CTVA 415: International Cinema: Finding articles

Maria Elena de las Carreras

You can access all of the library's databases from the homepage. If you know the name of the database you'd like to use (such as Lexis Nexis), click on Databases A to Z. Otherwise, click on Databases by Subject and choose Cinema + Television for a guide.

To find film reviews, you can either go into a news database like Proquest Newspapers, or you can search for a particular title, like The New Yorker. If you're not sure where a particular journal is available, search by title and limit to periodicals in the library catalog.

To find scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles, the best databases are J Stor and Project Muse, which only have scholarly content. If you're not sure if a journal is peer-reviewed, check Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.

 

CTVA databases

 

 

Finding Articles in Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers

Pick a database recommended for your subject from Find Articles by Subject and then search using keywords.

To locate the full text of an article:

  • If full-text is available in the database, click on the link to full text (HTML or PDF).
  • If full-text isn't available in the database, click the Find Text button to see if we have access to the article in another database or in print in the library
  • If no Find Text button is available or you didn't find the article through our databases, search for the magazine or journal title using the Journals tab in the library catalog.
  • If the full text isn't available through the Library, you can request an Interlibrary Loan for the article(s) that you need. However, you must allow about two weeks for this!

 

Searching for Periodical Titles in the Library Catalog

You can search by Periodical title by selecting the Periodicals tab on the homepage.

  • The Oviatt Library subscribes to over 1,700 print and over 25,000 online periodicals, which include research journals, magazines, and newspapers.
  • For online periodicals only, select the Search electronic periodicals only check box.

NOTE: The Library catalog offers title searching for periodicals, but not for specific articles. For access to periodical articles, search the databases listed on the Library's Find Databases by Subject page.