COMS 442: Peace and Conflict: Historical Primary Sources

Historical News, Speeches, and Other Primary Sources

American Periodical Series
Contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900.
American State Papers, 1789-1838
Digital collection of primary source material on many aspects of early American history. Contains the legislative and executive documents of Congress from 1789 to 1838.
Chicago Defender (includes Daily Defender)
Available as Chicago Defender in Black Studies Center (1910-1975) and Chicago Defender in Proquest Historical Newspapers (1905-1975). Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Congressional Record
Debates and proceedings from both houses of Congress, 1874 to present. See also GPO Access.
Los Angeles Times Historical (ProQuest)
Full text access to the Los Angeles Times, currently from 1881—1985.
New York Times Historical (ProQuest)
Full text access to the New York Times from September 18, 1851- December 31, 2001.
Oviatt Library Catalog
In addition to the book, microform, periodical, and media holdings of the Library, it also lists Congressional Hearings and other government documents received by the Library, many with links to the full text.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Hardcopy set located in the Oviatt Library, 1929 to the present. See also FDsys.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (Archive of Americana)
Contains all of the full text reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, which constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history from 1817 to 1886; and it will eventually cover up to 1980. Also links to American State Papers, legislative and executive documents, 1789-1838.