BIOL 655D - Seminar in Genetics (Pharmacogenomics): Finding Sources

LITERATURE GUIDE

Using the biological literature: a practical guide

(Reference Room - QH303.6 .D38 2002) - Genetics, Biotechnology, and Developmental Biology section (pages 153-194)

DATABASES

Identify keywords and terms and develop a search strategy:

Information Sources: Biology

Google Scholar -- Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources. On your first visit, set Google Scholar preferences: select "Settings," click “Library Links” on left menu, type "CSUN" in the box “Show library access links…” and click the button with the magnifying glass icon to search (or hit Enter); check the box next to "CSU, Northridge - SFX Find It at CSUN;" and click the Save button.

Types of Resources

Primary Sources

Primary sources are original materials on which other research is based. It includes documents such as poems, diaries, court records, interviews, surveys, fieldwork, and some newspaper articles. It also includes research results generated by experiments, which are published as journal articles in some fields of study.

They are also sets of data, such as census statistics, which have been tabulated, but not interpreted.

Secondary Sources

Secondary sources describe or analyze the primary sources.

Examples of secondary sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, and books and articles that interpret or review research works.

Tertiary Sources

Examples of tertiary sources includes indexes and abstracts which serve to locate secondary and primary sources. An index will provide a citation which fully identifies the work: author, title of article, title of journal or book, publisher and date of publication, For a journal it will include the volume, issue and pagination. An abstract is a summary of the work being cited. Many indexes and abstract are available now online.

Examples
Subject Area Primary Source Secondary Source Tertiary Source
Art Original artwork Article critiquing the piece of art Art Index
History Slave diary Book about the Underground Railroad American: History and Life
Literature Poem Book on a particular genre of poetry MLA
Computer Science Original research published as a journal article Introductory textbook on programming INSPEC
Sociology Indian Education Act of 1972 Journal article on Native American education ERIC