 v. REF GN 14 A77 1998
- Ethnic Groups Worldwide. REF GN325 L46 1998
- Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology. New York : Henry Holt and Co., 1996. REFRM GN307 .E52 1996 4 v.
- Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life. 4 v. REF GN 333 W67 1996 v.2
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. REF 1406 E53 1996 4v.
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures. v.7 Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1991-
- Outline of Cultural Materials. REF GN33 Y34 1961.
Periodicals/Journals: Indexes & Articles
Subject words: periodicals
Indexes and Abstracts:
Abstracts in Anthropology
Location: REFRM Table 4 GN 1 A15 1980- ; v. 1-7, 4th Floor. Focus on American publications.
Anthropological Index (Late 1960's-)
Index to anthropological articles/ RAI. European focus
Location: Online and print Anthropological Index REF 4th Floor Z 5111 .R67)
Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index combined
"Complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003 ... Current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications."
A wide variety of information including: articles from Newspapers, journals, law reviews, case law and mor
Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals
Full-text database of selected newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States. Alternative to mainstream media so gives a different perspective
Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and refereed journals
Index to scholarly literature on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada). It provides access to over 500,000 articles, books and disserations concerning the period from 1450 to the present day
Human Relations Area Files
Data and publications on a variety of cultures world-wide.
Location: Microfiche 4th Floor; Partially available on line through eHRAF.
Archival collection of scholarly articles from various academic displines, including Anthropology, History, Political Science, and Sociology, the most recent articles are at least 2-5 years old.
Location: FLOOR4 PER E1 .J69 Currently received. 1- 1969-
Location Internet: Ebsco Online and directly through Cambridge. Access restricted to CSUN IP Address.
Check the Library Catalog
Here, with appropriate local subdivision, are entered works on the discipline of ethnology, and works on the origin, distribution, and characteristics of the elements of the population of a particular region or country. Theoretical works on the concept of groups of people who are bound together by common ties of ancestry and culture are entered under Ethnic groups. Works on the subjective sense of belonging to an individual ethnic group are entered under Ethnicity. General works on racial, religious, ethnic, or other minority groups are entered under Minorities. UF Cultural anthropology
NT Ethnic groups -- [Place]
Subject Keyword Search:
[South American/Country/Region] Social Life and Customs
Facts & Figures
CIA World Fact Book articles about countries of the world, regional and topical maps.
Location: Internet:http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html --
Country Studies/ Library of Congress and U.S. Dept. of the Army
Location: Internet:http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html --
CountryWatch.Com News, statistics and trends for 191 countries
Location: Internet http://www.countrywatch.com/cwsignin.asp
Latin America and the Caribbean : selected economic and social data.
Location: REFRM HC121 .L38
Statistical abstract of Latin America.
Location: REFRM HA935 .S8
- AAA Style Guide
- Handbook of Latin American Studies / Library of Congress. HLAS Online
- Latin America Network Information Center (lanic) / University of Texas
Latin American Studies Association / University of Pittsburg:
The Latin American Studies Association (LASA) is the largest professional Association in the world for individuals and institutions engaged in the study of Latin America.
The Society for Latin American Anthropology (SLAA)
SLAA provides a forum for discussion of current research, scholarly trends, human rights concerns as well as an interchange with scholars from Latin America.
For more information, contact Mary S. Woodley at 677-6302 firstname.lastname@example.org