Career Counseling: Books & Reference Resources

Books

Career paths in psychology : where your degree can take you / edited by Robert J. Sternberg. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2007. Call number: FIPP General BF76 .C38 2007

  • Title: Handbook of career development in academic psychiatry and behavioral sciences
  • Year: 2005
  • Permanent URL for this record:
  • Contents: Covering many aspects of early career development that the authors wish they had been told about when they started their own academic careers, this book is densely packed with practical information that every academic psychiatrist can use right away.

 

  • Title: Life after graduate school in psychology: Insider's advice from new psychologists
  • Year: 2004
  • Permanent URL for this record:
  • Contents: With the diverse array of career opportunities for psychologists--ranging from academics and practice, to business and industry--this book offers a wide-ranging career guide for graduate and postdoctoral students, as well as interns and new psychologists, seeking employment opportunities in the field of psychology and beyond.

 

  • Year: 2007
  • Permanent URL for this record: http://suncat.csun.edu/record=b2503761
  • Contents: This must-have resource is for students contemplating a career in psychology, for psychologists considering switching between areas of psychology, and for professionals thinking of switching to psychology from another field. In this comprehensive anthology, authors selected for their distinction in their chosen careers offer their professional and personal perspectives on 19 different graduate-level careers in psychology.

The portable mentor : expert guide to a successful career in psychology / edited by Mitchell J. Prinstein and Marcus D. Patterson. New York : Kluwer Academic, 2003. Call number: FIPP General BF76 .P67 2003 

 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

(http://uncg.libguides.com/content.php?pid=119689&sid=1074667)

Specialized books for backgroun information on your topic or help with definitions of words you hear in class bur to not understand.

Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Psychology

  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Reference Room
  • URL: http://suncat.csun.edu/record=b2503761
  • Contents: With over 11,000 authoritative and up-to-date entries, this best-selling dictionary covers all branches of psychology, including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, criminology, neuroscience, and statistics. Features over 80 illustrations, recommended web links, and lists of abbreviations, symbols, phobias and phobic stimuli with full definitions.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Counseling

  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Online
  • URL: http://suncat.csun.edu/record=b2385983
  • Contents: v. 1. Changes and challenges for counseling in the 21st century -- v. 2. Personal and emotional counseling -- v. 3. Cross-cultural counseling -- v .4. Career counseling.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

  • Year
  • Location
  • Description

Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology

  • Year
  • Location
  • Description

Encyclopedia of School Psychology

  • Year
  • Location
  • Description

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology

  • Year
  • Location
  • Description