Business Resources: Finance/Real Estate/Insurance

Finance, Real Estate and Insurance

 

Books

The Oviatt Library owns several hundred books on finance, real estate and insurance.

Here is a list of books on these subject areas:

 

 

  • Finance can be found here  and the various subjects within that discipline can be found here.
  • Real estate (the subject name is "real property" on our website) can be found here  and the various subjects within that discipline can be found here.
  • Insurance can be found here  and the various subjects within that discipline can be found here.

 

Periodicals (journals, newspapers, magazines)

We subscribe to many finance, real estate and insurance periodicals, both electronically and in print. Here is a link to the finance list, real estate list and insurance list.

 

 

 

Databases

Mergent Online: Search by company name or ticker symbol and access financial information on the company page. Below is a tutorial on finding financial ratios:

 

 

 

 

You can also find insurance industry information by choosing the "Report Search" tab at the top and then choosing "Insurance" in the "Search by industry" box.

LexisNexis Academic: For financial information, select "Companies" link on the left. Choose "Company Dossier" and enter the company name.

Choose the "News" tab on the right and then "Business and Industry" for financial, real estate or insurance information.

S&P NetAdvantage: Select the "Companies" link at the top. Then enter the company name for financial information.

Choose the "Industries" tab at the top of the page for industry information.

Academic Search Premier: A multi-disciplinary database that covers a broad range of topics. Do a keyword search on your topic.

Google Scholar: Search for scholarly journal articles and books. Follow the directions in our database list to set up Scholar to also search the library's full-text articles.

Here is a video on searching for industry information in S&P NetAdvantage:

 

 

Websites

Finance

Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC): Find financial information public companies.

Small Business Association: Government agency provides loans, training and other assistance to small businesses.

CNN Money: Provides financial news and statistics.

Motley Fool: Provides investing information for consumers.

Real Estate

Housing and Urban Development (HUD): Government agency that provides affordable housing.

Fannie Mae: Helps provide access to mortgage credit.

Freddie Mac: Helps expand opportunities for consumers to rent or buy homes.

Insurance

Health Insurance: U.S. Census: Collection of statistics on health insurance and coverage.

Medicare County Enrollment: County data on who is using insurance.

USA.gov Health Insurance: Government information on health insurance and where to get services.