ART 401: History of Native American Art

Native North American Art book cover

Reference Resources | Find Books | Find Articles | Internet Resources |  Writing Guides

Reference Resources

Art collections on the Web | Online Handbooks & Stylebooks | Encyclopedias |

 

Art Collections on the Web 

IMAGE Project (CSU)

IMAGE provides access to CSU collections of images used for education and research. The collections currently available include CIELO (3,000 art and architecture images for 1st year courses), and the World Art Database (24,000 images of art and culture from around the world).

ArtStor

Image database containing over 500,000 images of art and cultural material from around the world

 

Encyclopedias    

Continuum encyclopedia of native art : worldview, symbolism, and culture in Africa... native North America / Hope B. Werness New York : Continuum, c2000

Location: Reference Room E98.A7 W49 2000

Grove's Dictionary of art (34 v.)

Location: Reference Room N31.D5 1996 and online

Encyclopedia of world art (17 v. 1968)

Location: Reference Room N31 E533

Encyclopedia of North American Indians / Frederick E. Hoxie, editor. Boston : Houghton Mifflin Company, c1996-

Location: Reference Room E76.2 .E53 1996; Also available through Netlibrary

Gale encyclopedia of Native American tribes / edited by Sharon Malinowski ... [et al.]. Detroit : Gale, c1998

Location Reference Room E77 .G15 1998 v.1-4

Handbook of North American Indians / William C. Sturtevant, general editor. Washington : Smithsonian Institution : for sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1978-

Location: 2nd Floor and Reference Room E77 .H25

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Art (5 v.)

Location: FLOOR3 N33 M33

Find Books
Check the Library Catalog

Library Catalog
Oviatt Library's catalog

Subject headings: You may need to use a variety of techniques to find what you need; you may need to search for general books rather than books on a specific tribe. For example: Indian baskets -- [in a geographic area] or Cherokee baskets.

Links to other library catalogs
World Cat, Melvyl and more!

Find Articles
Periodicals/Journals:

Indexes

Anthropology Plus (RLG)

Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index combined

Location: Internet

Arts and Humanities [Citation] Search (AHSearch)

Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more from over 1,3000 journals. Provides searches for "cited" authors. Search author names: Last name, First Initial. Names as subjects, Search author names: Last name, FirstName

Location: Online

Location: FLOOR3 Z5937 .R4 Incomplete holdings. 1910-1937,1960-1964;1967-1989.

 

Full-Text

AnthroSource

"Complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003 ... Current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications."

Art Index (1984-) with Full Text (1997-)

Corresponds to the Art Index (print). Contains articles and reproductions of works of art that appear in 400+ indexed periodicals 1984 to the present. Indexes major English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as European periodicals in a number of different languages. Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews. Limited to 12 users at one time.

AcademicSearch Elite (EbscoHost)

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Ethnic News Watch

Full-text database of selected newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States. Alternative to mainstream media so gives a different perspective

InfoTrac OneFile

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Humanities Abstracts with Full Text

Abstracts 400 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature, 1984- Limited to 12 users at one time.

Human Relations Area Files

Data and publications on a variety of cultures world-wide.

Location: Microfiche 4th Floor; Partially available on line through eHRAF.

JStor Journal Storage Project

Archival collection of scholarly articles from various academic displines, including Anthropology, History, Political Science, and Sociology, the most recent articles are at least 2-5 years old. Use the Advance screen and search terms in title, abstract in articles. If the result is not sufficient, search the entire article not just the title and abstract. However, double with the ethnic group or time period or geographic region.

Project Muse

A full-text resource of journal articles. It includes 167 full-text titles of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics from over 20 not-for-profit scholarly presses.

 

Writing Guides

A short guide to writing about art/ Sylvan Barnet.

Location: Reserve Books 2HOUR N7476 .B37 2003

Writing about art / Henry M. Sayre

Location: FLOOR3 BOOK N7476 .S29 2002

Writing for the visual arts / Mashey Maurice Bernstein.

Location: FLOOR3 PE479.A76 B47 2001