Anthropology Resources Short list
- A short guide to writing about art/ Sylvan Barnet.
- Location: Reference N7476 .B37 2011
- Writing about art / Henry M. Sayre
- Location: FLOOR3 BOOK N7476 .S29 2002
- Writing for the visual arts / Mashey Maurice Bernstein.
- Location: FLOOR3 PE479.A76 B47 2001
Art Resources: Short list
- Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
- Art Index (H.W. Wilson)Art Index (H.W. Wilson)
- Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
- Bibliography of the History of Art (Getty)Bibliography of the History of Art (Getty)
- JSTOR Art & Art HistoryJSTOR Art & Art History
- Oxford Art OnlineOxford Art Online
- Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
- JSTOR ArchaeologyJSTOR Archaeology
- JSTOR Architecture & Architectural HistoryJSTOR Architecture & Architectural History
- JSTOR Classical StudiesJSTOR Classical Studies
- Berg Fashion Library
- eBook Collection (EBSCO)eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Developing a Search Strategy
Once you have chosen a topic, write it down in the form of a question or brief statement:
What was the influence of the Ottoman Empire on the art & architecture in Venice?
Underline the key words and phrases that are most specific to your topic.
What is the relationship between Ottoman and Venice?
Write down each key word or phrase, and underneath it, list synonyms or related terms.
Use a dictionary or thesaurus to find additional keywords. For example:
|Turkish Turk||Northern Italy||painting architecture sculpture|
Think about the singular, plural, and other endings of words and write down the root of the word.
Art Architecture arts artists church churches basilica
Write down your key words and phrases along with their synonyms in the form of a Boolean search statement. Use the root word, and truncate it with an asterisk (*). Note: Different databases use different truncation or wildcard symbols. Check the database's help page. For example:
(Art or painting or sculpture) and (turk* or ottoman) and (church* basilica)