Mary Wahl (Woods)
Topics We'll Cover Today
Before you start your research, brainstorm some broader, narrower and/or related keywords to help with your research. These keywords can come from your own knowledge of your topic or from searching background information.
Let's say I am in the beginning stages of my research on portraiture on coins from the Roman Republic.
|Keyword 1||Keyword 2||Keyword 3||Keyword 4|
Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video:
Boolean operators are words (or, and, not) used to connect search terms to expand (or) or narrow (and, not) a search within a database to locate relevant information. Boolean operators are also called logical operators or connectors.
It is helpful to diagram the effects of these operators:
women or females
|Or retrieves records that contain any of the search terms. It expands the search. Therefore, use "or" in between terms that have the same meaning (synonyms) or equal value to the search.|
women and media
|And retrieves records that contain all of the search terms. It narrows or limits the search. Therefore, use "and" in between terms that are required to make the search specific.|
image not weight
|Not eliminates records that contain a search term. It narrows or limits the search. Therefore, use "not" in front of a term to ensure that the search will not include that term. Warning: Some databases use "and not" instead of "not." Check the database help screen.|
What's a Bibliography?
A bibliography is a list of all of the sources that you consult in the process of researching your work. It should follow a specific citation style (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.). Each citation includes elements such as:
- Author(s)' names
- Date published
- Name and place of publisher
The goal is to provide enough information for your readers to locate the resources you cite.
Citation Formatting Tools
Following are tools and resources helpful in managing citations:
EndNote - online tool for collecting, managing, and creating a bibliography from your citations.
See Managing Citations Using EndNote Web for more information on this tool.
EasyBib - MLA style bibliography composer
"References" built-in feature in Microsoft Word
Son of Citation Machine - MLA, APA, Chicago and Turabian citation style composer
C. Coelius Caldus. 53 BC. AR Denarius (18mm, 3.85 g, 10h). Rome mint. Retrieved February 26, 2015 from Classical Numismatic Group, Inc., WikiMedia Commons.
Recommended Reference Sources
These two online reference sources are great places to start:
Oxford Art Online
Includes The Dictionary of Art; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works in a wide range of subject areas.
- Sage eReference
Includes over 80 online encyclopedias and handbooks primarily in the social sciences.
When you search for resources, you're likely going to find a lot of information... but is it reliable? You will need to determine this for yourself, and the CRAAP Test can help. Try evaluating the resource on the following five factors:
- Currency - is it current? Is currency important for the topic?
- Relevance - is it relevant to your assignment? Who is the audience?
- Authority - is the author/creator an expert on the subject?
- Accuracy - is the information supported by evidence?
- Purpose - is it biased? Is the resource trying to sell you on something?
- Most databases allow for a symbol to be used at the end of a word to retrieve variant endings of that word. This is known as truncation.
- Using truncation will broaden your search. For example,
bank* will retrieve: bank or banks or banking or banker or bankruptcy, etc.
- Databases and Internet search engines use different symbols to truncate. In general, most of the Library's databases use the asterisk (*) ; however, the exclamation point (!) is used in LexisNexis. Check the database help screen to find the correct truncation symbol.
- Be careful using truncation. Truncating after too few letters will retrieve terms that are not relevant. For example:
cat* will also retrieve cataclysm, catacomb, catalepsy, catalog, etc.
It's best to use the boolean operator "or" in these instances (cat or cats).
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the Library to get the book you need via Interlibrary Loan.
What is InterLibrary Loan?
Interlibrary Loan (or ILL) is a service provided to obtain materials which are needed for research but are not available in the Oviatt Library.
How do I make ILL requests?
Requests are made through the automated Interlibrary Loan System. See the Interlibrary Loan page for more info.
Can't find what you're looking for? Try using WorldCat.org to find items in libraries near you.
What is WorldCat?
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. Think of it as a giant library catalog!
WorldCat lets you:
- Search many libraries at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby
- Locate a variety of material, including books, music, and videos
- Find digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.
When following guides or "cheat sheets", remember to double-check your citations against the most recent MLA Handbook publication before turning in your paper.
Here are other resources you may find useful:
- MLA Style Guide ("Quick & Easy" version) by Eric Garcia
- MLA Style Guide (long version) by Eric Garcia
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide from Purdue OWL
- MLA handbook for writers of research papers (print version at the Library)
- Sample MLA-Style Annotated Bibliography (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- Sample MLA-Style Paper from Purdue OWL