Art 425: Italian Renaissance Art and ART 428: History of Northern Renaissance Art

Two Leaves from the Munich-Montserrat Hours, Getty Museum Simon Bening Flemish, Bruges, about 1535 - 1540

Reference | Find Books | Article indexes | Full text | Writing Guides

Reference

Dictionaries: Artists Names

Allgemeines Lexicon der bildenden Künstler : von Antike bis zur gegenwart / Thieme-Becker. 37 v. 1907.

Location: Reference Room N40 T42

Dictionary of painters and engravers / Bryan's

Location: FLOOR3 N40 B945

Dictionnaire des peintures, sculptures, dessinateurs, et graveurs / Benezit.

Location: Reference Room-FLOOR3 N40 B47

Index to artistic biography (Havlice)

Location: Reference Room N40 H38

Union List of Artists Names (ULAN)

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks

Find Books:

Library of Congress Subject Headings:

Art, Renaissance--[place] (N6370-N6374)
(Religious art: N6370)

Art, Renaissance -- Europe, Northern

Painting, Flemish ; Painting, Dutch

Painting, Renaissance ND170, ND615

Painting, Italian

Painting, German

Little masters (Artists)

Sculpture, Renaissance--[Place]

Decoration and ornament, Architectural -- [place]
Decoration and ornament, Renaissance
NA3460 or by country NA3542-3561

Journal Articles: Indexes and Abstracts (Online & Print)

Arts and Humanities [Citation] Search (AHSearch) (FirstSearch 2)

Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more from over 1,3000 journals. Provides searches for "cited" authors. Search author names: Last name, First Initial. Names as subjects, Search author names: Last name, FirstName
Location: Online

The Bibliography of the History of Art (1991-) (RLG)

Bibliography of the History of Art. (BHA) abstracts and indexes current publications in the history of art. BHA is the successor to RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art, File 191) and RAA (Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie). BHA covers the current literature of European art from late Antiquity (4th c. AD) to the present and American art from the European discoveries to the present.The database corresponds to the print bibliography of the same name. Inclusive coverage: RAA: 1973-1989; RILA: 1975-1989. Search author names: Last name FirstInitial,

Location: Reference Room Z5937 .B53 and online

GoogleScholar

Journal Articles : Full Text

AcademicSearch Elite (EbscoHost)

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Art Index with Full Text

Corresponds to the Art Index (print). Contains articles and reproductions of works of art that appear in 400+ indexed periodicals 1984 to the present. Indexes major English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as European periodicals in a number of different languages. Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews. Limited to 12 users at one time.

OneFile (InfoTrac)

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Humanities Abstracts with Full Text

Abstracts 400 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature, 1984- Limited to 12 users at one time.

Project Muse

A full-text resource of journal articles. It includes 167 full-text titles of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

JStor Journal Storage Project

Archival collection of scholarly articles from various academic displines, including Anthropology, History, Political Science, and Sociology, the most recent articles are at least 2-5 years old

Writing Guides

A short guide to writing about art/ Sylvan Barnet.

Location: Reserve Books 2HOUR N7476 .B37 2005

Writing about art / Henry M. Sayre

Location: FLOOR3 BOOK N7476 .S29 2002

Writing for the visual arts / Mashey Maurice Bernstein.

Location: FLOOR3 PE479.A76 B47 2001