Art 423: History of Early Christian and Medieval Art

Emperor Otto Presenting a Model of His Church  962-968

Reference Resources | Find Books | Find Articles | Internet Resources |  Writing Guides

Reference Resources

Bibliographies |Dictionaries: Artists | Dictionaries: Other | Online Handbooks & Stylebooks | Encyclopedias |

Print Bibliographies 

Subject words: [topic] bibliography

Early Christian and Byzantine architecture : an annotated bibliography and historiography

Location: Floor 3 NA360 K454 1992

Late antiquity : a guide to the postclassical world / G.W. Bowersock, Peter Brown, Oleg Grabar, editors.

Location: Reserve Room DE5 .L29 1999

Medieval iconography : a research guide / John B. Friedman and Jessica M. Wegmann

Location: Reserve Room: NX449 .F75 1998

Dictionaries: Artists Names 

Subject words: art dictionaries

Allgemeines Lexicon der bildenden Künstler : von Antike bis zur gegenwart / Thieme-Becker. 37 v. 1907.

Location: REFRM N40 T42

Dictionary of painters and engravers / Bryan's

Location: FLOOR3 N40 B945

Dictionnaire des peintures, sculptures, dessinateurs, et graveurs / Benezit.

Location: REFRM-FLOOR3 N40 B47

Index to artistic biography (Havlice)

Location: REFRM N40 H38

Union List of Artists Names (ULAN)

Dictionaries: other

Subject words: art dictionaries

The concise Oxford dictionary of art terms / Michael Clarke.

Location: REFRM N33 .C575 2001

From abacus to Zeus : a handbook of art history / James Smith Pierce.

Location: REFRM N33 .P5 2001

Oxford classical dictionary

Location: REFRM DE5 .O9 1996

Oxford dictionary of Byzantium

REFRM DF521 .O93 1991 3 v.

Yale dictionary of art and artists /Erika Langmuir.

Location: REFRM N33 .L353 2000

See also Art and Architecture Thesaurus and Getty Provenance Index

Encyclopedias  

 Subject words: [art or architecture or specific topic] and encyclopedias

Art of the Middle Ages / Chris Witcombe

Grove's Dictionary of art (34 v.)

Location: REFRM N31.D5 1996 and online

Encyclopedia of architecture (5 v.)

Location: REFRM NA31 E59 1988.

Encyclopedia of world art (17 v. 1968)

Location: REFRM N31 E533

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Art (5 v.)

Location: FLOOR3 N33 M33

Find Books:

Library Online Catalog -

Links to other library catalogs
World Cat, Melvyl and more!

Find Articles:

Periodicals/Journals: Indexes & Articles

L'Année philologique

Indexes publications covering prehistoric to medieval and includes classical studies literature, including classical authors, linguistics, papyrology, art, archaeology, history, and philosophy. It indexes about 1,000 journals as well as congresses and Festschriften and book reviews. Continues the title Dix Années de Bibliographie Classique (1914-1923). Arranged first by subject headings and subheadings, and then alphabetically by author. v.1 (1924)- Holdings incomplete.

Location: . FLOOR3 REFSER Z7016.M35A, v. 41 (1970- current). Volumes 1-40 in Reserve Book Room and Online

Arts and Humanities [Citation] Search (AHSearch) (FirstSearch 2)

Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more from over 1,3000 journals. Provides searches for "cited" authors. Search author names: Last name, First Initial. Names as subjects, Search author names: Last name, FirstName

Location: Online

The Bibliography of the History of Art (1991-) (RLG)

Bibliography of the History of Art. (BHA) abstracts and indexes current publications in the history of art. BHA is the successor to RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art, File 191) and RAA (Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie). BHA covers the current literature of European art from late Antiquity (4th c. AD) to the present and American art from the European discoveries to the present.The database corresponds to the print bibliography of the same name. Inclusive coverage: RAA: 1973-1989; RILA: 1975-1989. Search author names: Last name FirstInitial,

Location: REFRM Z5937 .B53 and online

GoogleScholar

Periodicals/Journals: Full Text

AcademicSearch Elite (EbscoHost)

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Art Index with Full Text

Corresponds to the Art Index (print). Contains articles and reproductions of works of art that appear in 400+ indexed periodicals 1984 to the present. Indexes major English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as European periodicals in a number of different languages. Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews. Limited to 12 users at one time.

OneFile (InfoTrac)

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Humanities Abstracts with Full Text

Abstracts 400 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature, 1984- Limited to 12 users at one time.

Project Muse

A full-text resource of journal articles. It includes 167 full-text titles of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

JStor Journal Storage Project

Archival collection of scholarly articles from various academic displines, including Anthropology, History, Political Science, and Sociology, the most recent articles are at least 2-5 years old

Writing Guides

A short guide to writing about art/ Sylvan Barnet.

Location: Reserve Books 2HOUR N7476 .B37 2005

Writing about art / Henry M. Sayre

Location: FLOOR3 BOOK N7476 .S29 2002

Writing for the visual arts / Mashey Maurice Bernstein.

Location: FLOOR3 PE479.A76 B47 2001