What Are Reference Materials?
Reference materials are resources that provide background information or quick facts on a certain topic. There are many different kinds such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, bibliographies and atlases.
Dictionaries (selected list)
The following are selected art dictionaries held in the Library's collections. Find more by searching the Library Catalog by subject using the phrase "art -- dictionaries", or by searching OneSearch using keywords "art dictionary" (be sure to select the Books & Media tab after performing a search).
Bénézit, E. (1999). Dictionnaire Critique Et Documentaire Des Peintres, Sculpteurs, Dessinateurs Et Graveurs De Tous Les Temps Et De Tous Les Pays. Paris: Gründ.
Bryan, M. , & Williamson, G. (1964). Dictionary of Painters and Engravers. Port Washington, N.Y: Kennikat Press.
Clarke, M. (2010). The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
Langmuir, E. , & Lynton, N. (2000). Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press.
Pierce, J. (2001). From Abacus to Zeus : A Handbook of Art History. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall.
Room, A. (2000). A Dictionary of Art Titles : The Origins of the Names and Titles of 3,000 Works of Art. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland Publishers.
The Dictionary of Art. (1996). New York: Grove's Dictionaries.
Finding Reference Materials
Looking for more? You can find reference materials, online and in print, using the Library Catalog’s advanced search.
- Enter your keyword(s) in the search boxes.
- In the “Optional Limits” section, look for the “Location” field and select “Reference Room” for print materials, or “Electronic Reference” for online materials.
- Click on “Submit Search”.
Reference Room materials are on the first floor of the Library, near the Reference Desk.
Encyclopedias (selected list)
The following are selected art encyclopedias held in the Library's collections. Find more by searching the Library Catalog by subject using the phrase "art -- encyclopedias", or by searching OneSearch using keywords "art encyclopedia" (be sure to select the Books & Media tab after performing a search).
DuBoff, L. (1994). The Art Business Encyclopedia. New York: Allworth Press.
Encyclopedia of World Art. (1959). New York: McGraw-Hill.
Handtools of Arts and Crafts : The Encyclopedia of the Fine, Decorative, and Applied Arts. (1981). New York: St. Martin's Press.
The Encyclopedia of Visual Art. (1983). Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice-Hall.
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Architects and Architecture. (1991). New York: Whitney Library of Design.