Environmental and Occupational Health

photo of smoke stack

Contents

Books Journals  |  Databases  | Websites Additional Guides | Librarian   

 

  Visit the Environmental Defense Fund Scorecard and enter your zip code to find out about pollution in your area.

Books about Environmental Health

Browsing: Many environmental health books are located in the Library of Congress call numbers starting RC963 or T55 on Floor 3 of the Oviatt Library. Additional locations possible are Reserve Book Room(Floor 4 East), Stored(ASRS East), and the Reference Room. Floor 2 may also have occupational health legal material in Library of Congress classification KF.

Searching:  Use the Library Catalog to find books on a topic. If you don't know a specific title, then start with a KEYWORD search.   The following links search the catalog with  SUBJECT HEADINGS

Medicine, Industrial

Occupational diseases

Toxicology

Pollution

Environmental Risk Assessment

Hazardous Substances

Handbooks/Encyclopedias

Journals

To see if CSUN owns a journal, Please check the following:

To assist you in finding the journal articles, the CSUN list of Electronic Periodicals and bibliographic databases offer SFXlinks. Periodical databases now provide full text access possibilities where the database is limited to citation or abstract.
If CSUN does not own the journal title you need, you may request articles using the Interlibrary Loan service at http://illiad.csun.edu/.WEB SITES

Databases

 The best way to find articles on a specific topic is to search in a database, most of which index thousands of articles in thousands of journals. Not all articles are available full-text online; some are in print only and some are not available from the Library except through Interlibrary Loan. To determine the availability of an article, most databases offer the FindText find text menu linkbutton.

Below are recommended databases for Environmental Health. They can be accessed either from Databases A-Z, or from the Databases by Subject: Environmental Occupational Health. The URL is http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/EnvironmentalOccupationalHealth

Environmental + Occupational Health Multisearch
Search up to ten (1) Environmental + Occupational Health databases simultaneously. Note that NOT all databases are multisearchable, some most be searched directly.

PubMed more about this resource

Offers Medline (currently indexing over 5,000 journals), several molecular biology and chemical databases. Some full text journals and books, 1950-

Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega more about this resource

Cross-searching of Education Index with Full Text, General Science Index with Full Text, Humanities Abstracts with Full Text, Readers' Guide Retrospective and Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Index with Full Text, Business Index with Full Text, Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.

Oviatt Library Catalog more about this resource

CSUN University Library Catalog indexes books, periodicals, media and other materials held by the Oviatt Library.

ArticleFirst (OCLC) more about this resource

Index of articles from the contents pages of over 22,000 journals, 1990-

InfoTrac OneFile (Thomson Gale) more about this resource

Indexes over 9,700 journals with full text to over 5,000 journals, 1980-

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) more about this resource

Indexes over 3,000 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from 1,600 journals; provides full-text access to many journals and other sources, 1937-

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) more about this resource

Abstracts to 3,000 journals (over 1,500 peer-reviewed journals), with full text to more than 2,000 of the journals. Dates may vary, most from 1985-

National Academies more about this resource

Free access to numerous publications of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.

NetLibrary

Provides access to thousands of electronic books that have been converted into electronic format from copyrighted, printed books.

NIOSHTIC-2 more about this resource

Database of occupational safety and health publications supported by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). Dates vary; 1930-

ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest) more about this resource

Indexing, abstracts to articles from more than 2,800 leading management publications, full text for over 1,800 titles, information on 60,000 companies, plus business dissertations, 1971-

ABI/Inform Trade & Industry (ProQuest) more about this resource

Indexes 750 full-text business periodicals and newsletters, 1971-

Factiva more about this resource

Dow-Jones and Reuters full text business services.

LexisNexis Academic more about this resource

Full text news, medical, legal & business sources. Dates vary.

WorldCat more about this resource

OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Contains over 62 million records for all types of materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries.

NTIS - National Technical Information Service more about this resource

Indexes new publications and technical reports from hundreds of government agencies and other organizations, 1990-

NTIS/DARTS more about this resource

Over 240,000 full-text scientific and technical reports, mostly dating from 1964-2000, selected from the NTIS database for the NTIS/DARTS program.

Websites

ChemFinder WebServer (tm)

offers online alot of the same information Merck Index (Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals. 11th ed., 1989. (Ref.Rm., ref RS 153 .M57 1989) does. The ChemFinder WebServer (CambridgeSoft Corp.), a chemical database, with structures, contains over 3500 compounds searchable by name, by chemical formula and by substructure. URL: http://chemfinder.camsoft.com BioSites is a current listing of important Internet resources in the biomedical sciences done under the auspices of National Library of Medicine.

U.S. EPAEnvironmental Protection Agency

EPA Sector Notebooks Each Notebook brings you comprehensive, well-researched details gathered for the first time  

Envirofacts Warehouse retrieved data from EPA databases on waste, water, air, toxics and generate maps.

California Environmental Resources Evaluation System OSHA computerized information system

National Library of Medicine's SIS

Specialized Information Services tips on how to use this web site at http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro.html U.S. EPA this website gives a good Introduction to Laws and Regulations with links to the full text of the environmental laws
California Environmental Law, Regulation, and Policy

FirstGov for Science

American Industrial Hygiene Association

OSHA

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

NIOSH Workplace Safety and Health

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry

American Society for Safety Engineers

National Environmental Health Association (NEHA)

National Library of Medicine gateway

simultaneously searches several NLM databases including PubMed and HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank )

International Labour Organization Safe Work

Haz-Map

Hazardous agents, Occupational Diseases and High Risk Jobs

Tox Town

an interactive guide to community encountered toxic substances in english and spanish.

Canary Database

scientific studies from MEDLINE, CAB Abstracts, and Agricola so you can review the evidence of animals as "early warning" sentinels of human health hazards.

CROET

Center for Research on Occupational and Environmental Toxicology

Additional Guides

Librarian

Marcia Henry is the Oviatt librarian who serves the CSUN Department of Health Science. If you need help finding information for a research paper, she can offer suggestions. To make an appointment, email marcia.henry @csun.edu or phone 818-677-3012. Marcia Henry's webpage is http://library.csun.edu/mhenry/

Marcia Henry created and maintains this webpage, so please report any problems to her. Links were last checked on 1/10/06.