ART 619 Special Topic: Masks and Masquerading

Face Mask Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco. No. 1996.12.12.

Reference Resources | Find Books | Find Articles | Internet Resources |  Writing Guides

Reference Resources

Art collections on the Web | Online Handbooks & Stylebooks | Encyclopedias |

Art Collections on the Web 

 

AMICO

Art Museum Image Consortium (AMICO) is an not-for-profit organization of institutions with collections of art, collaborating to enable educational use of museum multimedia.

IMAGE Project (CSU)

IMAGE provides access to CSU collections of images used for education and research. The collections currently available include CIELO (3,000 art and architecture images for 1st year courses), and the World Art Database (24,000 images of art and culture from around the world).

Encyclopedias

Grove's Dictionary of art (34 v.)

Location: REFRM N31.D5 1996 and online

Encyclopedia of architecture (5 v.)

Location: REFRM NA31 E59 1988.

Encyclopedia of world art (17 v. 1968)

Location: REFRM N31 E533

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Art (5 v.)

Location: FLOOR3 N33 M33

Find Books

Library Catalog -
Oviatt Library's catalog

Links to other library catalogs
World Cat, Melvyl and more!

Search for books: Subject: Masks or Subject Masquerades.

Find Articles: Periodicals/Journals:

Indexes

L'Année philologique

Indexes publications covering prehistoric to medieval and includes classical studies literature, including classical authors, linguistics, papyrology, art, archaeology, history, and philosophy. It indexes about 1,000 journals as well as congresses and Festschriften and book reviews. Continues the title Dix Années de Bibliographie Classique (1914-1923). Arranged first by subject headings and subheadings, and then alphabetically by author. v.1 (1924)- Holdings incomplete.

Location: . FLOOR3 REFSER Z7016.M35A, v. 41 (1970- current). Volumes 1-40 in Reserve Book Room and Online

Search: mask* use other criteria to limit by language and date

Anthropological Index (Late 1960's-)

Index to anthropological articles/ RAI. European focus

Location: Online and print Anthropological Index REF 4th Floor Z 5111 .R67)

Anthropological Literature Plus (RLG)

Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index combined

Location: Internet

Search Masks or Masquerades

Arts and Humanities [Citation] Search (AHSearch) (FirstSearch 2)

Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more from over 1,3000 journals. Provides searches for "cited" authors. Search author names: Last name, First Initial. Names as subjects, Search author names: Last name, FirstName

Location: Online

ARTbibliographies Modern [ DIALOG File 56]

An index to articles and book reviews in 400 English-language journals in anthropology, economics, geography, political science, psychology and sociology. Indexing started in 1983, abstracts from 1994- Requires Librarian assistance.

The Bibliography of the History of Art (1991-) (RLG)

Bibliography of the History of Art. (BHA) abstracts and indexes current publications in the history of art. BHA is the successor to RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art, File 191) and RAA (Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie). BHA covers the current literature of European art from late Antiquity (4th c. AD) to the present and American art from the European discoveries to the present.The database corresponds to the print bibliography of the same name. Inclusive coverage: RAA: 1973-1989; RILA: 1975-1989. Search author names: Last name FirstInitial,

Location: REFRM Z5937 .B53 and online

Search Masks or Masque

Repertoire d'art et d'archeologie (RAA)

Abstracts feature articles, book reviews, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction (including dramas and poems), and reviews of plays and television and radio programs. Search author names: Last name, FirstName,

Location: FLOOR3 Z5937 .R4 Incomplete holdings. 1910-1937,1960-1964;1967-1989.

RILA [ DIALOG File 191] (Art Literature International) Répertoire international de la litterature de l'art : RILA = International repertory of the literature of art (1975-1989)

Abstracts and indexes publications from 1975-1989 in the history of art . The database was produced by RILA, the International Repertory of the Literature of Art, and corresponds to the printed publication, RILA. More than half of the records contain informative abstracts. All aspects of Western art are covered from Late Antiquity (4th Century) to the present. Merged with RAA to form BHA. Search author names: Last name FirstInitial,

Location: online ; requires Librarian assistance

Periodicals/Journals: Full Text

AcademicSearch Elite (EbscoHost)

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Art Index with Full Text

Corresponds to the Art Index (print). Contains articles and reproductions of works of art that appear in 400+ indexed periodicals 1984 to the present. Indexes major English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as European periodicals in a number of different languages. Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews. Limited to 12 users at one time.

Search Masks or Carnival masks or Death masks or Life masks or Masquerades

OneFile (InfoTrac)

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Humanities Abstracts with Full Text

Abstracts 400 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature, 1984- Limited to 12 users at one time. Search mask* or Masquerades ; limit to Scholarly / peer-reviewed journals

Project Muse

A full-text resource of journal articles. It includes 167 full-text titles of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

JStor Journal Storage Project

Archival collection of scholarly articles from various academic displines, including Anthropology, History, Political Science, and Sociology, the most recent articles are at least 2-5 years old

Writing Guides

A short guide to writing about art/ Sylvan Barnet.

Location: Reserve Books 2HOUR N7476 .B37 2003

Writing about art / Henry M. Sayre

Location: FLOOR3 BOOK N7476 .S29 2002

Writing for the visual arts / Mashey Maurice Bernstein.

Location: FLOOR3 PE479.A76 B47 2001