Business Resources: Accounting and Information Systems

Accounting and Information Systems

 

Books

The Oviatt Library owns several hundred books on accounting and information systems. A list of books about accounting can be found here  and the various subjects within that discipline can be found here. A list of some of the books about information systems can be found here  and the various subjects within that discipline here.

 

 

Periodicals (journals, newspapers, magazines)

We subscribe to hundreds of accounting and information systems periodicals, both electronically and in print. Here is a link to the accounting list and the information systems list.

 

 

 

 

Accounting Databases

Checkpoint: Includes information such as tax codes, regulations and cases for financial and tax research.

ABI/INFORM Complete: Contains journal articles about business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide.

ScienceDirect: Under the "Social Sciences/Humanities" tab on the left, choose access books and journals on accounting.

LexisNexis Academic: Select "Advanced Options" under the search bar and then look up Accounting as an Index Term to select Accounting sources and articles.

Accounting Content on LexisNexis Academic (Selected):

 

Accountant’s Handbook

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=322805

 

Accounting Today

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=300648

 

AICPA Accounting and Auditing Publications

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=3795

 

AICPA CPA Letters (1988-1999)

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=3793

 

AICPA Publications Archive (1934-1995)

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=163930

 

AICPA Tax Division Newsletter (1988-1992)

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=3794

 

CPA Practice Advisor

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=293697

 

International Journal of Academic Research in Accounting, Finance and Management Sciences

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=400958

 

IOMA Accounting Publications Combined

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=257149

 

John Wiley Publications

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=271046

 

Journal of Accountancy

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=3790

 

The Tax Adviser

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=3802

 

The Ultimate Accountants' Reference

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=269797

 

 

 

 

Tax Law Content on LexisNexis Academic (Selected)

 

All State Tax Statutes, Regulations, Cases and Admin Decisions

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=300157

 

Combined Federal & State Tax Journals

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=266174

 

Federal Tax Cases and IRS Administrative Decisions

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=6093

 

Federal Tax Legislation, Congressional Reports & Bills

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=6118

 

Internal Revenue Code

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=151845

 

Internal Revenue Manual

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=6129

 

IRS Bulletins, Letter Rulings & Memoranda Decisions, Combined

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=6090

 

John Wiley Publications

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=271046

 

The Practical Tax Lawyer

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=160478

 

State Tax Newsletters

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=232907

 

The Tax Adviser

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=3802

 

Tax Analysts Tax Magazines, Combined

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=11742

 

Tax Analysts Tax Publications and Treatises

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=285565

 

Tax Facts Intelligence

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=313052

 

The Tax Lawyer

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=3314

 

Treasury Regulations—Final, Temporary and Proposed

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sf&csi=6089

 

 

 

Business Source Premier: Select "Publications" at the top and then search by subject. Type in "accounting."

Academic Search Premier: A multi-disciplinary database that covers a broad range of topics. Do a keyword search on your topic.

Google Scholar: Search for scholarly journal articles and books. Follow the directions in our database list to set up Scholar to also search the library's full-text articles.

 

Information Systems Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete: Do a keyword search. You can also limit by type of document or the source.

ACM Digital Library: Do keyword search in the box or look for a specific publication or proceeding.

ScienceDirect: Choose "Business, Management and Accounting" on the side and do a keyword search in the box.

Business Abstracts with Full Text: Keyword search on your topic.

Academic Search Premier: Search by keyword or subject.

Emerald Fulltext: Find academic journals articles on information systems, including case studies. Search by keyword.

 

 

Accounting Websites

Securities and Exchange Commission: Find financial information for public companies.

Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board: Develops general accounting standards for federal financial entities.

Financial Accounting Standards Board: Sets standards for financial accounting for non-governmental entities.

Government Auditing Standards: Sets generally accepted government auditing standards for the U.S. government.

Governmental Accounting Standards Board: Sets rules used by state and local governments in the U.S.

International Accounting Standards Board: Sets international financial reporting standards.

Internal Revenue Service: Revenue service responsible for collecting taxes.

American Accounting Association: Promotes worldwide excellence in research, education and practice.

 

Information Systems Websites

ISWorld Net: Information on research and scholarship in the field.

Association for Information Systems: Professional organization. Site also has an elibrary.

@Brint: Web-based magazine with articles about business technology practices.

CIO.com: Information on various topics for the information professional.

Deloitte Technology Fast 500: List of the 500 fastest-growing technology companies in the world.