Fiber Art and Fabric Design

Strolling in a flower garden by Michiko Shima, silk and cotton, no date

Reference Resources |Find Books | Find Articles | Internet Resources| Writing Guides

Reference Resources

Dictionaries: General| Encyclopedias |

Dictionaries: general

Subject words: [fiber or fabric] and dictionaries

The concise Oxford dictionary of art terms / Michael Clarke.

Location: REFRM N33 .C575 2001

Fairchild's Dictionary of Textiles

Location: Reference Room TS 1309 .F34 1996

From abacus to Zeus : a handbook of art history / James Smith Pierce.

Location: REFRM N33 .P5 2001

Yale dictionary of art and artists /Erika Langmuir.

Location: REFRM N33 .L353 2000

Encyclopedias

   
Subject words: [fiber or fabric] and encyclopedias

Grove's Dictionary of art (34 v.)

Location: REFRM N31.D5 1996 and online

Encyclopedia of chemical technology 26 vol.

Location: Reference Room TP9 .E685 1992

Encyclopedia of textiles

Location: Reference Room TS 1309 .J47 1992

Encyclopedia of textiles

Location: Reference Room TS 1445 .A18 1980

Encyclopedia of textiles, fibers, and nonwoven fabrics

Location: Reference Room TS 1309 .E53 1984

Encyclopedia of world art (17 v. 1968)

Location: REFRM N31 E533

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Art (5 v.)

Location: FLOOR3 N33 M33

Find Books:

Library Catalog -

Links to other library catalogs
World Cat, Melvyl and more!

Find Articles:

Periodicals/Journals: Indexes

L'Année philologique

Indexes publications covering prehistoric to medieval and includes classical studies literature, including classical authors, linguistics, papyrology, art, archaeology, history, and philosophy. It indexes about 1,000 journals as well as congresses and Festschriften and book reviews. Continues the title Dix Années de Bibliographie Classique (1914-1923). Arranged first by subject headings and subheadings, and then alphabetically by author. v.1 (1924)- Holdings incomplete.

Location: . FLOOR3 REFSER Z7016.M35A, v. 41 (1970- current). Volumes 1-40 in Reserve Book Room and Online

Arts and Humanities [Citation] Search (AHSearch) (FirstSearch 2)

Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more from over 1,3000 journals. Provides searches for "cited" authors. Search author names: Last name, First Initial. Names as subjects, Search author names: Last name, FirstName

Location: Online

The Bibliography of the History of Art (1991-) (RLG)

Bibliography of the History of Art. (BHA) abstracts and indexes current publications in the history of art. BHA is the successor to RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art, File 191) and RAA (Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie). BHA covers the current literature of European art from late Antiquity (4th c. AD) to the present and American art from the European discoveries to the present.The database corresponds to the print bibliography of the same name. Inclusive coverage: RAA: 1973-1989; RILA: 1975-1989. Search author names: Last name FirstInitial,

Location: REFRM Z5937 .B53 and online

Dissertation Abstracts Online [FIRSTSEARCH2]

Dissertation Abstracts Online is a definitive subject, title, and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Selected Masters theses have been included since 1962. In addition, since 1988.

Location: online

INSPEC

Indexes journals covering the textile industry, chemistry, dyes and dyeing, fibers (including specific natural and synthetic fibers). Coverage is from 1969 to the present. The database is updated weekly.

 

GoogleScholar

Periodicals/Journals: Full Text

AcademicSearch Elite (EbscoHost)

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Art Index with Full Text

Corresponds to the Art Index (print). Contains articles and reproductions of works of art that appear in 400+ indexed periodicals 1984 to the present. Indexes major English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as European periodicals in a number of different languages. Provides access to a wide range of bibliographies, notices of competitions and awards, reports of conferences, exhibition listings, review articles, interviews, and film reviews. Limited to 12 users at one time.

OneFile (InfoTrac)

Full-text and citations from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text, within a specific date range and peer reviewed journals

Humanities Abstracts with Full Text

Abstracts 400 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature, 1984- Limited to 12 users at one time.

Project Muse

A full-text resource of journal articles. It includes 167 full-text titles of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

JStor Journal Storage Project

Archival collection of scholarly articles from various academic displines, including Anthropology, History, Political Science, and Sociology, the most recent articles are at least 2-5 years old

ScienceDirect® (Elsevier)

Select the Search tab or the Journals tab to access full-text of over 1,100 journals.

Wiley InterScience

Access to over 300 full-text journals published by J. Wiley; January 1993

Writing Guides

A short guide to writing about art/ Sylvan Barnet.

Location: Reserve Books 2HOUR N7476 .B37 2003

Writing about art / Henry M. Sayre

Location: FLOOR3 BOOK N7476 .S29 2002

Writing for the visual arts / Mashey Maurice Bernstein.

Location: FLOOR3 PE479.A76 B47 2001