ART 380/380L Children's Art

childrenart

Reference Resources | Find Books | Find Articles | Art on the Web |  Writing Guides

Reference Resources

Print Reference |Web resources | Dictionaries: Other | Online Handbooks & Stylebooks | Encyclopedias | Images

Print

Challenge standards for student success : visual and performing arts.

Location: TCC NX280 .V48 1998 grade K-12  3 copies

Web Resources

California State Art Standards

Web address: http://www.cde.ca.gov/be/st/ss/vamain.asp

Art on the Web

Links to freely available art resources on the Web.

Dictionaries: other

Subject words: art dictionaries

The concise Oxford dictionary of art terms / Michael Clarke.

Location: REFRM N33 .C575 2001

From abacus to Zeus : a handbook of art history / James Smith Pierce.

Location: REFRM N33 .P5 2001

Oxford classical dictionary

Location: REFRM DE5 .O9 1996

Yale dictionary of art and artists /Erika Langmuir.

Location: REFRM N33 .L353 2000

See also Art and Architecture Thesaurus and Getty Provenance Index

Encyclopedias  

Grove's Dictionary of art (34 v.)

Location: REFRM N31.D5 1996 and online

Encyclopedia of architecture (5 v.)

Location: REFRM NA31 E59 1988.

Encyclopedia of world art (17 v. 1968)

Location: REFRM N31 E533

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Art (5 v.)

Location: FLOOR3 N33 M33

Images and Lesson plans

ARTstor

Database of over 500,000 images which serve to illustrate art, history, sociology, journalism and other scholarly research.

ArtsEdge (National Arts and Education Network)

Provides standards-based teaching materials for Visual Arts, Music, Theater, Language Arts, Social Studies, and Science

EDSITEment

Educational website sponsored by National Endowment for the Humanities in partnership with the National Trust for the Humanities

Gateway to Educational Materials (GEM): Gateway to 21st Century Skills

Supported by the National Education Association (NEA). Includes lesson plans for K-12 curricula. Links to freely available material, but some material

Getty Arts Education

Provides teacher program information and lesson plans

GoogleScholar

 

Find Books:

Library Online Catalog -

Links to other library catalogs
World Cat, Melvyl and more!

Subject terms:

Art -- Study and teaching (Elementary)

Arts -- Study and teaching (Elementary)

Find Articles:

Periodicals/Journals: Full Text and Indexes

AcademicSearch Elite (EbscoHost)

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Art Index with Full Text

Corresponds to the Art Index (print). Contains articles and reproductions of works of art that appear in 400+ indexed periodicals 1984 to the present. Indexes major English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as European periodicals in a number of different languages. Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews. Limited to 12 users at one time.

ERIC (Late 1960's-)

A database that indexes and abstracts 750 journal titles (EJ) and thousands of reports and documents (ED) in education.

Location: Online through CSA,  EBSCO, FirstSearch and EricWizard (Wizard is free to the public)

OneFile (InfoTrac)

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Humanities Abstracts with Full Text

Abstracts 400 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature, 1984- Limited to 12 users at one time.

Project Muse

A full-text resource of journal articles. It includes 167 full-text titles of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

JStor Journal Storage Project

Archival collection of scholarly articles from various academic displines, including Anthropology, History, Political Science, and Sociology, the most recent articles are at least 2-5 years old

Writing Guides

A short guide to writing about art/ Sylvan Barnet.

Location: Reserve Books 2HOUR N7476 .B37 2005

Writing about art / Henry M. Sayre

Location: FLOOR3 BOOK N7476 .S29 2002

Writing for the visual arts / Mashey Maurice Bernstein.

Location: FLOOR3 PE479.A76 B47 2001