Early Childhood Education (ECE) Research Guide: Books

Click a link below to determine the location, call number, and availability of any title. When viewing the online record for an individual book, look to the right of the word Subject to view a list of related subject headings. Click on any subject heading of interest in order to search for books with similar content. Most books related to the topic of early childhood education are located on the 2nd floor; the call number R is on the 3rd floor; Reference Room is on the 1st floor.

To search for books directly by Library of Congress subject headings, use the Subject Search function of the Oviatt Library Catalog. Here are some suggested subject headings to use:

Child care; Child care services; Children with disabilities; Cognition in children; Day care centers; Early childhood education; Early childhood educators; Early childhood special education; Early childhood teachers; Education, Preschool; Infants Development; Play; Preschool children; Preschool teaching; Toddlers Development

All about child care and early education : a comprehensive resource for child care professionals / Marilyn Segal ... [et al.]. LB1139.25 .A435 2006

Alternative approaches to assessing young children / by Angela Losardo and Angela Notari-Syverson. BF722 .L67 2001

America's babies : the Zero to Three Policy Center data book / by Cindy Oser and Julie Cohen. HQ774.5 .O75 2003

An activity-based approach to early intervention / by Kristie Pretti-Frontczak and Diane Bricker. LC4019.2 .B74 2004

Assessing and guiding young children's development and learning / Oralie McAfee, Deborah J. Leong. LB1139.25 .M4 2007

Baby signs : how to talk with your baby before your baby can talk / Linda Acredolo and Susan Goodwyn ; with Douglas Abrams. BF723.C57 A27 2002

Bambini : The Italian approach to infant/toddler care / Lella Gandini, Carolyn Pope Edwards, editors. LB1139.3.I8 B26 2001

Basics of developmentally appropriate practice : an introduction for teachers of children 3 to 6 / Carol Copple and Sue Bredekamp. Washington, DC : National Association for the Education of Young Children,
LB1139.25 .C664 2006

Beacon of hope : the promise of Early Head Start for America's youngest children / edited by Joan Lombardi and Mary M. Bogle. HV741 .B37 2004

Beautiful beginnings : a developmental curriculum for infants and toddlers / by Helen H. Raikes and Jane McCall Whitmer. HQ774 .R33 2006

Blended practices for teaching young children in inclusive settings / by Jennifer Grisham-Brown, Mary Louise Hemmeter, and Kristie Pretti-Frontczak. LB1139.23 .G75 2005

Birth to three matters : supporting the framework of effective practice / [edited by] Lesley Abbott and Ann Langston. LB1139.23 .B57 2005

Building blocks : making children successful in the early years of school / Gene I. Maeroff. LB1139.23 .M34 2006

Challenging behavior in young children : understanding, preventing, and responding effectively / Barbara Kaiser, Judy Sklar Rasminsky. LB1060.2 .K35 2007

Common psychological disorders in young children : a handbook for early childhood professionals / Jenna Bilmes; Tara Welker RJ499.3 .B55 2006

The complete resource book for infants : over 700 experiences for children from birth to 18 months / Pam Schiller ; photographs by Mary Duru ; illustrations by Deborah Wright. HQ774 .S36 2005

Critical issues in early childhood professional development / edited by Martha Zaslow and Ivelisse Martinez-Beck. LB1775.6 .C745 2006

DC:0-3R : Diagnostic classification of mental health and developmental disorders of infancy and early childhood / the DC:0-3R Revision Task Force. RJ500.5 .D53 2005

Developing constructivist early childhood curriculum : practical principles and activities / Rheta DeVries ... [et al.]. LB1139.4 .D49 2002

Developmentally appropriate curriculum : best practices in early childhood education / Marjorie J. Kostelnik, Anne K. Soderman, Alice Phipps Whiren. LB1139.25 .K67 2007

Early childhood education : an international encyclopedia / edited by Rebecca S. New and Moncrieff Cochran. LB1139.23 .E272 2007 (4 vol) Reference Room

Early childhood environment rating scale / Thelma Harms, Richard M. Clifford, Debby Cryer. LB3011.5 .H37 1998

Early childhood inclusion : focus on change / edited by Michael J. Guralnick. LC1201 .E29 2001

Early childhood interventions : proven results, future promise / Lynn A. Karoly, M. Rebecca Kilburn, Jill S. Cannon. HV741 .K34 2005

Early learning environments that work / Rebecca Isbell and Betty Exelby ; [illustrations, Garry Exelby ; photographs, Mike Talley, Susan Lachmann, and Su Lorencen]. LB1139.23 .I72 2001

The economics of investing in universal preschool education in California / Lynn A. Karoly, James H. Bigelow. LB1140.23 .K36 2005

Educating and caring for very young children : the infant/toddler curriculum / Doris Bergen, Rebecca Reid, Louis Torelli ; foreword by Bettye Caldwell. LB1139.4 .B47 2001

Encyclopedia of applied developmental science / editors, Celia B. Fisher, Richard M. Lerner. HQ767.84 .E52 2005 (2 vols) Reference Room

Focus on early childhood [electronic resource] : principles and realities / edited by Margaret Boushel, Mary Fawcett and Julie Selwyn. 2000

From neurons to neighborhoods : the science of early child development / Committee on Integrating the Science of Early Childhood Development ; Jack P. Shonkoff and Deborah A. Phillips, editors. HQ767.9 .F76 2000

From parents to partners : building a family-centered early childhood program / Janis Keyser LB1139.35.P37 K49 2006

Handbook of early literacy research / edited by Susan B. Neuman, David K. Dickinson. LB1139.5.L35 H37 2 vols: 2001 and 2006

Handbook of infant, toddler, and preschool mental health assessment / edited by Rebecca DelCarmen-Wiggins, Alice Carter. RJ503.5 .H375 2004 Reference Room

Handbook of research on the education of young children / edited by Bernard Spodek, Olivia N. Saracho. LB1119 .H25 2006 Reference Room

The handbook of training and practice in infant and preschool mental health / Karen Moran Finello, editor. RJ502.5 .H38 2005

Handbook on assessment and evaluation in early childhood special education programs / edited by Faye Ong.  LC3983.C3 O51 2000  

History of early childhood education / V. Celia Lascarides and Blythe F. Hinitz. LB1139.23 .L39 2000 Reference Room

The home visitor's guidebook : promoting optimal parent & child development / by Carol S. Klass. HQ755.7 .K59 2003

Inclusive play : practical strategies for working with children aged 3 to 8 / Theresa Casey. LB1139.3.G7 C37 2005

Infant and early childhood mental health : a comprehensive, developmental approach to assessment and intervention / by Stanley I. Greenspan, Serena Wieder. RJ502.5 .G725 2006

Infant/toddler environment rating scale / Thelma Harms, Debby Cryer, Richard M. Clifford. HV854 .H375 1990

Late talking toddlers : are they at risk? / Donna Thal. P118.4 .T53 2000

Making sense of children's drawings / John Willats. BF723.D7 W55 2005

Mental health in early intervention : achieving unity in principles and practice / edited by Gilbert M. Foley and Jane D. Hochman. RJ502.5 .M46 2006

Montessori for the new millennium [electronic resource] : practical guidance on the teaching and education of children of all ages, based on a rediscovery of the true principles and vision of Maria Montessori / Roland A. Lubienski Wentworth. 1999

Montessori : the science behind the genius / Angeline Stoll Lillard ; photographs by An Vu. LB1029.M75 L53 2005

National household education surveys program of 2005 [electronic resource] : initial results from the 2005 NHES early childhood program participation survey. [Washington, D.C.] : United States Dept. of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, [2006]

The neo-Vygotskian approach to child development / Yuriy V. Karpov. HQ767.9 .K365 2005

Pathways to competence : encouraging healthy social and emotional development in young children / by Sarah Landy. HQ772 .L243 2002

Power & voice in research with children / Lourdes Diaz Soto & Beth Blue Swadener, editors. LB1139.225 .P69 2005

The power of projects : meeting contemporary challenges in early childhood classrooms-- strategies and solutions / edited by Judy Harris Helm and Sallee Beneke. LB1139.35.P8 P69 2003

Psychological perspectives on early childhood education : reframing dilemmas in research and practice / edited by Susan L. Golbeck. LB1139.22 .P79 2001 Also an electronic book.

Sensory integration and self-regulation in infants and toddlers : helping very young children interact with their environment / G. Gordon Williamson, Marie E. Anzalone. BF723.M6 W55 2001

Successful kindergarten transition : your guide to connecting children, families & schools / by Robert C. Pianta, Marcia Kraft-Sayre. LB1205 .P53 2003

Teaching as inquiry : rethinking curriculum in early childhood education / Lynn T. Hill, Andrew J. Stremmel, Victoria R. Fu. LB1139.23 .H55 2005

Threads of thinking : young children learning and the role of early education / Cathy Nutbrown. BF723.C5 N87 2006

Tools of the mind : the Vygotskian approach to early childhood education / Elena Bodrova, Deborah J. Leong. LB1139.23 .B63 2007

Transdisciplinary teaming in early intervention/early childhood special education : navigating together with families and children / Jennifer L. Kilgo, editor.  LC4019.3 .T73 2006 

Vygotsky's educational theory in cultural context / edited by Alex Kozulin ... [et al.]. LB1051 .V943 2003

WAIMH handbook of infant mental health / Joy D. Osofsky and Hiram E. Fitzgerald, editors ; World Association for Infant Mental Health. RJ502.5 .H362 2000 (4 vol) Reference

Working in the Reggio way : a beginner's guide for American teachers / Julianne Wurm. LB1140.25.I8 W87 2005

A world of difference : readings on teaching young children in a diverse society / Carol Copple, editor. LC1099.3 .W67 2003

Writing in preschool : learning to orchestrate meaning and marks / Judith A. Schickedanz, Renée M. Casbergue. LB1140.5.L3 S39 2004

Young children and trauma : intervention and treatment / edited by Joy D. Osofsky ; foreword by Kyle D. Pruett. RJ506.P55 Y686 2004

Young children's cognitive development : interrelationships among executive functioning, working memory, verbal ability, and theory of mind / edited by Wolfgang Schneider, Ruth Schumann-Hengsteler, Beate Sodian. BF723.C5 Y67 2005

Young children with disabilities in natural environments : methods & procedures / by Mary Jo Noonan & Linda McCormick. LC4019.3 .N66 2006

Why love matters : how affection shapes a baby's brain / Sue Gerhardt. RJ134 .G47 2004