Art 311: Bibliography, Methods and Historiography of Art History

Reference Resources |Find Books | Find Articles |Web Resources |  St Jerome in his Studye
 

 

 

Reference Resources

Dictionaries: Artists Names

Allgemeines Lexicon der bildenden Künstler : von Antike bis zur gegenwart / Thieme-Becker. 37 v. 1907.
Location: REFRM N40 T42
Dictionary of painters and engravers / Bryan's
Location: FLOOR3 N40 B945
Dictionnaire des peintures, sculptures, dessinateurs, et graveurs / Benezit.
Location: REFRM-FLOOR3 N40 B47
Index to artistic biography (Havlice)
Location: REFRM N40 H38
Union List of Artists Names (ULAN) |

Dictionaries: general

Keywords: art and dictionaries

The concise Oxford dictionary of art terms / Michael Clarke.
Location: REFRM N33 .C575 2001
From abacus to Zeus : a handbook of art history / James Smith Pierce.
Location: REFRM N33 .P5 2001
Yale dictionary of art and artists /Erika Langmuir.
Location: REFRM N33 .L353 2000

Encyclopedias

Keywords:art and encyclopedias

Oxford Dictionary of art (34 v.)
Location: REFRM N31.D5 1996 and online
Credo Reference
Online reference collection providing access to a selection of over 240 reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies and books of quotations.
Encyclopedia of architecture (5 v.)
Location: REFRM NA31 E59 1988.
Encyclopedia of world art (17 v. 1968)
Location: Floor 3 (Ref) N31 E533
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Art (5 v.)
Location: FLOOR3 N33 M33

Art Historiography

Davies, Stephen. "Theories of Art." In , Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, edited by Michael Kelly. Oxford
Art Online, http://www.oxfordartonline.com/subscriber/article/opr/t234/e0505 (accessed February 14, 2011).
Preziosi, Donald. 1998. The art of art history: a critical anthology. Oxford: Oxford University Press. (accessed February 14.2011)
Online http://suncat.csun.edu/record=b1781827
Preziosi, Donald. 2009. The art of art history: a critical anthology. Oxford history of art. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
Floor3 : N7480 .A79 2009 (IN LIBRARY )

Find Books:

Search terms:

Art -- Historiography
Art historians -- See Also Women art historians
Specific theories or names

Call Numbers: N1-NX (Art); TR (Photography)

Getty Vocabularies:

Find Articles
Multisearch Art content

Periodicals/Journals: Indexes & Articles

L'Année philologique
Indexes publications covering prehistoric to medieval and includes classical studies literature, including classical authors, linguistics, papyrology, art, archaeology, history, and philosophy. It indexes about 1,000 journals as well as congresses and Festschriften and book reviews. Continues the title Dix Années de Bibliographie Classique (1914-1923). Arranged first by subject headings and subheadings, and then alphabetically by author. v.1 (1924)- Holdings incomplete.
Location: FLOOR3 REFSER Z7016.M35A (1999- current). Older issues in ASRS
Architecture Database [DIALOG FILE 179]
The Architecture Database is the online version of the print publication Architectural Publications Index (API) compiled by the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects. The literature indexed includes articles, interviews, obituaries, and biographies in more than 400 current periodicals from over 45 countries, as well as some 2,000 cataloged items from all over the world, including monographs, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogs, pamphlets, and some technical literature. Search author names: Last name FirstInitial,
Location: online (requires mediation with Librarian)
Arts and Humanities Citation Search
Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more from over 1,3000 journals. Provides searches for "cited" authors. Search author names: Last name, First Initial. Names as subjects, Search author names: Last name, FirstName
Location: Online
ARTbibliographies Modern
An index to articles and book reviews in 400 English-language journals in anthropology, economics, geography, political science, psychology and sociology. Indexing started in 1983, abstracts from 1994-
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations providing an excellent source of biographical data; often the only information available for less-published architects. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated weekly.
Location: ASRS Z5945 .C649
The Bibliography of the History of Art (1991-2008)
Bibliography of the History of Art. (BHA) abstracts and indexes current publications in the history of art. BHA is the successor to RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art, File 191) and RAA (Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie). BHA covers the current literature of European art from late Antiquity (4th c. AD) to the present and American art from the European discoveries to the present.The database corresponds to the print bibliography of the same name. Inclusive coverage: RAA: 1973-1989; RILA: 1975-1989. Search author names: Last name FirstInitial,
Location: REFRM Z5937 .B53 and online
Repertoire d'art et d'archeologie (RAA)
Abstracts feature articles, book reviews, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction (including dramas and poems), and reviews of plays and television and radio programs. Search author names: Last name, FirstName,
Location: FLOOR3 Z5937 .R4 Incomplete holdings. 1910-1937,1960-1964;1967-1989.
RILA (Art Literature International) Répertoire international de la litterature de l'art : RILA = International repertory of the literature of art (1975-1989)
Abstracts and indexes publications from 1975-1989 in the history of art . The database was produced by RILA, the International Repertory of the Literature of Art, and corresponds to the printed publication, RILA. More than half of the records contain informative abstracts. All aspects of Western art are covered from Late Antiquity (4th Century) to the present. Merged with RAA to form BHA. Search author names: Last name FirstInitial,
Location: online
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
Dissertation Abstracts Online is a definitive subject, title, and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Selected Masters theses have been included since 1962.

GoogleScholar

Periodicals/Journals: Full Text

AcademicSearch Elite (EbscoHost)
Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals
Art Index with Full Text
Corresponds to the Art Index (print). Contains articles and reproductions of works of art that appear in 400+ indexed periodicals 1984 to the present. Indexes major English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as European periodicals in a number of different languages. Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews. Limited to 12 users at one time.
Dissertations and Theses (Proquest)
Full text collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, covering more than 1 million dissertations and theses. Coverage: 1637-present.
General OneFile (InfoTrac)
Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals
Humanities Abstracts with Full Text
Abstracts 400 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature, 1984- Limited to 12 users at one time.
Project Muse
A full-text resource of journal articles. It includes 167 full-text titles of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
JStor Journal Storage Project
Archival collection of scholarly articles from various academic displines, including Anthropology, History, Political Science, and Sociology, the most recent articles are at least 2-5 years old

Art Writing

Writing Guides

A short guide to writing about art/ Sylvan Barnet.
Location: Reference  N7476 .B37 2011
Writing about art / Henry M. Sayre
Location: FLOOR3 BOOK N7476 .S29 2002
Writing for the visual arts / Mashey Maurice Bernstein.
Location: FLOOR3 PE479.A76 B47 2001

Evaluating Internet Resources

Internet resources should be evaluated to determine their credibility and relevance to your topic before selecting them for a research assignment. Use the criteria below to help you evaluate these resources.

Internet address (URL) domain extensions can be used to help determine authority and objectivity. A more complete list of two- and three- letter URL extensions is also available.

.gov - Government. The intent of the site is to present official information collected by or about the workings of a government.

.edu - Educational institution. The intent of the site is to educate as well as present information collected by or about the educational institution.

.com - Commercial. The intent of the site is to sell goods or services, as well as provide information about the company.

.org - Organization, usually non-profit. The intent of the site is to present information collected by or about the organization. Sometimes, the intent of the site is to promote a particular point of view.

.net - Network, usually personal Web pages. The intent of the site is as varied as the individual(s) responsible for the content.

Who Created the Information?

What are the qualifications of the author or organization responsible for the content of the resource?

What are the author's education and/or experience?

Is it a reputable Web site? Is there an "about us" link on the Web page that provides information about the organization?

Is it a commercial, governmental, educational or personal Web site? Often the URL domain's extension (.com, .edu, etc.) gives you a clue about the site.

Look for the author's biography or information about the responsible organization within the Web page itself or use the sources below to find out more about people and organizations:

Information on People:

Information on Organizations:

Content & Coverage

  • Who is the audience for the Web site (scholarly or general)?
  • Is the information primary or secondary in nature?
  • Does it provide general background information or in-depth information on a specific topic? Which do you need?
  • Does the page link to other reputable websites/organizations? Is there a bibliography or list of cited references and how extensive is it?

Timeliness

  • Is there a date anywhere on the Web page, such as date created, last update, etc.?
  • How up-to-date are citations, if any? Are the links broken?
  • How current does the information need to be for your topic or assignment?

Accuracy

  • Is it a commercial, governmental, educational, personal Web site or blog?
  • Is it a community site in which any individual can make changes to such as Wikipedia?
  • Can you find the same information in another source?

Objectivity

  • Determine whether the information is fact, opinion or propaganda.
  • Are there links or references to show the source of the facts or quotes?
  • Does the Web site have a particular bias?
  • Are opinions or propaganda easy to recognize?
  • Do the words and phrases play to your emotions or bias the content?
  • Are there advertisements that suggest the information might be biased toward selling a product rather than providing objective information?
  • Can you determine from the Web site's address (URL) a particular bias? Often the URL domain's extension (.com, .edu, etc.) gives you a clue about the site.

Find a Book on the Shelves

  • Check the Status field of the book's record in the catalog.
    • IN LIBRARY - book is available for checkout.
    • DUE + date - book has already been checked out.
  • The Location field shows the general location of the book.
  • The Call # field gives the book's call number, which serves as the book's address in the library. Each row of books on the 2nd and 3rd floors will have a sign at the end indicating which call numbers can be found on that row.

Keyword Searching

  1. Use keyword when your term may be very new, very distinctive, or jargon, e.g. "instant messaging", "XML".
  2. Use a variety of keywords. There may be additional items on your topic that use different terms.
  3. Be aware that you may retrieve items not related to your topic (called false drops)
  4. When you cannot remember the exact title of an item, do a keyword search using the title words you remember.

Know Your Assignment Requirements

Research Assignment and Instructor Expectations

  • Completed by due date (the Research Project Calculator can help you plan to finish on time)
  • Length of finished product
  • Sources selected and used
  • References/citation form
  • Organization and flow of ideas
  • Writing skills

Topic Selection

  • Select/define/refine/focus your idea
  • Brainstorm
  • 5 Ws (who, what, why, when, where) and how
  • Determine if you will be able to cover all the important points of your topic in the space you have to fill

Narrow or Broaden Your Search

Use AND between terms to narrow your search

example: television and violence and children

Use OR and/or truncate (*, ?) words to broaden your search

example: children or youth or adolescents
example: child* (will find child, children, etc.) Note: check online help for  the correct truncation symbol

Saving Items to E-mail, Print or Download from the Library Catalog

To save items:

  • From a multiple item results list, select the checkboxes next to the items you wish to save, then click Save Marked Records.
  • In an individual record, click Save Record.

To export items:

  1. To e-mail, print or download saved items, click the "View Saved" button.
  2. Choose an export format:
    • "Brief Display" includes publication information only.
    • "Full Display" includes location, call number, subject headings, and other descriptive information.
    • "End-Note/RefWorks" to export citations for use in EndNote Web, EndNote Desktop, or Refworks.
  3. Under "Send list to" choose an export method:
    • For e-mail: select E-mail and provide a "Mail To" address and subject line
    • For printing: select screen (you will use the browser's print function)
    • For saving as a text (.txt) file or other file format: select local disk
  4. Click Submit.

Scholarly Journals (Peer-reviewed/Referreed)

Image of American Journal of Philology
  • Authors are authorities in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
  • Individual issues have little or no advertising.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
  • Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
  • Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
  • Articles use jargon of the discipline.

Subject Searching

  1. New topics may not yet be included in the database's controlled vocabulary.
  2. Using the appropriate subject heading for a topic will retrieve all items in the database indexed under that topic.
  3. If you do not know the appropriate subject heading for your topic, conduct a keyword search first and look at the subject heading(s) of a relevant item.

Truncation

  • Most databases allow for a symbol to be used at the end of a word to retrieve variant endings of that word. This is known as truncation.
  • Using truncation will broaden your search. For example,

    bank* will retrieve: bank or banks or banking or banker or bankruptcy, etc.

  • Databases and Internet search engines use different symbols to truncate. In general, most of the Library's databases use the asterisk (*) ; however, the exclamation point (!) is used in LexisNexis. Check the database help screen to find the correct truncation symbol.
  • Be careful using truncation. Truncating after too few letters will retrieve terms that are not relevant. For example:

    cat* will also retrieve cataclysm, catacomb, catalepsy, catalog, etc.

    It's best to use the boolean operator "or" in these instances (cat or cats).