Child and Adolescent Development (CADV) Research Guide: Books

Browsing:  Because Child and Adolescent Development is an interdisciplinary field, relevant books are located in several places in the Oviatt Library. You may want to browse the call numbers below; remember to also look in the first floor Reference Room. Reference books (with green dot) cannot be checked out.

  • BF 712-724 (psychology/developmental)
  • HQ 503-1064 (sociology/family and parenting)
  • LB 1100-1500 (education/educational psychology)
  • RJ 1-570 (pediatrics/physical and mental health)

Searching:  Use the Library Catalog to find specific books on a topic. Start with a KEYWORD search, e.g. "play". From the list of titles displayed, click on any one for more information. From here, you may switch to a SUBJECT search by clicking the links listed alongside Subject, e.g. Play therapy or Play -- Psychological aspects. This will take you to a list of relevant Library of Congress subject headings which you may also want to explore. (Read more about Finding Books Using the Library of Congress Classification.) To determine if a particular title is available, look under Status. A due date will appear if the book is currently checked out.

TCC: Items labeled "TCC" under Location are in the Teacher Curriculum Center. It is located on the lower level of the Library; however, you must enter by the stairway on the first floor of the Library behind and to the right of the Reference Desk. the TCC features a collection of teacher-oriented materials, including educational games, teaching kits, recordings, videotapes, DVD's, etc. Most are listed in the Library Catalog; these items must be checked out and returned directly to the TCC. There is also a Web page with Child Development Resources.

Here is a sampling of reference books in the Oviatt Library, some of which are also available online:

Adolescence in America: an encyclopedia / Jacqueline V. Lerner and Richard M. Lerner HQ796 .A33247 2001 Reference Room, 2 volumes (also in electronic form )

Child development / edited by Neil J. Salkind  HQ772 .C436 2002 Reference Room (also an electronic book)

Encyclopedia of applied developmental science / editors, Celia B. Fisher, Richard M. Lerner HQ 767.84 .E52 2005 Reference Room

Encyclopedia of children and childhood: in history and society / edited by Paula S. Fass 2004 (electronic book only)

Encyclopedia of education and human development / Stephen J. Farenga and Daniel Ness, editors. LB15 .E473 2005 Reference Room, 3 volumes

Handbook of child psychology / editors-in-chief, William Damon and Richard M. Lerner. 2006 BF721 .H242 2006 Reference Room, 4 volumes

Handbook of preventive interventions for children and adolescents / Lisa A. Rapp-Paglicci, Catherine N. Dulmus, John S. Wodarski RJ101 .H16 2004  Reference Room

Handbook of research on the education of young children / edited by Bernard Spodek, Olivia N. Saracho. LB1119 .H25 2006 Reference Room

Recommend Books & DVD/Videos

The Oviatt Library is always looking for materials to add to its collection. If you discover a book that would support the CADV curriculum, please forward the title and author to mara.houdyshell@csun.edu.

Also, if you find a good video or DVD about human development, please let us know that too. Use the online Video/DVD Purchase Recommendation Form and include distributor information, if possible.