BP, one of the world's largest energy companies, publishes statistical reviews of world energy, projections and historical data.
Data on environmentally sustainable energy programs in developing countries.
Energy statistics by country
Monthly data for the biggest oil producing and consuming countries.
Contains both experimental and evaluated nuclear data including nuclear reaction ((the properties of interacting nuclei, e.g. cross sections) and nuclear structure (the properties of single nuclei) data.
A journal covering the global energy market (1998-present).
Company level data on the supply and disposition of natural gas in the United States, Electric power data collected by surveys, international energy statistics, energy country profiles for 217 countries, state and territory energy profiles for the U.S., financial data collected from major energy producers, short-term and historical energy outlook data & projections, and real energy prices.
Provides energy data for more than 215 countries, areas and regions on the production, trade and intermediate and final consumption for primary and secondary conventional, non-conventional and new and renewable sources of energy from 1990 onwards.
US Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) global water information system
CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.
Provides datasets on environmental issues in the areas of population, health, society, natural systems, climate, energy, transportation, food & agriculture, and economy & policy.
Provides datasets and climate reports (land-based stations, satallite, radal, modelling, weather balloons, marine/ocian, paleoclimatology, and severe weather).
United Nations agency providing data on fresh water issues around the globe.
An interactive site from the UN Environment Programme, with data, maps, reports and more.
Reports on climate change.
Provides datasets, maps, data visualizations, charts, and graphs on environmental issues.
Public health statistics
Datasets, tools, and applications gathered from agencies across the Federal government.
National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health has Health Statistics, Data Repositories, and useful tools from Global agencies and U.S. Government entities.
Data from 219 countries and areas on the prevalence of HIV infection and AIDS cases and deaths.
Contains current data from surveys such as the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), birth and mortality detail files, National Immunization Survey, Longitudinal Study of Aging, and National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG).
USA.gov -Data and Statistics site has statistics from Environment, Energy, and Agirculture to Family, Home, and Community, to Health and Nutrition data.
Provides statistical and financial data for the airline industry
Contains data relevant to a range of transport policy issues including investment & maintenance, transport statistics, emissions, road taxation and safety.
Part of the division of the Research and Innovative Technology Administration of the U.S. Department of Transportation. The BTS compiles, analyzes, and publishes statistical information on U.S. transportation systems. Data downloadable as CSV file (1995-present).
Elections and Voting Data - United States
Data and analyses of US elections, including data on presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections, political parties, campaigns, and demographic information.
Contains data on voting, public opinion and political participation. Cumulative, time-series, panel and contextual data are available for download.
Four ICPSR studies that provide datasets of electoral returns for approx. 90% of all elections to the offices of president, governor, United States senator, and United States representative for all parties and candidates 1788-1990. Most returns are at the county level.
A space to share and improve election data. You can create an account and either correct the cataloging information for the studies in this dataverse or upload new data files.
A list of online and print resources that contain U.S. election statistics for both federal and state elections.
Downloadable campaign finance information
Data included in FedStats but " this website concentrates on "...statistics and reports on children and families."
Ed Watch Interactive is a user-friendly source of data on educational performance and equity by race and class, kindergarten through college.
Explore hundreds of measures of well-being for kids across the nation, or in your state, city, or community.
State Profiles presents key data about each state's performance in the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) in mathematics, reading, writing, and science for grades 4 and 8.
The Nation's Report Card presents the results of the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), which measures student achievement in the U.S. in various subjects over time.
A program of the U.S. Department of Education's National Center for Education Statistics, this site provides annual and national statistics for all public elementary and secondary schools, and school districts across the U.S. Data can be located under "Quick Facts", "Data", or by searching for a specific school or school district under "School/District Locator." Fiscal and Nonfiscal reports, and working papers can be located under "Publications."NCES collects and analyzes all types of data related to education, including prevalence of students in special education. You can create and export lists of schools, colleges and libraries based on state and/or other criteria.
The School Construction Data section includes current, forecast, and historical data about U.S. school construction. The School Building Statistics section provides answers to the most frequently asked questions about school facilities.
Contains data and statistics collected from California schools and learning support resources.
The California Report Cards provide enrollment, demographic, attendance, suspension, dropout, teacher, assessment, accountability, graduation rate, post-graduate plan, career and technical education, and fiscal data for public and charter schools, districts, and the State.
Resources on Los Angeles Schools
Economic and social statistics on the countries and territories of the world, with particular reference to children’s well-being
Contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication for more than 200 countries and territories
2010 census data available for users who want to download the set of detailed tables for all of the geographies within a state and run their own analysis and rankings.
Includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).
California's primary and most comprehensive source for economic and demographic data, tracking the trends of the State of California, its businesses and people.
These resources provide State and national statistics on child and family well-being indicators, such as health, child care, education, income, and marriage.
Provided by the University of Michigan, access is limited to one user at a time. Available in both Chinese and English. Includes yearly macro-economic statistics, monthly macro-economic statistics, and historical statistics (1949-) from China.
Primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States
Public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
Open data portal for the city of Los Angeles
Create thematic maps based on data from the US Census (demographic, economic, housing, and social characteristics, etc.).
Major statistical data sources on disability
Database of over 600,000 emails generated by 158 employees of the Enron Corporation and acquired by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission during its investigation after the company's collapse.
Provide access to official statistical information available to the public from the Federal Government. Covers over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.
A standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest, that has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
Data related to development: literacy, health, poverty, income inequality, climate change, crime, population, and more.
Contains useful datasets for political and social research. Download options include ASCII, ASCII+, SAS, SPSS, Stata. Note: Creating a MyData account is free, necessary to download most data from ICPSR, and does not require you to be associated with an ICPSR member institution.
Click on "International Statistical Links" to retrieve an A-Z country list with national statistical bureau links attached.
Gathers social and economic information on Mexican-US migration.
Military casualty data and Active Duty military/civilian personnel statistics by rank/grade, service totals, service by Region/Country.
Search, customize and download datasets for national and international variables.
The National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is the nation’s leading public policy center dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children.
Data and research studies cover all areas of social policy in the UK.
National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates (2013): Information provided by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals, permanent legal residents, naturalized citizens and maps with various demographic characteristics (1996-present).
Includes multidimensional poverty index and specific summaries on the results of the MPI analyses in 104 developing nations.
PovcalNet is an interactive computational tool that allows you to replicate the calculations made by the World Bank's researchers in estimating the extent of absolute poverty in the world, including the $1 a day poverty measures.
Statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are included. Also available in print: Census & Demographic Data Room HA202.P7.
UNDP is the United Nations' global development network, an organization advocating for change and connecting countries to knowledge, experience and resources to help people build a better life.
Provides a yearly overview of the economic, social, and environmental state of the world. Also provides detailed economic data for most countries, quality of life indicators, and other demographic and environmental information.
Provides detailed country profile” for most countries in the world. Covers geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Includes country maps.
Other Specialized Datasets
A comprehensive A-Z topical guide for statistics and data sets.
Downloads a community effort to extract structured info from Wikipedia and make that data publicly available on the web.
Data for Earth Sciences
Historical stats and data dating back to the NBA's first season in 1946.
Geographical data for the United States
Geographic data for Los Angeles and California
Data drawn from the OPE Equity in Athletics Disclosure Website database reported by all co-educational postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding (i.e., those that participate in federal student aid programs) and that have an intercollegiate athletics program.
Provides statistical, historical and other data for college and professional players, leagues and teams.
Provide customized reports for public inquiries relating to equity in athletics data.
College sport program comparisons. Sort by institution, division, gender, profit margin or sport.
Rankings and championship historical data by school or sport.
Professional sports data for major and minor league baseball, NBA, NFL, NHL as well as college football, college basketball and olympic sports.
Links to sports data on American Football, Baseball, Basketball, Cricket, Cycling, Fencing, Golf, Hockey, Olympics, Poker, Racing, Rugby, Soccer, Tennis, and Volleyball.
Polling Data (U.S. and International)
Describes the basic principles of polling and sampling in a question and answer format.
Databases, tables and calculators by subject.
International labor statistics, standards, key indicators of the labor market, labor force surveys, safety, work conditions, child labor, and labor legislation.
Information on international trade and economic development trends, markets, and labor force.
Provides international labor force and wage information and other economic statistics (1990-present).
Contains international policies and data on employment, health, families and children, pension systems, international migration and other social policies and data. Downloadable files in Excel, CSV, PC-axis, or XML.
Database covers four key elements of modern political economies in advanced capitalist societies: Institutional Characteristics of Trade Unions, Wage Setting, State Intervention and Social Pacts in 49 countries between1960 and 2010.
Provides detailed, comparative tables for social protection systems for 31 countries. Areas covered include financing, healthcare, sickness, maternity, invalidity, old-age, survivors, employment injuries and occupational diseases, family, unemployment, guaranteed minimum resources and long-term care.
Highlights the principal features of social security programs in more than 170 countries. Public use data downloadable as TXT or SAS zip files.
Elections and Voting Data (International)
Contains approximately 1100 elections from 70+ countries at a constituency level for lower house legislative elections. Includes votes received by each candidate/party, total votes cast, number of eligible voters, and seat figures where available. Available in Stata, SPSS, and raw data formats. Dates are variable, but generally 1945+
Build data sets on national and subnational elections around the world 1940s-2010s. Accessible in multiple formats: spreadsheets, tables and GIS maps.
Information on international elections: Subnational elections of high interest; Political parties and candidates; Referendum provisions; News on election-related laws and developments around the world; Political institutions and electoral systems; Election results and voter turnout.
Economic and Financial Data
Contains economic data for EU member states, EU candidate countries and other OECD countries (United States, Japan, Canada, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Mexico, Korea, Australia and New Zealand).
Current and historical data for the VIX, a barometer for measuring investor sentiment and market volatility.
Provides access to thousands of data sets holding hundreds of millions of facts and figures from a wide range of public and private data providers including the United Nations, the World Bank, Eurostat and the Economist Intelligence Unit.
Contains several thousand economic time series, produced by a number of U.S. Government agencies and distributed in a variety of formats and media.
Access structural and aggregated financial information & quarterly reports on FDIC-insured institutions.
Provides information regarding home mortgage lending activity.
Data on IMF lending, exchange rates, trade statistics and other economic and financial indicators.
In-depth economic analyses of the home building industry based on private and government data.
Contains useful economic datasets for download.
Stats for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
A website created under the Recovery Act to show the American public how Recovery funds are being spent by recipients of contracts, grants, and loans, and the distribution of Recovery entitlements and tax benefits. Create charts and graphs. Download cumulative data and access the Recovery API.
Contains data on factors such as poverty, income, employment, and health insurance coverage.
USAID data--Explains where U.S. foreign aid is invested in over 100 countries.
Interactive national, international, regional economic data or industry statistics.
Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject for US labor statistics.
Futures and options markets data
Provides a complete historical record of all foreign assistance provided by the United States to the rest of the world. Search by country or agency.
A compilation of international development indicators and socio-economic data.
World Investment Report (annual) covers trends and analysis in foreign direct investment.
Criminal Justice Data
Data sets for the following topics: corrections, courts, crime type, criminal justice employment and expenditures, capital punishment, federal, law enforcement, Native American and Tribal criminal justice issues, and victims.
Interactive crime statistics tables from the state of California Department of Justice Attorney General. Also provides frequently requested statistics and crime index.
Uniform Crime Reports - The Uniform Crime Reports (from the FBI) are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Contains statistics for Criminal Justice Characteristics, Public Opinion, "Crime, Victims," "Arrests, Seizures," "Courts, Prosecution, Sentencing," and "Parole, Jails, Prisons, Death Penalty."
A compilation of data gathered by the United States Census Bureau.
Annual Economic Surveys In addition to conducting the Economic Censuses every five years, the U.S. Census Bureau conducts more than 100 economic surveys covering annual, quarterly, and monthly time periods for various sectors of the economy. These surveys measure a wide variety of economic activities, from capital expenditures for food manufacturing companies to annual auto dealership sales. Includes County Business Patterns.
Economic Statistics for U.S., states, metro areas, counties, and cities. Published every five years (2002, 2007, 2012, etc.) for every industry (NAICS). Part of the Economy-Wide Statistics offered by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Economy-Wide Statistics from the US Census Bureau, includes Statistics of U.S. Businesses, Quarterly Workforce Indicators, and Survey of Business Owners.
Census 2010 data presented in such a way that it can be understood by the novice user. Included are charts and trends, maps, population rankings and information on segregation.
Historical Census Data
From the U.S. Census
A guide from the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) highlighting their collection of census information
Demographic data, market insights, interactive maps, detailed summary and comparison reports, and fast access to U.S. Census data sorted by geographies and demographic characteristics.
Census of Population and Housing from the Decennial Census 1790-2010
From the University of Virginia Library, has data sets on state and county level topics for individual census years 1790-1960 (including demographics on slave population) and generate maps on selected data.
This report includes the census questionnaire and instructions for each census and individual census histories are also provided.
Database of census data 1790-present
Chemistry Data & Spectra
This site provides chemical data for a wide variety of chemical substances. The database can be searched via chemical name, molecular formula, molecular structure, CAS registry number and chemical reaction.
Sigma Aldrich provides some spectra and chemical information for many of their chemical products. MSDS are also available.
Spectra from Japan's National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
MS: ~ 24200 spectra updated
MS: ~ 24200 spectra updated
1H NMR: ~ 14800 spectra updated
13C NMR: ~ 13100 spectra updated
FT-IR: ~ 51600 spectra updated
Raman: ~ 3500 spectra
ESR: ~ 2500 spectra
"NMRShiftDB is a NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. Last not least, it features peer-reviewed submission of datasets by its users."