The following library and Internet resources are geared toward the research needs of CSUN students taking Communication Studies 356: Intercultural Communication.
- Deciding which type of resource to use for research involves several factors, including assignment requirements, currency of the research topic, and the depth of coverage needed.
- Be a Search Boss (video) when using library databases.
- For a complete list of available databases, see Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z.
- Library databases and other electronic resources can also be Accessed from off Campus.
A Word About Culture:
Since the definition of culture varies, the following information is based on its broadest definition to reflect the diversity of the people residing in the United States. The Library of Congress sets subject heading standards, or "authorities", for many of our library databases and our catalog. The U.S. Census Bureau sets standards for the statistical classification of race and ethnicity and also for ancestry. Both of federal institutions strongly influence the terminology used to describe groups in databases and publications. Furthermore, this terminology changes over time to reflect current usage. Keep in mind the denotative and connotative uses of these terms may directly influence your search results.
- The use of the asterisk (*) is a "wildcard" that most databases allow you to use to search a root word and variable endings to broaden search results. For example:
- latin* (retrieves "latin," "latins," "latino," "latinos," "latina," "latinas")
- The use of the word "or" in between synonyms or related words broadens search results by including either term in the search results. For example:
- black* or african american* (retrieves the singular and plural forms of the words)
- women or female*
- The use of the word "and" between keywords narrows search results by requiring that both or all terms appear in the search results. For example:
- african american* and women
- latina* and communicat*
- Use parentheses when you combine "or" and "and" searches. For example:
- (muslim* or islam*) and united states
- (latino* or chicano* or mexican american*) and (intercultural* or cross cultural*)