Selected Career Counseling Journals
Career Development International
The Career Development Quarterly
- Is the journal of the National Career Development Association (NCDA). The Quarterly includes articles on research, theory, and practice in career development, career counseling, occupational resources, labor market dynamics, and career education.
Counselor Education and Supervision
- Is dedicated to publishing manuscripts concerned with research, theory development, or program applications related to counselor education and supervision. It is concerned with the preparation and supervision of counselors in agencies or school settings, in colleges and universities, or at local, state, or federal levels. This journal is the official publication of the Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (ACES).
International Journal for Educational and Vocational Guidance
Journal of Career Assessment
- Journal of Career Development
- The Journal of Career and Technical Education
The Journal of College Counseling
- Is the official journal of the American College Counseling Association (ACCA) and publishes articles that inform the practice of counselors working in higher education settings. Categories of manuscripts include Research Studies, Professional Issues, and Innovative Practice. All manuscripts should be grounded in current literature and address implications for practice.
The Journal of Counseling & Development
- Is the official journal of the American Counseling Association (ACA). The Journal publishes articles that have broad interest for counselors, counseling psychologists, and student personnel specialists who work in schools, colleges, community agencies, and government.
- Journal of Counseling Psychology
The Family Journal: Counseling and Therapy for Couples and Families
- Is the official journal of the International Association of Marriage and Family Counselors (IAMFC). The purpose of The Family Journal is to advance the theory, research, and practice of counseling with couples and families from a family systems perspective.
The Journal for Specialists in Group Work
- Is directed toward the interests of educators and counselors concerned with productive implementation of group counseling in both educational and community settings.
The Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
- Is concerned with research, theory, or program applications pertinent to multicultural and ethnic minority interests in all areas of counseling and human development.
Good databases to start with for Career Counseling (Databases A-Z):
- Business Source Complete Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more.
- ERIC Major education index for topics such as career counseling, career education, occupational testing, job placement, career development, career choice, career awareness, etc.
- PsycINFO Major psychology index; use for topics such as occupational aspirations, vocational maturity, career choice, and more.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video Counseling and Therapy in Video Online collection of video for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Features counseling sessions, consultations, interviews, demonstrations, and lectures.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO) Provides a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Offers evaluations of the latest assessments in education, psychology, business, law, healthcare, counseling, and management. In addition to test reviews, descriptions of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price, author, and publisher for all listed tests are provided.
- Complete list of databases available through Oviatt Library
- Ask a Librarian! for research assistance.