Below are general resources for conducting research in Anthropology and Archaeology. For more specific examples, refer to the pages developed for specific classes.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Browse the Reference shelves for encyclopedias that are specific to a country, a topic, or time period.
Barfield, Thomas J. The Dictionary of Anthropology.
Oxford, UK ; Malden, MA : Blackwell, 1997. GN307 .D485 1997
Barnard, Alan Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology.
London ; New York : Routledge, 1996. Reference Room GN307 .E525 1996
Ellis, Linda. Archaeological Method and Theory : an Encyclopedia.
New York : Garland Pub., c2000. CC75 .A654 2000
Fagan, Brian M.The Oxford Companion to Archaeology.
New York : Oxford University Press, c1996. Reference Room CC70 .O96 1996
Gall, Timothy. Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life.
Location: Reference Room GN 333 W67 1996
Levinson, David. Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology.
New York : Henry Holt and Co., 1996. Reference Room GN307 .E52 1996 4 v.
Levinson, David. Encyclopedia of World Cultures.
Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1991-
Murray, Tim. Encyclopedia of Archaeology. The Great Archaeologists.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1999.
Reference Room CC110 .E54 1999 Reference Room & FLOOR 2 GN307 .E53 10+ v.
Shaw, Ian. A Dictionary of Archaeology.
Oxford, UK : Blackwell Publishers, c1999. Reference Room CC70 .D53 1999
Winthrop, Robert H. Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology.
New York : Greenwood Press, 1991. Reference Room GN307 .W56 1991
Guides & Handbooks
Murdock, George Peter. Outline of Cultural Materials.
New Haven, Conn. : Human Relations Area Files, Inc., 1982.
Reference Room GN345.3 .O95 2004
Murdock, George Peter. Outline of world cultures.
Reference Room Z696 .M87 1958
Weeks, John M. Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology.
2nd ed. Boulder, Colo. : Westview Press, c1998.
Reference Room GN42 .W44 1998
Check the Library Catalog
Books owned by the CSUN library are listed in the catalog
Links to other library catalogs
Primarily a full text service providing access to hundreds of newspapers, magazines and newsletters. Lexis-Nexis also contains full text "libraries" for United States and individual state laws, codes, and regulations; for business articles and company information; and for medical and pharmaceutical information. . For access to full text newspapers going back approximately ten years (coverage varies by individual newspaper), choose the library "NEWS" and make appropriate selection from succeeding menu.
Use Historical Newspapers Los Angeles Times on Proquest covers from 1881 to 1985
Historical Newspapers New York Times on Proquest covers from issue one (1851) up until the last 3 years
Annual review of Anthropology. Palo Alto, CA Annual Reviews, 1897 - (REFSER GN1 .A623; also available online through JSTOR )
Critical research is reviewed and presented under broad classifications (e.g., social processes, urban poverty). Currency is reflected by change of topics from year to year.Anthropological Index (on-line) An index to approximately 750 anthropological journals. This index gives coveage from the 1970 to present. Coverage is spotty for the years 1994, 1995, and 1996. It is possible to search by Continent, Region, or Subject Area. Boolean searches are possible.
VIII. Theses and Dissertations
CSUN these accepted by the department of Anthropology are indexed by author, title, and the subject "Dissertations, Academic -- CSUN Anthropology" in the Library catalog all CSUN Anthropology theses have the basic call number GN33 .Z95 [Year]
Dissertations Abstracts International. A: The Humanities and Social Sciences Ann Arbor: University Microfilms, 1938 - (REF Z 5055 U5 A53).
DAI provides indexing to doctoral dissertations accepted by over 500 institutions participating in its microfilming program . Citations date from 1861 forward, author, title, abstract key word, and institutional searching is provided. DAI may be searched at any of the library Internet terminals (or from remote locations by connecting to First Search 2 and choosing "DISS". The online product provides abstracts only from 1980 forward. Printed counterpart former to 1995 are available.
Periodicals/Journals: Indexes & Articles
Abstracts in Anthropology
Location: Reference Room Table 4 GN 1 A15 1980- ; v. 1-7, 4th Floor. Focus on American publications.
Anthropological Index (Late 1960's-)
Index to anthropological articles/ RAI. European focus. An index to approximately 750 anthropological journals. This index gives coveage from the 1970 to present. Coverage is spotty for the years 1994, 1995, and 1996. It is possible to search by Continent, Region, or Subject Area. Boolean searches are possible.Now integrated into Anthropological Literature Plus (RLG)
Location: Online and print Anthropological Index REF 4th Floor Z 5111 .R67)
Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index combined
(Formerly: Readers Guide to Periodical Literature Supplement, International Index. Social Sciences and Humanities Index: 1907 - 1973) Author and subject index to over 350 English-language scholarly, discipline - orientated journals in the fields of archaeology, classics, folklore, language, history philosophy, performing arts, and religion. Recommended for issues of historical interest as well as topics related to folklore.
Print version not currently received.
Location: Internet- Limited to 4 users
Index to scholarly literature on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada). It provides access to over 500,000 articles, books and disserations concerning the period from 1450 to the present day
Provides indexing and detailed abstracts of articles taken from 3,000 journals published world wide in sociology, social work and related social and behavioral sciences. Indexing began in 1963, abstracts from 1974- Preeminent abstracting science for sociology. Sociofile indexes and provides abstracts from other 2000 sociological and related disciplines journals. Also provides reference to sociological conference papers, pertinent dissertations listings (from Dissertation Abstracts International), book reviews, and selected monographs. Source is world-wide and includes journals from over fifty countries. Earlier years of its print counterpart, Sociological Abstracts, are available (1953-1992)
Location: Internet and Reference Room HM 1 S6255
not currently received
An index to articles and book reviews in 400 English-language journals in anthropology, economics, geography, political science, psychology and sociology. Indexing started in 1983, abstracts from 1994-
Social Sciences Citation Index
Indexes 1500+ social and behaviorial science journals, . Each issue is divided into four major parts: (1) the "Citation Index" - a listing of publications cited, with each citation accompanied by a list of references citing it. Can determine how many times a specific publication has been cited by other publications. (2) the "Source Index" - a listing providing additional information about citers and citing articles listed in the "Citation Index"; (3) the "Corporate Index" - a listing of citers by organizational affiliation; and (4) the "Permuterm Subject Index" - a computer produced alphabetical list indexing publications by key words taken from the title of the publication. The "Permuterm Subject Index" is particularly recommended when searching for references on a specific theory, test, or technique.
Also available online through DialogWeb
A wide variety of information including: articles from Newspapers, journals, law reviews, case law and more
Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals
"Complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003 ... Current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications."
Full-text database of selected newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States. Alternative to mainstream media so gives a different perspective
Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and refereed journals
Human Relations Area Files
Data and publications on a variety of cultures world-wide. Collection of ethnographic and archaeological materials on microfiche and electronically. Cultures are listed by major geographic areas (Africa, Asia, Europe, Middle East, North America, Oceania and South America). Geographic regions within these areas are identified by numbers listed in the Outline of World Culture. The collection contains cultural and social information.
The Web version does not contain all the retrospective material, but the older material is being added annually. The microfiche material is located Fourth Floor in the East Wing: MICRO GN378 .H97 1968?-1991? . See also above: Murdock, George Peter. Outline of Cultural Materials
Location: Microfiche 4th Floor; Partially available on line through eHRAF
Archival collection of scholarly articles from various academic displines, including Anthropology, History, Political Science, and Sociology, the most recent articles are at least 2-5 years old.
Facts & Figures
CIA World Fact Book articles about countries of the world, regional and topical maps.
Country Studies/ Library of Congress and U.S. Dept. of the Army
CountryWatch.Com News, statistics and trends for 191 countries
Location: Internet http://www.countrywatch.com/cwsignin.asp
AAA Style Guide
Location: Internet http://www.aaanet.org/pubs/style_guide.htm
Publications of the American Anthropology Association (List with descriptions)
Location: Internet http://www.aaanet.org/pubs/index.htm
The Library offers a variety of workshops dealing with many of the databases listed in the bibliography. The schedule, times, and location of these workshops is available online in "Classes" on the Library homepage.
For more information, contact Mary Woodley (818) 677-6302 or firstname.lastname@example.org