English 205/Sarig: Books

Books

Below are some search tips on finding books. For more information, click here.

 

 

Finding Articles in Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers

Pick a database recommended for your subject from Find Articles by Subject and then search using keywords.

To locate the full text of an article:

  • If full-text is available in the database, click on the link to full text (HTML or PDF).
  • If full-text isn't available in the database, click the Find Text button to see if we have access to the article in another database or in print in the library
  • If no Find Text button is available or you didn't find the article through our databases, search for the magazine or journal title using the Journals tab in the library catalog.
  • If the full text isn't available through the Library, you can request an Interlibrary Loan for the article(s) that you need. However, you must allow about two weeks for this!

 

Viewing Books & Media Results

The Books & Media tab from your OneSearch results shows resources found in the Library catalog, and includes a variety of media including print books & journals, e-books, DVDS, CDS, music scores, and archival resources.  Results can be sorted based on format, date, and subject area.

Viewing Article Results

OneSearch results are divided into two tabs: Articles, and Books & Media. 

The Articles tab allows you to filter results from online databases based on format, topics, subject area, date or language.  This section includes journal, magazine and newspaper articles, as well as book reviews, dissertations, and reports.

For additional resources, see Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject.

Viewing Results in the Library Catalog

Select a title to see more information.

Information includes publication information, location, call number and checkout status. Click on the various links to find more items by the same author or in the same subject area.

Find a Book on the Shelves

  • Check the Status field of the book's record in the catalog.
    • IN LIBRARY - book is available for checkout.
    • DUE + date - book has already been checked out.
  • The Location field shows the general location of the book.
  • The Call # field gives the book's call number, which serves as the book's address in the library. Each row of books on the 2nd and 3rd floors will have a sign at the end indicating which call numbers can be found on that row.