Mary Wahl (Woods)
Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video:
Using Google Scholar
You can find items the Oviatt Library owns using Google Scholar's "Find Text" capabilities. To activate the capabilities for your browser:
- Select Settings (near the top of the page), then Library links from the left menu
- In the search box, type "CSUN" and click the magnifying glass to perform search
- Check the box next to "CSU, Northridge (SFX Find It at CSUN)"
- Click Save
After performing a search in Google Scholar, select the SFX Find It at CSUN link (to the right of the article) or the SFX: Additional Options link (located below the article description) for access to online full text, Oviatt Library holdings information, and Interlibrary Loan.
Can't find what you're looking for? Try using WorldCat.org to find items in libraries near you.
What is WorldCat?
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. Think of it as a giant library catalog!
WorldCat lets you:
- Search many libraries at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby
- Locate a variety of material, including books, music, and videos
- Find digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is commonly used within the liberal arts and humanities. The Library has several copies of the MLA Handbook in print.
Here are other resources you may find useful while formatting your paper:
- MLA Style Guide ("Quick & Easy" version) by Eric Garcia
- MLA Style Guide (long version) by Eric Garcia
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL Purdue
- MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (print version at the Library)
- Sample MLA-Style Annotated Bibliography (PDF) by Dr. Karin Duran
- Sample MLA-Style Paper from OWL Purdue
As you begin your research, try brainstorming some broader, narrower and/or related keywords to help with your searches. These keywords can come from your own knowledge of your topic or from searching background information.
Let's say I am in the beginning stages of my research on tapa made in Tonga.
|Keyword 1||Keyword 2|
|bark cloth OR barkcloth||Polynesia|
|vernacular/local terms and/or spellings?||Oceania|
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the Library to get the book you need via Interlibrary Loan.
What is InterLibrary Loan?
Interlibrary Loan (or ILL) is a service provided to obtain materials which are needed for research but are not available in the Oviatt Library.
How do I make ILL requests?
Requests are made through the automated Interlibrary Loan System. See the Interlibrary Loan page for more info.
Citation Formatting Tools
Following are tools and resources helpful in managing citations:
EndNote - online tool for collecting, managing, and creating a bibliography from your citations.
See Managing Citations Using EndNote Web for more information on this tool.
EasyBib - MLA style bibliography composer
Generate a bibliography in Microsoft Word
Son of Citation Machine - MLA, APA, Chicago and Turabian citation style composer
Here are resources you may find useful while formatting your paper:
- Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide from the official Chicago online manual (scroll down for sample citations)
- Chicago Manual of Style guide from OWL Purdue (look for types of resources to cite along the lefthand side, such as Books, Periodicals, Web Sources, etc.)
- CMS NB Sample Paper from OWL Purdue (NB means Notes and Bibliography)
- Stylebook - What is Chicago Style? from Illinois Valley Community College (look for Format, Creating a Bibliography, etc. along the lefthand side)
Writing About Art
Here are some selected books in the Library on writing about art:
- Barnet, S. (2011). A Short Guide to Writing About Art. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Pearson/Prentice Hall.
- Bernstein, M. , & Yatchisin, G. (2001). Writing for the Visual Arts. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall.
- Hudson, S. (2015). The Art of Writing About Art. Stamford, CT: Cengage.
- Sayre, H. (2002). Writing About Art. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall.