Child and Adolescent Development (CADV) Research Guide: Databases

The best way to find articles on a specific topic is to search in a database, most of which index thousands of articles in hundreds of journals. Not all articles are available full-text online; some are in print only and some are not available from the Library except through interlibrary loan. Keep in mind that interlibrary loan items can take a week or two to arrive. To determine the availability of an article, click FindText . Below are a few recommended databases for CADV. All require a valid student ID and password to be used from off-campus. They can be accessed either from Databases A-Z or from the Find Articles and Research Data link to Child + Adolescent Development.

  • ERIC – Educational Resources Information Center, produced by the U.S. Department of Education, for education and related fields. This database is available through 3 interfaces: EBSCO, CSA, and U.S. Department of Education.
  • PsycINFO -– produced by the American Psychological Association, for psychology and related fields. 98% of articles are from peer-reviewed journals.
  • PsycARTICLES -- database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association. Much narrower coverage than PsycINFO, with only 60 journals (see Coverage list) compared to 2,250 in PsycINFO.

The above three databases are accessed through the EBSCOhost interface. See this webpage for tips on using EBSCO databases. Here are additional databases that may be useful to CADV students:

  • Health Reference Center Academic -- a collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Designed for nursing and allied health students, as well as consumer health researchers.
  • RAND California -- a statistics and article database sponsored by RAND, a leading think tank. Click the Statistics link, then Health and Socioeconomic for local stats on child abuse, food stamps, welfare, etc. Click the Education link for stats on PreK-12 education. Click Research Publications to access the RAND library of online articles. For more information, see Using RAND California and/or try a RAND practice exercise.
  • Sociological Abstracts -- covers social structure, inequality, social change, social problems, etc.
  • Social Services Abstracts -- covers social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, etc.

For many of these databases, there are online user guides. Simply click more about this resource next to it on the Databases A-Z list. For help in finding articles, contact the CADV librarian or visit the first-floor reference desk. Below are some general suggestions for searching databases.