Books, videos, and other resources in the Oviatt Library can be found by searching the Library Catalog. Examples of subject headings to find library resources:
- Asian Americans.
- Asian Americans -- Ethnic identity.
- Asian Americans -- History.
- Asian Americans in literature.
- Asian Americans -- Religion.
- Asian Americans -- Social conditions.
- Chinese Americans.
- Filipino Americans.
- Japanese Americans.
- Korean Americans.
- Vietnamese Americans.
Specific reference books found in the Oviatt Library:
- Asian American almanac. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research, 1995-. (Reference Room, E184.O6 A8423 1st ed. 1995)
- Asian American encyclopedia. New York : Marshall Cavendish, 1995. (Reference Room, E184.O6 A827 1995 v.1 - v.6)
- Asian American genealogical sourcebook. Detroit, MI : Gale Research, 1995. (Reference room, E184.O6 A828 1995)
- Asian Americans information directory. Detroit : Gale Research Inc., 1992- . (Reference Room, E184.O6 A844 1st ed. 1992)
- Asian American media reference guide. New York : Asian CineVision, Inc., c1986. (Reference Room, PN1993.45 .A84 1986)
- Asian American novelists: a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000. (Reference Room, PS153.A84 A825 2000)
- Asian-American poets: a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002. (Reference Room, PS153.A84 A826 2002)
- Dictionary of Asian American history. New York : Greenwood Press, 1986. (Reference Room, E184.O6 D53 1986)
- Distinguished Asian Americans: a biographical dictionary. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999. (Reference Room, E184.O6 D57 1999)
- Distinguished Asian American political and governmental leaders. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002. (Reference Room, E184.O6 N35 2002
- Encyclopedia of minorities in American politics. Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 2000. (Reference Room, E184.A1 E574 2000 v.1-v.2)
- Ethnic quilt: population diversity in Southern California. Northridge, Calif. : The Center for Geographical Studies, California State University, Northridge, c1997. (Reference Room, F867 .A45 1997)
- Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America. Detroit, MI : Gale Research, c1995. (Reference Room, E184.A1 G14 1995 v.1-v.2. Also available online as an e-book - check online catalog for access.)
- Handbook of Asian American Psychology. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, c2007. (Reference Room, E184.A75 H36 2007)
- New face of Asian Pacific America: numbers, diversity, and change in the 21st century. San Francisco, Calif. : AsianWeek books, c2003. (Reference Room, E184.O6 L35 2003)
- Scholarships for Asian-American Students. Lawrenceville, NJ : Thomson/Peterson's ; c2003. (Reference Room, LB2338 .S353 2003).
- Statistical Record of Asian Americans. Detroit : Gale Research Inc., c1993. (Reference Room, E184.O6 A73 1993)
For magazine, newspaper, and journal articles about Asian Americans, the Oviatt Library provides access to many databases.
- General OneFile - Provides access to articles from over 5500 newspapers, magazines, and peer-reviewed journals.
- Academic Search Elite - Provides access to articles from 1850 newspapers, magazines, and peer-reviewed journals.
- JStor - Provides access to articles from hundreds of peer-reviewed journals in the in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
- Ethnic NewsWatch - Find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.
- Project Muse - Includes 167 full-text titles of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences.
- MLA Bibliography - Provides citations for journal articles on literature and linguistics. Use the Find Text button to find the full article.
- PsycInfo - Find citations and summaries from over 2000 mostly peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Use the Find Text button to find the full article.
- Sociological Abstracts - Find abstracts and citations for articles from over 1,700 publications. Use the Find Text button to find the full article.
Statistics and demographic information about Asian Americans:
- Asian and Pacific Islander Populations - From the United States Census Bureau
- We the People: Asians in the United States - A Census 2000 Special Report
- RAND California: California Statistics - CSUN subscription
- Asian American Health - Health information and statistices from the United States National Library of Medicine
Web Sites and Internet Resources:
- Asian-Nation: The Landscape of Asian America - Created by a sociology professor at University of Massachusetts, Amherst, this site provides information on many different topics in Asian American Studies.