ART 413: Chinese Art

avant-gardist Yue Minjun

Jump to: Reference Resources |Find Books | Find Articles | Internet Resources |  
Writing Guides

Reference Resources

Dictionaries: Artists | Encyclopedias| Online Handbooks & Stylebooks

Dictionaries: Artists Names

Union List of Artists Names (ULAN) Important resource for discovery of variant spellings of artist's names.

Encyclopedias

Keywords:art and encyclopedias

Grove's Dictionary of art (34 v.)

Location: REFRM N31.D5 1996 and online as part of Oxford Art Online: Chinese Art

Encyclopedia of architecture (5 v.)

Location: REFRM NA31 E59 1988.

Encyclopedia of world art (17 v. 1968)

Location: REFRM N31 E533

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Art (5 v.)

Location: FLOOR3 N33 M33

Find Books:

Subject Headings

  • Art, Chinese -- 20th century
  • Arts, Chinese -- 20th century
  • Painting, Chinese -- 20th century
  • Photography -- China
  • Wood-engraving, Chinese -- 20th century

Call Numbers: N1-NX (Art); TR (Photography)

Getty Vocabularies:

 

Find Articles & Images:

Periodicals/Journals: Indexes & Articles

Artstor

 

The Bibliography of the History of Art (1990-1997) (Getty) includes International Bibliography of Art (IBA) 2008-2009.

Bibliography of the History of Art. (BHA) abstracts and indexes current publications in the history of art. BHA is the successor to RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art, File 191) and RAA (Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie). BHA covers the current literature of European art from late Antiquity (4th c. AD) to the present and American art from the European discoveries to the present.The database corresponds to the print bibliography of the same name. Inclusive coverage: RAA: 1973-1989; RILA: 1975-1989. Search author names: Last name FirstInitial,

 

GoogleScholar

Periodicals/Journals: Full Text

AcademicSearch Elite (EbscoHost)

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Art Index with Full Text

Corresponds to the Art Index (print). Contains articles and reproductions of works of art that appear in 400+ indexed periodicals 1984 to the present. Indexes major English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as European periodicals in a number of different languages. Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews. Limited to 12 users at one time.

Dissertation & Theses Online (Proquest)

Dissertation Abstracts Online with full text, is a definitive subject, title, and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Selected Masters theses have been included since 1962. In addition, since 1988.

General OneFile (InfoTrac)

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Humanities Abstracts with Full Text

Abstracts 400 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature, 1984- Limited to 12 users at one time.

Project Muse

A full-text resource of journal articles. It includes 167 full-text titles of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

JStor Journal Storage Project

Archival collection of scholarly articles from various academic displines, including Anthropology, History, Political Science, and Sociology, the most recent articles are at least 2-5 years old

Web Resources

Writing Guides

A short guide to writing about art/ Sylvan Barnet.

Location: Reserve Books 2HOUR N7476 .B37 2005

Writing about art / Henry M. Sayre

Location: FLOOR3 BOOK N7476 .S29 2002

Writing for the visual arts / Mashey Maurice Bernstein.

Location: FLOOR3 PE479.A76 B47 2001