ART 619 Special Topics: Research Methods and Historiography of Art History

St. Jerome in his Study by Antonello da Messina

Jump to: Reference Resources | Image Resources | Find Books | Find Articles | Internet Resources Writing Guides

Reference Resources

Dictionaries: Artists | Dictionaries: Other | Online Handbooks & Stylebooks | Encyclopedias |

Dictionaries: Artists Names

Allgemeines Lexicon der bildenden Künstler : von Antike bis zur gegenwart / Thieme-Becker. 37 v. 1907.

Location: REFRM N40 T42

Dictionary of painters and engravers / Bryan's

Location: FLOOR3 N40 B945

Dictionnaire des peintures, sculptures, dessinateurs, et graveurs / Benezit.

Location: REFRM-FLOOR3 N40 B47

Index to artistic biography (Havlice)

Location: REFRM N40 H38

Union List of Artists Names (ULAN)

Encyclopedias

Keywords:art and encyclopedias

Grove's Dictionary of art (34 v.)

Location: REFRM N31.D5 1996 and online

Encyclopedia of architecture (5 v.)

Location: REFRM NA31 E59 1988.

Encyclopedia of world art (17 v. 1968)

Location: REFRM N31 E533

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Art (5 v.)

Location: FLOOR3 N33 M33

Image Resources

ArtStor (images)

Find Books:

 

Call Numbers: N1-NX (Art); TR (Photography)

Getty Vocabularies:

 

Find Articles: See also Find Resources by Discipline

Periodicals/Journals: Indexes & Articles

L'Année philologique

Indexes publications covering prehistoric to medieval and includes classical studies literature, including classical authors, linguistics, papyrology, art, archaeology, history, and philosophy. It indexes about 1,000 journals as well as congresses and Festschriften and book reviews. Continues the title Dix Années de Bibliographie Classique (1914-1923). Arranged first by subject headings and subheadings, and then alphabetically by author. v.1 (1924)- Holdings incomplete.

Location: . FLOOR3 REFSER Z7016.M35A, v. 41 (1970- current). Volumes 1-40 in Reserve Book Room and Online

Architecture Database [DIALOG FILE 179]

The Architecture Database is the online version of the print publication Architectural Publications Index (API) compiled by the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects. The literature indexed includes articles, interviews, obituaries, and biographies in more than 400 current periodicals from over 45 countries, as well as some 2,000 cataloged items from all over the world, including monographs, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogs, pamphlets, and some technical literature. Search author names: Last name FirstInitial,

Location: online (requires mediation with Librarian)

Arts and Humanities [Citation] Search (AHSearch) (FirstSearch 2)

Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more from over 1,3000 journals. Provides searches for "cited" authors. Search author names: Last name, First Initial. Names as subjects, Search author names: Last name, FirstName

Location: Online

ARTbibliographies Modern [ DIALOG File 56]

An index to articles and book reviews in 400 English-language journals in anthropology, economics, geography, political science, psychology and sociology. Indexing started in 1983, abstracts from 1994-

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations providing an excellent source of biographical data; often the only information available for less-published architects. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated weekly.

Location: ASRS Z5945 .C649

The Bibliography of the History of Art (1991-) (RLG)

Bibliography of the History of Art. (BHA) abstracts and indexes current publications in the history of art. BHA is the successor to RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art, File 191) and RAA (Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie). BHA covers the current literature of European art from late Antiquity (4th c. AD) to the present and American art from the European discoveries to the present.The database corresponds to the print bibliography of the same name. Inclusive coverage: RAA: 1973-1989; RILA: 1975-1989. Search author names: Last name FirstInitial,

Location: REFRM Z5937 .B53 and online

Dissertation Abstracts Online [FIRSTSEARCH2]

Dissertation Abstracts Online is a definitive subject, title, and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Selected Masters theses have been included since 1962. In addition, since 1988.

Location: online

Repertoire d'art et d'archeologie (RAA)

Abstracts feature articles, book reviews, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction (including dramas and poems), and reviews of plays and television and radio programs. Search author names: Last name, FirstName,

Location: FLOOR3 Z5937 .R4 Incomplete holdings. 1910-1937,1960-1964;1967-1989.

RILA [ DIALOG File 191] (Art Literature International) Répertoire international de la litterature de l'art : RILA = International repertory of the literature of art (1975-1989)

Abstracts and indexes publications from 1975-1989 in the history of art . The database was produced by RILA, the International Repertory of the Literature of Art, and corresponds to the printed publication, RILA. More than half of the records contain informative abstracts. All aspects of Western art are covered from Late Antiquity (4th Century) to the present. Merged with RAA to form BHA. Search author names: Last name FirstInitial,

Location: online

GoogleScholar

Periodicals/Journals: Full Text

AcademicSearch Elite (EbscoHost)

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Art Index with Full Text

Corresponds to the Art Index (print). Contains articles and reproductions of works of art that appear in 400+ indexed periodicals 1984 to the present. Indexes major English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as European periodicals in a number of different languages. Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews. Limited to 12 users at one time.

OneFile (InfoTrac)

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Humanities Abstracts with Full Text

Abstracts 400 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature, 1984- Limited to 12 users at one time.

Project Muse

A full-text resource of journal articles. It includes 167 full-text titles of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

JStor Journal Storage Project

Archival collection of scholarly articles from various academic displines, including Anthropology, History, Political Science, and Sociology, the most recent articles are at least 2-5 years old

Writing Guides

A short guide to writing about art/ Sylvan Barnet.

Location: Reserve Books 2HOUR N7476 .B37 2005

CSUN Graduate Studies Thesis Guidelines

Writing about art / Henry M. Sayre

Location: FLOOR3 BOOK N7476 .S29 2002

Writing for the visual arts / Mashey Maurice Bernstein.

Location: FLOOR3 PE479.A76 B47 2001

Writing the Successful Thesis and Dissertation

Location: Safari ebook